We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place for a relaxing family break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lizard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Sea Acres Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Tavistock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic place for a relaxing family break”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Stayed for a 7 night break with our two children aged 5 and 7. Caravan (Kennack) wasnt overly large but very well equipped and loverly and modern too. Fantastic panoramic sea views from van and could have loverly al fresco breakfast on the verandah (when weather allowed), Nice small quiet site, pool small but fine - kids loved inflatable fun run. Shop good, reception team friendly, entertainment was great for the kids and the girls doing it were really good. Enjoyed doing the bingo, even though it wouldnt really be my kind of thing! Takeaway food not brilliant but does a job. Location is fantastic and there is a loverly beach just a few minutes walk away. Lots to do in the region for all ages. Site was nice and quiet and clean and tidy. Good childrens play areas. Probably not for you if you want a lively site with lots going on but for a quiet relaxing family break its great. Will probably return later in the season for a short break. Only critisism is the bedding didnt fit the beds which was quite annoying but a only small moan really.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mrsfarenheit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    138
    37
    7
    6
See reviews for
234
104
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Just returned from a family holiday at Sea Acres with my 4 and 5 year old grandchildren. This has to be the best site for children under 10 years of age. The entertainment was great, there is a good play area and the beach is only a short walk away. The pitch & Putt is a bonus ( although wish they would cut the greens more ! ) Staff are friendly and overall a very enjoyable experience. Paying that little bit more for the bigger caravans is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brummies015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We booked this weeks holiday as a belated family honeymoon and were all so excited about our holiday. We travelled 5 hours to get there and had very high hopes. The caravan was ok a first glance but on closer inspection was filthy the bathroom especially!!
The evening entertainment was awful the kids had 1 hour of boring games and the same songs with two young girls who clearly had no experience with kids at all, they had no clue how to interact with them. Bingo followed and our children went off to use the arcade which had a 2p machine that did not accept 2ps and many more machines that did not work!!
The music playing was very old songs that were repeated over and over and over again. We stayed till about 9pm a few nights but most nights went off back to the caravan at around 8pm. The outdoor play area was very good and the views were amazing. The beach down the path was amazing the toilets were clean and parking fairly priced.

There were only about 12-15 children on site and yet the entertainers could not even remember our children's names even after spending an hour with them in the morning!! The indoor heated swimming pool was freezing with us only spending 20 mins in the pool as we were all shivering. The changing rooms were tiny only really able to accommodate a few people with no cubicals. The bouncy castle was finally put up on our last day to the cheers of our children within 10 min our youngest has cut open all his knee on the big rock left at the bottom of the inflatable slide! it was also so filthy we had to insist they come off.
The on site bistro the food was lovely nice portions and fairly priced, service was also good until we were told that we had to go and get our own drinks from the bar in a different room!!
The bar prices are very expensive the bar staff are lovely though and made us feel very welcome.

The TV in the caravan had freeview and a DVD player all good until you wanted to change from one to another this ment changing the plug and the scart lead also many channels didnt work including BBC 1

This park is great if you want to go for day trips and then back to your caravan but I could of done that at home and saved a fortune. Our children 3,7 and 10 were so bored they were very happy when we decided enough was enough and came home early!!

We were sold a park with lots of family entertainment and this was not the case NEVER EVER AGAIN!!!!!

On the plus side when I went to complain to the very nice GM he offered us a free holiday to the park strangely we declined.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Basingstokefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Dire entertainment, huge gaps, same background songs repeating every night sometimes three times, volumes all over the place, technical problems, songs start then stop, serious amateur girls who have no idea of basics, a shambles every night way beyond a joke after third night. Everyone just turns up for bingo then bails out. We feel we have been seriously conned with false advertising. Day time kids club is run by same girls, it is clear they went to a boot training camp with no prior experience and then were let loose for hundred quid a week plus free board. We feel cheated and robbed. Not family entertainment as on website and on the sites entertainment guide which was never followed with times or events. Such a shame as so many family's there just wanting basic entertainment to stop the kids being bored senseless which they were. In summary do not go there for entertainment. The funniest thing was when a table won the bingo they were asked what they were going to spend the money on, bloke said a taxi to somewhere with decent entertainment, I have not laughed so hard in ages. Park dean hang your head in shame. You can't roll out a couple of costumes a half working graphics dvd and expect amateurs to get away with it. If you can't afford to run family entertainment as per your website and your other large sites maybe then DO NOT advertise it and rune holidays. Ps girls running it were nice and very nice just should not be left to work without a professional.

Caravan was ok, no perfect gas fire would not work, hole in wall, large crack in wall, bathroom taps full of dirt and mold as were shower door seals, but otherwise ok. Hot water was very good though for a caravan. Toilet soaked seat overtime you flush it.

Park is very well kept, grounds very good, bar and toilets all very ok. Restaurant was ok for breakfast and Sunday lunch, service not fast but food good, fair enough.

Prices at bar at high end but service good.
Costcutters shop does not run like any Costcutters in the UK just has its name, bit naughty.

indoor pool very cold but clean.

Ideal location for people not seaking entertainment and not too bothered about small cleaning details.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hampshirefoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Luckily this was a sun holiday as if I had paid full price would not be happy. Caravan looks ok when you walk in but cleaning leaves alot to be desired with old ear buds and rubbish stuffed down sofa, sticky cupboards, dirty pots and dishes and dust everywhere so not impressed. Park entertainment is really poor, my kids 4,5 were left disappointed by the kids entertainment as it really was like it had been chucked in for them. Adult entertainment was just as bad unless you go on holiday for a bad game of bingo. Entertainment unit small and dingy. Pool area cold for kids. Play park and soft play area on site good. nice views over the sea but unfortunately alot of seagulls about which poop everywhere all over the decking round the van. We cut our losses and came back early and would certainly not be going parkdean again. Only good point was customer service from staff good.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mellor197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Just came home from a weekend at Sea Acres. We went with The Sun newspaper holiday deal and was really impressed with the site, the caravan and the location. A couple of small points our decking had not been swept, there were some cobwebs and dust in the van and fingerprints on the mirrors. Like I said small points which when you have only paid £40 are not worth mentioning but if I had paid full price I may have done. Right now the good points, think we had the best view on the site absolutley stunning sea view, friendly staff, the caravan was well equiped and was fine for our needs, good facilities on site (didn't use the pool so can't comment on that), surrounding area is lovely especially Kynance Cove.
We are already talking about going back and have reccomended it to friends. Agreed with another review about the beds not being that comfortable, we took our own duvet, pillows and sheets so I layed the duvet supplied in the van over the mattress and then put the fitted sheet over this, made the mattress a bit more comfortable and had a good nights sleep that way. All in all an excellent weekend

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmaccas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

visited the site for a weekend that others in the family had arranged, we booked several vans, so we could all be together. they have a pool, takeaway, pub, pub food, dive center, pitch and put, and several other site things to do. vans are very modern, but a bit small. (will book a bigger one next time!)
My parents needed a disabled access van, which was very plush and great for wheelchairs.

the site has superb views over the sea and beaches. very dramatic part of the world. the staff at the site were so helpful and attentive, i spoke to several for different reasons, and allof them were great. one that shone out was 'steve' the maintenance man. when the car had a flat battery, he appeared with his charger from home! he nipped home to get it to help me out. great guy!
that sort of sums them up, very nice site, very nice staff. already arranging to book again next year. to tell you how good it was, i came home, and the wife and children decided to stay the rest if the week! - nice when you dont have to work!!
(at least i get a few days quiet ;) )
only ba point, was i found the beds a bit uncomfortable, not majorly, and it was a bit windy, but what do you expect when you have a panoramic view of the coast!

great, going back again next year, and all the family agreed we should all book up again, so it may be a new family tradition!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank miltonkoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lizard
3.9 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
570 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
213 reviews
3.9 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
24.6 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
3.7 mi away
Mullion Cove Lodge Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Sea Acres Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Sea Acres Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Sea Acres Holiday Park
Address: Kennack Sands, Lizard TR12 7LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lizard
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Sea Acres Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea life differently...Wake up every morning to stunning sea views. Spend the day on the golden Kennack Sands. Dine out on freshly caught fish at a quaint harbour village. Or dip into rock-pools dotted along the rugged Lizard Peninsula. When you stay at Sea Acres you'll see life differently - and it's a life you won't want to leave.* Set in a stunning cliff top location * Short stroll to Kennack Sands beach * Park access to the South West Coastal Path * 5-Star PADI Scuba Diving centre on park * Lots of green space with adventure play ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Acres Holiday Park Hotel The Lizard
Parkdean - Sea Acres Holiday Park Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing