We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bay House The Lizard Cornwall”
Review of Bay House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lizard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay House
Ranked #3 of 12 Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed for four nights in February and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Carla and John were excellent hosts and made us feel welcome far beyond the call of duty. They were generous too, appearing at one time with scones and jam and cream and at another with glasses of chilled white wine. John was the skilful chef at breakfast and there was fruit and juice and croissants and a grill with local produce. If you can, go for the spacious Atlantic room with its wonderful views over cliffs and sea and lighthouse. There are comfortable armchairs from which to watch the bird-life and the bed was probably the most luxurious we had ever come across: I should think it's six feet wide (we didn't measure) and each half was individually adjustable at the press of a button. Throw in a large en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower, an excellent TV and a fridge and one is spoilt for comfort. But what stays most clearly in the mind perhaps are the brilliant paintings and objets d'art all over the house, not just in the bedrooms. It's a marvellous place to be lazy in, but if you do want to get up and go, the coastal path runs immediately in front of the house (seals and choughs can be seen) and not far away there's Kynance or Mullion or Gunwalloe or Gweek...

Room Tip: Go for the Atlantic Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 261 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

If you want to stay on the Lizard Pennisula look no further than Bay House, a true gem. My husband & I stayed here for our 35th Wedding Anniversary & Carla & John we're thoughtful & delightful hosts. Cream tea on arrival was delicious, as was breakfast. Our room, The Atlantic, was lovely & has the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. Little touches such as candles & fire lit, blinds drawn when we returned in the evening, lovely food & a really genuine, warm welcome means that we will be returning again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The views from the garden and the room are simply spectacular. Would highly recommend the short walk to Lizard Point leaving from the bottom of the garden. Great hosts and lovely breakfast - our favourite B&B on our trip around Cornwall. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mobinsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We have known the two caring hosts Carla and John from a previous stay at their former B&B The Chydane which we had also liked very much.
The Atlantic View Room is very spacious with an elegant cosiness and a modern en suite shower bathroom.
The owners have a very fine sense of style and design which you can feel everywhere.
You could spend the whole day sitting in the armchairs at the bay window overlooking the garden and whole housel bay as well as the Lizard lighthouse.
The garden provides access to the costal path.
Carla and John treated us almost like friends and John spoiled us with great breakfasts.
We enjoyed every minute of our 6 day and will certainly recommend it to people who love tranquillity in elegant atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Effect38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Bay House was a real find. I'm from Cornwall but have been away for a while but I know the county and it's hidden treasures. This B&B just above the beach at Housel Bay on the Lizard was a new find for us and was the very best place we stayed on our 10 day trip walking and eating our way around Cornwall and we stayed in some really good places!
Carla & John are great hosts and made us feel at home - the breakfast in the morning was fab - the view is spectacular. Our bedroom was gorgeous with the most stunning view and a fabulously comfy bed and lovely bed linen !!!!!!!
With perfect eating places close by,and the fresh sea food by the Light house with it's great views just 5 minutes walk away, Ann's Pasties literally just up the road at the Lizard (the best pasties you can buy) and the coastal path right outside the door this place has everything.
Book now!!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are wonderful......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ella h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed here last week and we were blessed with a fantastic four full days of hot hot hot sun! The location of this house is unrivaled virtually anywhere in the UK I would suggest, it is truly breathtaking. It almost sits on the beach. And what a beach! I admit we were blessed weather wise, but the seclusion, privacy and beauty of the beach will be very hard to beat. It felt almost like a private beach, even in the sun and during half term, with just a handful of people. Absolutely spoiling. Unbeatable if you love off the beaten track tranquility and seclusion. But secluded and stunningly beautiful too. The pictures and the website don't do this justice. You simply have to visit to see what I mean.
Likewise Carla and John are superb hosts, welcoming, friendly, funny, generous, interesting, all accommodating, nothing seems too much trouble. Yet though you share the house with them, as their home, they are intrusive, there when you need them to be, not over your shoulder when you don't. A tough balance that I felt was just right, an example to all. Couldn't have asked for better.
We stayed in the Ocean Breeze Room, which is really lovely with a very big bath room its fabulous. . No expense spared, a real touch of luxury. The Ocean Breeze is simply a joy the views over the sea from your bed, its an absolute pleasure to see. The room is spacious but the sound of the sea, sense of space, air and light literally on your doorstep I simply loved it!!
Breakfast was on the terrace in the sun, a lovely touch, and the food was beautifully presented and always seemed lovingly prepared. There was a very personal touch here.
We visited the nearby, Halzephron Inn (also a Sawdays entry), Food here was nice, the atmosphere inviting, and the sunset a dream. (Though not inexpensive).
Overall this place is exquisite. The hosts are a joy to meet. I couldn't fault it for us, it was everything I'd hoped for and then some. I would absolutely totally recommend it to anyone, who loves tranquility, privacy a touch of luxury and fun! I will without doubt look forward to another visit. An absolute gem of a place and a stay. Extraordinarily romantic, with a touch of class and a definite sprinkling of luxury. Unbeatable value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

What an extraordinary stay! What a view! What a breakfast! What charming and interesting host. It is the standard of a 4 + hotel. I can highly recommend this wonderful place and it is the perfect place to stay and rest. And the sea view from all 3 rooms is amazing!! Will be back soon!

Room Tip: all rooms! sea view! quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lizard
0 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.8 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
832 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#5 of 12 in Lizard
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Lizard Point
YHA Lizard Point
#3 of 7 in Lizard
67 reviews
6.1 mi away
Glampotel Lizard Point
Glampotel Lizard Point
#5 of 7 in Lizard
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay House

Address: Lizard TR12 7PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lizard
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Bay House Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing