We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, personal and altogether very special”
Review of Landewednack House

Landewednack House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lizard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Landewednack House
Ranked #8 of 12 Lizard B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 16, 2009

This is quirky, but delightfully so. We had a fantastic night with Susan and Anthony. We loved it all, couldn't fault it, but you have to like chintz, clutter and lashings of style...we do! From the tea in the garden on arrival we relaxed, completely. The location is almost unbelievable and the house feels very friendly. Anthony's food was superb, his crab soup was to die for and his lemon posset with homemade biscuits was divine. When I asked for fresh fruit for breakfast that too was superb. Susan's style is unquestionable. The cherry on the cake for us was the fact that they have pugs and we were allowed to meet them! Finally, be prepared for the most comfortable bed you've ever slept in with beautiful sheets and fabulous pillows. Yes, it's expensive by b and b standards but for me it was more like a terribly special hotel. We will return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justoneluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 34 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2009

Quite simply, the nicest B&B I've ever seen.
Rooms Beautiful.
People incredibly friendly and go-out-of your way helpful.
Breakfast was good, but they also served dinner - not included in the price, but very much worth trying. We were four, and all of us found the food to be among the best we'd ever had.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

We stayed at Landewednack House for 3 nights over the second May bank holiday and just after the visitors who wrote the somewhat mixed review below. It must be said that our own experience was wonderful from start to finish and we would rank this as possibly the best bed and breakfast that we have stayed in out of the many that we have visited. The main thing to understand about Landewednack is that it is more akin to a very small luxury hotel than a bed and breakfast. It is expensive, but worth every penny. Others have mentioned the beautiful pool and garden but it is also worth mentioning that there is a section of the house reserved for guests with very attractively furnished sitting room and dining room and that you are not chucked out after breakfast but can relax there all day if it suits you. Yes, the bedrooms are a little 'chintzy' as the last reviewer mentioned but they are also in very good taste with many attractive pieces of furniture, and in our opinion a welcome change from the unrelentingly pared down modern makeovers that most places seem to believe are essential these days. We also liked the fact that the house is within a couple of minutes walk of the South Coast Path and its spectacular scenery.

What really makes this place stand out however is the quality of the food and wine. Anthony is a first class cook who has a real passion for what he does and uses outstanding ingredients. Our 3 course dinner with lobster was excellent value at £33. This is not supposed to be a restaurant experience, it is different and in a lot of ways better. We loved eating 'a deux' in the intimate dining room and being waited on hand and foot by Anthony and Sue whose friendly , infomal approach made us feel very much at ease. We also loved not having to worry about taxis afterwards. The extensive wine list is worth a particular mention as it contains many mature bottles rarely available at reasonable prices in restaurants-wine buffs will want to beat a path to the door simply for the modest markups.

We enjoyed every minute of our stay, right down to the parting gifts of French oil and cornish sea salt, and will definately be back.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

I confess to being married to the person who wrote the entry below. We spent a wonderful six day holiday at Landewednack House over the half term break, And despite awful weather, we had a memorable time.

I would add only one thing to what's been written by my partner; our nine year old son can't wait to go back!

Sue; thank you for the lobster cooking lessions.....and not worrying about whether our son kicked the ball into your flowerbeds!

Eric; thanks for the use of your computer and for being congenial company before dinner

and Anthony (what can I say!?)......the food was truly superb!!

But my stongest memory will be of our son curling up with your dogs and your grandchildren to watch 'Britains' Got Talent'....he had a ball and so did we.....we experienced true hospitality and will return as soon as we can......not just for to stay in a wonderful house - but also to bask in the warmth of such generous hospitality.

Thank you.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank 123,498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We had a wonderful six night stay at Landewednack House during the Half Term break. My wife and I and our nine year old son stayed in the Coach House (immediately adjoining the main house) on a self catering basis. This was an ideal arrangement for us. The Coach House has two bedrooms, both en suite, with a living room that contained a small but very well appointed kitchenette. The owners had kindly arranged to provide essential groceries for us - we had e-mailed our shopping list a couple of days in advance.

We dined at the House for three of our six nights. the food was consistently excellent: crab, lobster, lamb, duck and a divine bakewell tart. The wines were superb and very reasonably priced. We had breakfast once and wished we had gone to the house more often in the morning. It was superb: a perfectly balanced fruit salad, delicous smoked salmon and perfectly scrambled eggs and pancakes for our son.

The gardens were delightful and the heated pool just right.

But I think what set it apart was the ambience created by the owners, Sue and Erik, and their resident chef, Anthony. They were so interesting; it was such good fun to talk to them. They were outstandingly hospitable. Anthony, apart from being a superb cook, was also generous in sharing his knowledge. Since we love lobster and were keen to discover the right way to cook them, he arranged an impromptu cooking lesson for my wife and son in the kitchen and introduced us to the man who had caught 40 lobsters that day from over 200 pots. Sue is a charming and delightful lady. She is simply kind and courteous: a lady who sees her grandson and my son playing cricket on their well manicured croquet lawn and brings out bottles of lemonade for them. Erik was a real star helping us with our choice of wine for the lamb and very alert to the time taken for us to finish our first pre-dinner champagne and be on hand to top up our glasses.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked for next year. We have read the comments from a couple who must have been staying in the main house at the same time as we did. We could not have reached a more different conclusion!

Landewednack House is truly exceptional and we have already recommended it to several of our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirkmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

Half term is always a tricky time to find a place to stay at the last minute, but luckily the Guardian had produced a B&B guide the week before which we were happily browsing to find somewhere special for a few days away. Unfortunately just about all of the offerings had no rooms left, but we did spy a place in the Food section that sounded good – Landewednack House. It promised a pool, an extensive selection of fine wine and even an in-house Michelin starred chef – for two committed foodies, one from England and one from Italy, it sounded perfect. After a quick telephone call in turned out they not only had a room but the house itself was empty of guests, so although the prices were a little higher than we’d anticipated we booked in for four days.

Landewednack House itself is located in the Lizard village near the end of Cornwall, in a cluster of houses known as Church Cove. It was once the Rectors house, and still has its own private access to the churchyard. The building itself is Georgian with a nicely sized garden split between the formal croquet lawn with structured planting and vegetables beds dedicated to producing food for the kitchen – and very impressive these were. Plus of course there’s the pool, a little away from the house, heated and sheltered from the elements with a wall all around. Unfortunately although the grounds were very nice, we had little chance to explore them the day we arrived as the rain was coming down with a vengeance. Three times that day we tried to go out for a walk, and three times we were beaten back by the weather, so it was back to the house for the evening.

The house is run by a couple originally from Kent and their chef, although the chef seems to be the head of the household. He was a slightly odd character but then perhaps that’s chefs for you, not known perhaps for their people skills. Once we’d worked out how to let the hosts know we’d arrived (a bell pull on the outside of the building) we were welcomed and shown our room. Whilst pleasant it was a bit overwhelmingly floral (as the chef explained the house does chintz – so if chintz isn’t what you’re looking for it’s not perhaps not the place for you), and after some discussion and knowing the house was empty apart from ourselves we ended up in a different room which wasn’t quite as flowery and had a four poster. Dinner was at 7:30 with drinks at 7:15 we were told, so we looked forward to a meal to remember, especially given the fact that the Michelin man had recently visited and they were going to receive a star. It would be crab to start, followed by duck with local produce and then chocolate mouse. All sounded wonderful, though I must admit a little hesitancy over the duck knowing how tricky it can be to cook really well.

We duly wandered down to the well appointed sitting room at 7:15 and the owner, known as ET, soon appeared. We’d been told he would be there to talk about wine options for dinner, but he simply put down some stuffed olives and salted almonds for snacking as well as an aperitif, there was no talk of wine. I’d browsed the wine list a little and had selected one or two options, but when the chef appeared to tell us dinner was ready he dismissed any comments about ordering a bottle of something. It seemed house wine was included with the meal, and it was good enough for us.

So to dinner, and first the crab. A delicate spoonful (or four!) of crab in a smooth light mayonnaise sauce with perhaps a tiny hint of spice and some fresh spring onion, served on a bed of lettuce which had been dressed with aged balsamic. Perhaps the spring onion was a little sharp for my partner, but being a fan of raw onion I couldn’t agree. In fact the only problem I had was the size of the portion! Perhaps the best thing though was the bread that was served alongside. The website mentions that “bread lovers will appreciate the daily fresh baked breads” and in fact the bread was one of the best parts of the meal, combining a rich full interior with a light crispy sesame crust. Was this one of the chef’s fine creations? No - it turned out it was from Gloucestershire, so not quite as local as we’d thought.

Duck was next, served with potatoes from the garden and local asparagus. The meat was from France and had a rich flavour, just the right side of gamey, but although the meat was tender it was perhaps a little overcooked, although the seasoning was perfect, with the fat correctly scored and flavoured. My partner’s plate had the addition of a little kitchen roll, so it was good to know that they’d be properly prepared at least! A plum sauce was offered on the side, though neither of us thought much of it. Asparagus was good but overcooked. Potatoes were tender but quite heavily spiced which seemed a shame and completely obscured their flavour. Cornish potatoes are known the world over for their earthy richness so it seemed a shame to ignore this, especially given that they came from their own gardens.

Finally we had chocolate mouse, served surrounded with raspberries on a bed on Scandinavian fruits. Delicious, as chocolate mouse almost invariably is, although personally I’m not sure that mucking about with fruit compotes does it any favours. Our own chocolate mouse made with the very best chocolate easily stood alongside this and to my mind surpassed it.

The wine was without fault. Personally I rarely drink any other alcoholic drink, but must admit my tastes rarely rise above £10 a bottle. This wine was included in the price of the meal and had a wonderful rich character with notes of spice and herb that went so well with the meat. Whilst I never saw the extensive cellar that Landewednack House conceals I have no doubt that a wine lover with deep pockets could spend many a happy night here. The home made wine list has many pages with wines ranging from the tens to the thousands of pounds.

Over all the meal was very good, although in no way was it to the Michelin standard that we’d expected. Having eaten in many fine restaurants all over the world, from San Francisco to Wellington, I think we have enough comparisons to judge.

After a difficult night suffering from indigestion, our own fault really due to the huge amounts of food we’d just eaten, and trying to cope with a bed akin to lying in marshmallows we woke up to more pleasant weather, and headed down to breakfast. It was very formally arranged for two once again, which was perhaps a little intimidating given the amount of odd silverware and crockery arrayed before us. Our friend the bread from the night before was their to greet us (freshly baked bread? Perhaps not every day then), and although I was still feeling full from the night before I couldn’t resist more so ordered what turned out to be a couple of perfectly poached eggs to go with it. We returned to our room and were surprised to find the (very friendly) maid already at work, but I suppose she had little else to do.

After checking the weather, and finding that it not exactly promising, it was then off to a day exploring the Lizard and the south west of Cornwall. During the day we checked repeatedly on the weather but it seemed it was going to take a down turn and we toyed with the idea of leaving for home earlier than we’d originally planned.

That evening on our return we decided to stop in the local pub for dinner, the Top House Inn, and although the food was not to the same standard as Landewednack House it was tasty enough. In fact my omelette, whilst rubbish as an omelette, did an incredibly good job of pretending to be a frittata, and was just the right combination of well coloured on the outside with rich dark flavours of butter and egg whilst still remaining wonderfully light and soft in the middle. The sun then set over the Cornish coastline and it was hard to believe that the weather would be back to heavy rain the next day.

After much deliberation we made the difficult decision to leave before the end of our booking. We had anticipated that there might well be a charge for this, as is common, but were unsure what the hosts would demand as there was no mention of terms either during our conversations nor on their website. That evening we knocked on our hosts doors and were answered by the chef, as usual, and explained that we’d decided to head home earlier. We did say it was primarily on account of the weather forecast but I must admit this was in part due to my habit of being a typical Englishman and therefore never actually speaking my mind, so kept any thoughts of feeling uncomfortable at the house to ourselves. The chef seemed to take the news of our early departure in his stride and made no mention of any cancellation charge, so we assumed that even if one was due it would not be unreasonable.

Next morning after a full english breakfast, with particularly tasty bacon (although apparently it was from Holland – odd we thought given a rather impressive butcher in the village) and the bread for the third time (now passing from golden brown to slightly darker tones), we packed and requested the bill but were rather astonished to see not just a small charge for cancellation but hundreds of pounds of charges. We’d anticipated that there might well be a charge, but it seemed they were determined to make the most of us, and perhaps needed the money given the dearth of other guests – although one might question the wisdom of trying to exploit existing customers. We felt very disappointed and upset, but nothing we could say seemed to sway the mind of the chef. The very fact that their otherwise empty house would have had no money at all had we not decided to stay there seemed to escape him. As he was so obviously in charge there seemed very little point in taking the matter up with the owners so we left.

How would I sum up Landewednack House? It’s a peculiar place. I’m sure many people have had a wonderful time there, but we found it a bit too odd and our manner of leaving left a particularly sour note, and has certainly ensured we will never return. Throughout our stay there seemed to be an odd air of not being wanted in the house, and the attitude was vaguely dismissive when we did occasionally meet the owners and their chef. We didn’t feel very welcome when we arrived and then felt exploited when we left. Perhaps the very fact that it was empty of guests during one of the busiest times of year should have struck a warning note.

I think the best thing to say about Landewednack House is if you’re from a certain class and mix easily then you’ll blend in and probably have a riot. If not then there are much more convivial places to stay in Cornwall that will cost you much, much less – and turn out food just as good if not better. Do go to the Lizard, it’s a wonderful place, and if you make it that far then try the Top House pub in the centre of town. There you can find proper Cornish people and get a feel for what it really means to live at the most southerly point in Great Britain, this unique blend of farming, seafaring and mining – something you won’t get from Landewednack House.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank richpb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2005

Wonderful place. Don’t be put off by the approach or your first view of the house. The neighboring houses are nothing much, and the house itself is also a little unprepossessing from the outside. Don’t be fooled. The place is exactly what a B&B ought to be. “Brilliantly” friendly and hospitable hosts, beautiful house, gardens that define what an English country garden should be, and add to this a great little heated swimming pool. The food is dangerous – don’t even consider staying there if you’re looking to diet. We arrived to a lovely English tea with delectable home made lemon and chocolate cakes. The breakfast selection goes on and on and is all delicious.

The first night, Anthony, one of the hosts, directed us to the local fish and chips shop. He told us that the fish and chips are the best in England, and he was right. Of course, the experience was improved by the fact that he showed up at about the time we were ordering – we had told him when we’d be having dinner – to make sure that we ordered the right fish from the selection of four or five which were available.

We had dinner in one night, and the food lives up to the rest of the house. Not cheap - £33 per person, but excellent in every respect. My wife and kids had lobster. I had guinea fowl. Everything absolutely first rate and worth every penny. And an exceptional, inexpensive (for the quality) selection of wines.

Its time now for the classic cliché: we reserved for two nights and our only regret is that we should have stayed much longer.

6  Thank rja1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lizard hotels
0.3 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#5 of 12 in Lizard
238 reviews
0 mi away
YHA Lizard Point
YHA Lizard Point
#3 of 7 in Lizard
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Glampotel Lizard Point
Glampotel Lizard Point
#5 of 7 in Lizard
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Landewednack House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landewednack House

Address: Church Cove, The Lizard, Lizard TR12 7PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lizard
Price Range: $117 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Landewednack House Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing