We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Caravan and Park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lizard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Sea Acres Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have just returned from a four night Sun newspaper break at this park. We hadn't upgraded so were expecting an older basic van (i.e. no heating!) so had packed blankets and heaters and were pleasantly surprised when we were allocated a very new very high spec caravan complete with veranda, and central heating. We were very very pleased!
The site is very peaceful with very pretty views. Caravans are very well spaced out, and the communal areas are kept very nicely.
The pool was very nice, and always in use. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We didn't use the bar/entertainment/restaurant, etc but did have a look in at them and all looked very pleasant.
Fantastic location and lovely park. Everything we could have wanted.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NicolaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 425 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

I recently returned from a Sun weekend break at Sea Acres. I used to stay in this area with my family years ago, and it was lovely to return. The area is still unspoilt and is really beautiful; yes, it's a good way out of town, but we knew that and were happy to do the drive. We arrived on a lovely sunny evening and were allocated a caravan on the main site, just above the reception and shop area. It had a deck and fabulous views of the sea - we were really pleased. We've had several of these Sun breaks over the years and in fairness they've all been pretty good, but I have to say this caravan was the best to date. We didn't upgrade at all, but the caravan was in excellent condition, spotlessly clean and the upholstery and curtains looked as good as new. The oven was clean and the gas fire worked easily - we weren't cold at all. There was a good sized flat screen TV. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful, and the shop was well-stocked enough that we were able to grab some bits and pieces for for our evening meal on the first night. This is a quiet area, if you want nightlife, go to St Ives or Penzance, or somewhere further North - if you like walking and going to the beach you'll love it. It's an easy walk downhill to the beach. We don't have kids, but there was entertainment on the site for those who did. We didn't have our dog with us, but the people next to us did, so we asked at reception whether we could bring ours in future; we were told this wouldn't be a problem, but we'd need to let them know as soon as we booked and we'd be allocated a pet caravan. We really enjoyed the weekend, it went too quickly - will definitely come here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just returned from a great break at sea acres on a 4 day sun newspaper special.
Was just myself and poorly hubby with our young german shepherd dog.
We realised we would be allocated one of the cheapest dog friendly caravans on arrival but had a real problem with the one we were allotted when we arrived.it was one of the 10 or so caravans which are situated across the road separate from the rest of the park.fair enough we thought but then realised would be very hard for my husband - isolated from all the facilities on the main camp, especially as it was hilly to walk up.although the caravan was older, it WAS really nice on checking.
After explaining the problem at reception, we were given a lovely van on the main park .
Lanarth number 84. Both delighted as was a great van with views of the sea AND a verandah which was so nice for my husband to sit and chill.the dog thought it was great as it was extra space for her to roam and watch all the passers by!
A big thank you to the said reception staff and manager who handled things for us at a busy time for dog owning guests!
This is a fantastic park for dogs. I have never walked so much in my life. The views are completely breathtaking and the beach great.this is real rugged cornwall.
Anyone with a dog, looking for a great place to stay would do no better than here,although it is miles from anywhere really, but we like that.
Pool looked good, and i was annoyed i forgot my cossie!
There are many facilities for kids which all looked to a high standard.
Would give this a 5 star rating were it not for the limited wi-fi access.my husband missed this, although you could get wi-fi in and around the bar area (which was dog friendly in one bar and very nice and comfortable) but this bar was only open after 6pm which meant sitting outside on decking area in the wind, not nice. This is the only fault i could find, otherwise cannot recommend this place enough.
It would not be everyones cup of tea, but perfect for a chill- out away from the rat-race.
Would love to return

Room Tip: Really try and get a sea view, and rec. a verandah if dog with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank majorcajunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Smaller quieter park with wonderful seaviews from the cliff top. Caravans are spaced out better with more room. Scuba Diving can be booked onsite. We went last year in May and are returning at the beginning of June. Last year the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only downside if your interested is that the entertainment was very poor at that time of year.

Room Tip: Get a caravan with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PAULDGIB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

After reading the reviews I decided on Sea Acres for our end of April break.
We arrived in thick fog and had to wait until morning to see the promised views. In the meantime we were greeted with a welcome pack (including vouchers to local attractions) and a smile and after finding a couple of minor glitches (extra linen and gas fire not working) these were sorted out very fast and efficiently.

However, the shop staff only saw us once. Not because it is badly stocked – it has all the essentials. The staff however went down in estimation as soon as my husband (70 this year) had part of a fridge fall on his head leaving him dazed and a bleeding cut. One member of staff seemed more concerned he could not replace this rusty cover although he did say a brief "sorry about that". The other member of staff was not at all concerned and informed us we had to spend more to be able to use our card to pay! We paid cash, went back to the van where I had a first aid kit and had to use Steristrips after cleaning the wound and never went back to the shop again – there is a store in Lizard and a Sainsbury's (cheaper petrol than Tesco) in Helston (about 20 mins away)!

The pool is a good size and there are times to swim with or without children. Changing rooms with showers and a dryer is welcome. A guard is on duty in the pool at all times.
The facilities on the park seem to be good enough but the bar was not open until 6pm during the week so we only actually went in once (on our last day) preferring to eat a larger meal at lunch time and a snack in the van at night. There is a small restaurant with an extensive menu and pub prices and a take away facility to the back of the complex.

The van (Cadgwith van 20) was not either too clean or too dirty, it was cold because of the weather but also because it had just a small gas fire in the lounge and air heaters in the bedrooms. The bedroom heaters were on timers (2/4 or 6 hours) and also controlled the bathroom heater. This system was the noisiest I had ever had in my life!!!

There is a small double beach at the bottom of a narrow road (with some passing areas) and there is a parking area at the bottom (with charge) or another part way down (free). Two cafes at the bottom serving hot and hold snacks, with inside and outside seating.
The first bay is sandy with rock pools when the tide is out and no dogs allowed but the next cove is dog friendly but there is a steep climb to get to it.

PLENTY of coves and places to visit within a short time but read info about the coves before trying them – some are VERY steep and others are best visited with the tide out. Some have National Trust car parks and so are free to members.

Flambards is worth a visit for any age but make sure you go early on in your stay because you get a free entry within 5 days. Use the vouchers given in the welcome pack on arrival at Sea Acres!
In all, it was a good stay though and if we ever went to that part of Cornwall, we would choose this site - just different van type.

Other attractions/coves I will rate under each one separately on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElSevillano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very friendly staff.....had a minor problem with caravan allocation, we had not realised some caravans were over the road.....and we were not happy as we had our toddler grandson with us....so asked about a possible change and they swifty obliged.....this made our stay perfect.......everything a 2 year old could want..........3 parks, nice warm toddler pool, indoor soft play area, crazy golf, on site shop and then the kid's entertainment. Sid the seagull and Lizzie the lizard were wonderful..........they knew exactly how to talk to kids and worked very hard to make sure they went back to the caravan tired out after all the dancing and fun games. Great walks from the site...down the road to the beach or along the footpath to Carleon Cove and Cadgwith. We only live in North Cornwall and it took less than an hour to travel to Sea Acres..but it felt like we were miles from home............alot of guests had travelled relatively short distances for their week-end break too. Park was spotless and litterfree which was a tribute to the groundsmen as it had been very windy just before we arrived. We will definately come back to Sea Acres again.....if you want a smaller, family friendly site, but in a great position the this is for you.

Room Tip: If you have toddlers....best to be on the main site and not across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CornishCacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just enjoyed a lovely stay at Sea Acres in Helston with my wife and two kids Lucy 8 and Thomas 4 really impressed by everything.The caravan was cosy and the kids loved it.very clean and great views.The staff were very good and the kids entertainment although on a smaller scale than we are used too was very much enjoyed by all .even the wife went up on stage.Everyone staying seemed to be having a great time despite the slightly dodgey weather would loved to stay on a totally clear and sunny week.Stayed at the sister park in mullion a few years back but much preferred this park for its friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lizard
24.6 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
17.6 mi away
St. Ives Holiday Village
22 mi away
Perran View Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#5 of 12 in Lizard
238 reviews
0 mi away
YHA Lizard Point
YHA Lizard Point
#3 of 7 in Lizard
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Sea Acres Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Sea Acres Holiday Park

Address: Kennack Sands, Lizard TR12 7LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lizard
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Sea Acres Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea life differently...Wake up every morning to stunning sea views. Spend the day on the golden Kennack Sands. Dine out on freshly caught fish at a quaint harbour village. Or dip into rock-pools dotted along the rugged Lizard Peninsula. When you stay at Sea Acres you'll see life differently - and it's a life you won't want to leave.* Set in a stunning cliff top location * Short stroll to Kennack Sands beach * Park access to the South West Coastal Path * 5-Star PADI Scuba Diving centre on park * Lots of green space with adventure play ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Acres Holiday Park Hotel The Lizard
Parkdean - Sea Acres Holiday Park Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing