We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place & Great Hosts”
Review of Bay House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lizard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay House
Ranked #3 of 12 Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Carla & John gave us a very warm welcome including a delicious cream tea and the visit just got better and better. From the pleasant garden and from all the bedrooms, the views are quite spectacular - cliffs and turquoise blue sea; and the beds in our room were super comfortable. We are longing to return.

Room Tip: The Ocean Breeze is a very attractive, comfortable room with two windows looking out on the view.It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank colin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 260 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Only 3 rooms are available in The Bay House B & B. This house has been refurbished to the highest standard and it is beautiful. From fixtures and fittings to linens and crockery the owners have put a super luxury stamp on their house.
The gardens have a lovely view as well as the bedrooms. The showers are fab.
If you wish you can sit in the armchairs and take in the view till the light fades.
We should have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Atlantic room has a bay window, butt all views are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dr Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Bay House is the perfect place to experience this area. We stayed in the Atlantic Room which was beautiful with 2 armchairs in the bay window to enjoy the fabulous view and an ensuite to die for. The walking track along the cliffs edge is just at the bottom of the garden and you can walk around the bay to the lighthouse, it's one of our most memorable stays. Thank you John and Carla.

Room Tip: All rooms would have the same amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ADEJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

You´re looking for something special? Bay House is the most beautiful place I´ve ever been to- located on top of the cliffs with an astonishing view over the bay- my room Ocean Breeze has fulfilled every wish, it is beautifully decorated with a comfortable bed, precious luxury linen and a perfect bathroom of its own. I just wanted to disconnect for a couple of days, so I arrived late in the evening as a stranger and left as a friend some days later. Clara and John and been so warmhearted and attentively as host- undoubtedly I´ll return for another stay. There was no wish lft open! Thanks again for everthing from the lady on the bike....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AFG67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

ok, so I stayed with Carla for an special night in september 2012 and enjoyed the location, house and hosts so much I went back to stay in December last year to ask my now fiance' to marry me. Due to the aftermath of this I've been to busy to review till now. Thank you Carla for helping make a special day even more special.

There can't be a better B and B in cornwall! I probably spend 10 weekends a year at least somewhere in cornwall between b and b's or the camper and the Lizard is by far my favourite place and Bay house is amazing.

Breaky is ample and of a high standard and the cream teas are sublime.

Please don't listen to the negatives below and book here if you would like a 5 star service in an amazing location.

I'll be going again.

Room Tip: All very high standard. Atlantic is the better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank phil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed two nights at this venue. Stunning views of the English Channel. Very hospitable hosts who introduced us to a wonderful local artist . Convenient to St. Ives, Land's End, and Mousehole. Home has lovely art. Choose the larger of the two rooms which has many more amenities with negligible price difference. A Wolsey Lodge property

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mberly5625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Experienced B&B users, our stay at Bay House rates as the best yet. We luxuriated in a deliciously warm, light and spacious room and a bed that was so comfortable it begged to be slept in for as long as possible. But the best bits of the holiday were the view from the vast bay window overlooking the sea, from where we could watch the weather's many manifestations; the walks straight from the house along the coast; and the wonderful welcome and hospitality from Carla and John - which included warm scones on arrival and fabulous breakfasts. I could wax lyrical for a lot longer but the best thing to do would be to try it all for yourselves.

Room Tip: Choose the Atlantic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lizard
0.0 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.8 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
832 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#5 of 12 in Lizard
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Lizard Point
YHA Lizard Point
#3 of 7 in Lizard
65 reviews
5.7 mi away
Glampotel Lizard Point
Glampotel Lizard Point
#5 of 7 in Lizard
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay House

Address: Lizard TR12 7PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lizard
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Bay House Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing