We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect bed and breakfast!”
Review of Atlantic House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lizard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic House B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had the most Amazing 3 night break . Phillip and Jane were charming hosts . Rooms were exceptionally clean and well decorated and breakfast first class. A room with a sea view is a must. To wake up and see the sea from your bed was second to none. The coastal path was right outside the house so we didn't need to use our car which was a defiance treat

Room Tip: The 2 rooms at the front of the house are the best due to the uninterrupted view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian3312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Hi Jillian3321
So pleased you liked your room, the sea views are very special from either the Pentreath or Caerthillian rooms and to wake up with a cup of tea and watch the ships go by is quite special.
Nice not to use the car as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 265 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Luxury rooms, fantastic breakfast, and friendly hosts in a beautiful and convenient location. What more do you want? Philip was a great conversationalist and very helpful in giving us local guidance. Dinner at the Top House three minutes walk away was excellently done.

Room Tip: We stayed in Caerthillian with a nice sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Hi mzanders
Thank you for a great review, I also enjoyed our chats in the morning and pleased you were able to see some great local places. The Top House Pub, serves some great local sea food dishes and is well worth a visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for three nights and left wishing that we could come back next week! Warm and friendly hosts who put 100% into making our stay as perfect as possible - attention to detail with all the fine touches, but easy and relaxed at the same time. The room, the en-suite (with bath and shower), the breakfast's and the location - simply perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choughwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Hello Chough Watch
This is a great name, as this is the best place to come and see the Cornish Choughs
Thank you for a wonderful review and so glad we were able to make your stay special. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. An excellent place to stay and the hospitality by Phil and Jayne was fantastic, cream tea and breakfast were just lovely. Will definately be back for another visit, the Lizard is a beautiful place to see and views from the house are just stunning.

Room Tip: Caerthillion Room had stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Hi Melanie T
We are so pleased you enjoyed the Lizard, you are right, it is "Stunning" and quite unique. We hope you will be able to return and explore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent Easter here and had another great stay, Phil and Jayne are the most wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. We had a bought a bottle of champagne with us to help celebrate my birthday and they very kindly left us 2 flutes to drink this from.
We had lovely cream tea on arrival in our room and watched the lovely scenery and animals from our window overlooking the slightly choppy sea.
Breakfasts were great such a superb selection to choose from, we shared with 2 other couples both of whom we also returning guests.
We will definitely be back in the summer when hopefully the weather will be in our favour, despite the very strong winds and cold temperatures we had some lovely cliff walks in the area and some lovely sea food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExileQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Hi Exilequeen
It was great to see you both again and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Easter was a little cold, but the walks are still spectacular as you say. We do have a lot of returning guests, which is really nice.
Thanks again and hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay, idyllic location with superb views. I have always loved The Lizard so finding this place to stay was a result!

Jayne and Phil were great hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely cream tea on arrival, and tasty food at breakfast. Doesn't get any better.

We stayed in 'Caerthillion' which is to be highly recommended, if only that it has a wondeful settee for two placed in the bay window looking out to sea. Cup of tea and a biscuit, lovely! The fact that you can also lie in bed in the morning with the curtains open looking out to sea is just sublime.

My only slight niggles (sorry Jayne & Phil you don't deserve any complaints but I hope I am being positive) were that the bed made me hot and sweaty (maybe that was just me, I hate being hot in bed) and there was some mould on the bathroom blind. But, hey if that was all I could find wrong you can't be doing bad!

Jayne was kind enough to book two restaurants for us for the two nights we stayed. We ate at the Witchball in the village the first night and it really was lovely, the staff were so polite and friendly, the food excellant. However we were in for a right treat on the second night, the food at the New Yard at Trelowarren was top notch, most definitely recommended (and reasonably priced if you opt for the set menu). Deserving of a Michelin Star methinks!

If you like coast walks, you won't go wrong here, the walk to Mullion was great and we caught the bus back to the Lizard. A pint of ale in the pub, sorted!

The best bit about the Lizard is the lack of light pollution, so if you get a clear night the star show is wonderful. Oh, and you don't hear a sound at night, sooooo peaceful. As usual Jayne and Phil have thought of everything so you even get a torch to wobble back from the pub with!

To sum up, if you want a romantic weekend away, or to just get away from it all, then do not hesitate to book this place, you won't be disappointed. If only all B&Bs were like this.

Dave & Helen

Room Tip: Has to be the sea view rooms, Pentreath or Caerthillian.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Hi dotra, Thank you for your " Fab-u-lous " review!! We were delighted you enjoyed the location at the Lizard and our breakfasts. Sorry you were hot, but glad you mentioned it, as we hadn't realised that we had forgotten to put on the web site, that sheets and blankets are available as an alternative.With regard the blind, we could not remove the mark and have just decided and ordered a " funky " wooden Venetian design, which should look great. We also love the New Yard Restaurant at Trelawarren and agree that they deserve a Michelin star. The Witch Ball is very handy, being only a 5 minute walk and offers an excellent menu. It would be great to see you again in the future for another romantic get away. Phil & Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the three nights we spent at Atlantic House in October. Philip and Jayne were very friendly, providing plently of tips on things to do and places to eat. The room (Kynance) was incredibly comfortable and clean, with everything we could have needed. The highlight was breakfast, the opportunity to try a different 'special' each morning was a real treat. The trip was particularly special as Mike proposed on the cliffs above Kynance Cove - I'm sure we'll be back one day. Dani and Mike

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Hi Danielle & Mike, congratulations on the wonderful news of your engagement, we are both trilled for you both and wish you all the happiness in the world. Thank you for your great review and hope to see you again as man & wife! Phil & Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lizard
0.6 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
3.9 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#5 of 12 in Lizard
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
YHA Lizard Point
YHA Lizard Point
#3 of 7 in Lizard
67 reviews
5.3 mi away
Glampotel Lizard Point
Glampotel Lizard Point
#5 of 7 in Lizard
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic House B&B

Address: Atlantic House Pentreath Lane, Lizard TR12 7NY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lizard
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This idyllic, adults only, luxurious bed and breakfast aspires to a five star level of comfort and service. For discerning travellers seeking tranquility, quality and a fine time. Situated in an area of outstanding beauty amidst National Trust land with stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean. This is near the South West coastal path and very near village amenities with good places to wine and dine. Special offers are often available in the outer seasons. All rooms have the same level of luxury with comfortable pocket sprung beds and superb bed linen, towels and toiletries. For arrivals between 4 to 5pm we serve a complimentary Cornish cream tea or a slice of homemade cake. We are particularly known for our wonderful, freshly cooked breakfasts with home baked bread. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic House B&B Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing