We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kynance Cove is truly awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lizard and Kynance Cove

The Lizard and Kynance Cove
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.09*
and up
Stand up Paddle Board Hire Package
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Lizard
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Kynance Cove is truly awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This cove is one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been to, wild and stunningly beautiful. A bit of a hike to get down to it but we'll worth the effort and when you get down there it just goes on and on, lovely views and huge rocks to walk past as you progress around the beach. The backdrop of serpentine cliffs is amazing, go there, you will be glad you did.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kraftterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,040
    208
    26
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Kynance cove was absolutely beautiful. One of the two best beaches in Cornwall in my opinion (the other being Porthcurno). The water sadly is really cold so no chance of a swim (even on a blazing hot day like we had-unless you brave of course), it felt as if I put my feet straight into a bucket of ice. It is also quite windy down there. But nonetheless lovely place to relax and admire the sea and views. There is also a lovely café on the hill top which does great food and refreshments (we had tuna melts and smoothies which were both nice). There are two paths to get down to the cove, the shortest one is really steep with lots of rocks etc and not suitable for pushchairs and those less able (or if you have young kids or older people in the group). We had our 1 year old strapped to our back but we still struggled a little. There is another path though which is easier (less rocks to climb down), but longer in distance. Well worth a visit though!

Lizard point on the other hand I felt was a little over rated, but worth seeing anyway just to tick it off the list. So I advise spending more time at Kynance cove and maybe just doing a quick drive down to lizard point if you wish to.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A hell of a walk, both ways.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Well worth the effort. There is a beautiful view from the restaurant on the cliff ( which is realy good value) and the beach is truly magical.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dr Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“England's Beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a trip to the Lizard in the middle of the July 2013 heatwave. The views were spectacular and the sea breeze was very welcome. There isn't really much else to say but it is worth a visit even if only to say you've been to England's most southerly point.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Kynance Cove is owned by the National Trust. The car park costs £4.50 for the day but it was well worth the money for such a spectacular beach which has a mixture of soft sandy bays and craggy rocks which are revealed as the tide goes out.
Practicalities:
There are toilets at the cliff top car park and more at the beach side cafe.
The cafe sells a wide variety of snacks and drinks at reasonable prices. Service was quick and friendly.
Access is tricky. It takes about 10 minutes to walk from the car park down to the beach. The path is rocky and rugged in places but it is well worth it.
Check tide times as there is virtually no beach when the tide is in.
This is the best beach we have been to in Cornwall, possibly the best in the UK!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lizard and Kynance Cove also viewed

 

Been to The Lizard and Kynance Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing