We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bay Hotel(Coverack)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tregildry(Gillan)
View Hotel
An Mordros Hotel(Porthleven)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel Hotel(Helston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budock Vean Hotel(Mawnan Smith)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meudon Hotel(Falmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
111
77
31
23
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
77
31
23
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suiteroast beefa sea view roomcoastal patha family run hotelnew chefowners and stafflizard lighthousesunday lunchinteresting memorabiliastunning locationthe cliffscallopsfantastic viewswe've stayedcream teacooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 249 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I can only concur with the last two reviewers. Built over a century ago as a hotel using local stone, the Housel Bay has great character and the most fabulous views which are shared by the front bedrooms, the terrace restaurant and the gardens. I take slight issue with one reviewer - it is in fact worth paying extra for a bedroom with a bay window on an upper floor from which you can watch the shipping, the light and the stars throughout your stay. The food served is excellent - freshly cooked breakfasts: wonderful starters (crab profiteroles particularly) and a traditional cream tea with warm scones being the highlights of consistently good cooking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimPat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We booked a junior suite and had a 180 degree view from the Lizard lighthouse to the other end of the Bay. The coast path runs right along the bottom of the hotel gardens.The room was small for a suite and had a large 4 poster bed but a lack of storage space - we really needed a chest of drawers. The bathroom was very small - just enough room for a bath, sink and loo. However you get what you pay for and at £180 a night for dinner bed and breakfast, we did not complain. The rate was a special autumn rate only available on the website, but not bookable on the website - you had to phone to get it! However as the B&B rate was £170 a night, two 3 course dinners for £10 was excellent value.
Unlike others staying here, we did not feel particularly welcomed, nor did we find the owners that friendly - just polite. Breakfast was good with a full cooked breakfast served if you wish. Dinner was also good, with a choice from the Bistro or a la carte menu, although the menu did not change. Desserts were excellent, if you had room for them. We were served by 3 Polish girls who were very good.
The hotel was not full when we stayed and in peak times I think noise might be an issue- you could hear people in other rooms and the floors are terribly squeaky. The owner displays a variety of paintings, posters and photos on the hotel walls, together with some interesting memorabilia he has collected.

Room Tip: Sea view a must, junior suite preferably.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a family run hotel and you are welcomed in and made to feel comfortable straight away. The location is totally unique in that it is on the southerly point of the Lizard and there are no other hotels in sight, the only thing in sight is the lighthouse. We had the special deal of dinner bed and breakfast for £130 per night for two. What made it so wonderful was the esquisite food and sitting in the dining room overlooking the sea. The coastal path runs right in front, so great stop for people walking the south west coastal path. Even if only for their tapas for 2 for lunch or cream tea. Another great aspect about this hotel is the beach which is a five minute walk down from the hotel. This is a must!

Room Tip: I wouldn't probably chose the sea view room. Its not worth the extra cost as y ou can sit in their comfortable sitting room for hours and look at the sea. Also the lighthouse does flash onto the hotel every three minutes, which is why we chose a side room, where if we were desperate to look at the sea we just stuck our heads out a peeped round!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband + I were coastal walking for a few days + we found this hotel was the perfect location for us as a base + what a location! It is stunning! The weather was abysmal but we were made so welcome by the lovely owners + nothing was too much trouble for them. The chef should have at least one michelin star to his name + everyone of the staff members was cheerful + keen to look after our interests. The room was comfortable with marvellous sea views + we were sorry to leave. We will definitely go back one day.

Room Tip: One with a seaview
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nannyGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

It is always very difficult to review a place which has sentimental value. I came to the Housel Bay Hotel with my parents as a child in the 60's, as a young man in the 80's and now again with my wife. So I have seen the place over 40 years. Unfortunately, this has meant that I have overseen its decline. Firstly, the place has a stunning vista over the Lizard. There are dramatic views over the sea and it is situated right on the coastal path, so it's ideal for walkers to pop in for cream teas en route to Cadgwith or the village of Lizard. And that is as far as I would recommend it. I had booked a sea facing room, but we decided to upgrade because it was very small. We were given room 9, spacious enough but with quite a pokey b&b feeling to it. The plumbing was faulty, so that flushing the loo made a terrible din in the landing for 10 minutes. This was supposed to be fixed 3 days in to our 4 night stay, but the noise continued. The fittings in the rooms are tired somewhat cheap looking. All very well, but not what you'd expect for £150 a night (reduced from £175), when the walls are wood chipped and the bathroom outdated. The staff were wonderfully friendly, dinner was good, cooked breakfast limited between 8.30-9.30, uncooked limited to 10.00. In view of earlier comments, I suspect we were 'upgraded' to the better room at the expense of others who had booked room 9, but were staying there for fewer nights. I have rated the place Very Good, because of the fabulous location and the staff. However, it is quite expensive for a what it is and doesn't merit this charge in my opinion.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews