We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay”
Review of Penmenner House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lizard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penmenner House
Ranked #2 of 12 Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We we;re looking for a romantic place to stay, and after visiting The Lizard earlier in the year and falling in love with it, I thought that this is "The Place". So we looked for guest houses in the area and came across this one. We booked the Lighthouse Suite. It all sounded so nice. When we arrived we were greeted with a pot of tea and cake. Then we were taken up to our room. well, our faces lit when we saw the room. It was so enchanting. Beautifully decorated on a maratime/beachy theme. we were bowled over by the views from 2 large windows. The cleansiness was to a high standard too. Sheila asked us about breakfast and took great care to follow our wishes. The breakfast was second to none. The fruit bowl was full of the freshest fruits. The cerial selection was vast. And as for the cooked breakfast.... Lovely.
By far the best i've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoyWallhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 125 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed in the Lighthouse suite at Penmenner house for a short break. Sheila our host was really lovely and attentive. The room was charming with more space than usual. The bed was very comfy indeed and the food was very nice. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The lighthouse suite is really nice. Light airy and with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is our 3rd visit to Penmenner House and it just gets better! Shelia is a wonderful hostess who ensures your stay is comfortable and relaxed. The breakfast is fab, fruit salad, yogurt and cereal followed by a full English and toast- nothing is too much trouble. We didn't need to eat until the evening - The Top house and Regents Cafe in the village were very good as was The Mounts Bay Inn in Mullion. We have stayed in both The Atlantic Room and The Lighthouse Suite and the views from both are amazing. We would highly recommend this B+B for a relaxing short break or a week long base for a holiday on The Lizard.

Room Tip: The Atlantic Room has a wonderful view. The Lighthouse Suite is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

What a wonderful find! Amazing location, fabulous views from our room over the Lizard Lighthouse and sea, delicious breakfast, very welcoming and friendly hostess including crumble and bella the cats, the best B&B we have ever stayed in, will definately go back. Dean and Emma, Wales.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Nice friendly welcome. Lovely comfortable room with everything we needed and views over The Lizard and a ‘stone’s throw’ from the lighthouse. Very nice breakfast. Would stay again. A 5 min. walk to The Lizard village and an excellent meal at The Top House.

This was the third day of our holiday driving round the coast of Cornwall. We had stayed overnight in Heritage House, Falmouth. On the way to The Lizard we went to Poldhu Point (a small surfing beach) and Mullion Cove. At The Lizard we walked around Lizard Point and down to the old Lifeboat Station and had a tour of the Lighthouse. We also drove to and then walked down to the beautiful Kynance Cove.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepperpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We just spent 3 nights here and I wanted to immediately say what a great find it was. The house is decorated in reds, yellows and blues, with fresh flowers and a sense of great peace all over. I booked this after failing to get into my chosen places due to last minute planning. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. We had the suite, with stunning dual aspect views, a comfy bed and a sitting area. The breakfast was excellent and our hostess sheila really helpful. There are stunning walks outside the door and a short walk into the village for dinner at a choice of pubs. A great place for a long weekend.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ginnydorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

From the moment we arrived we loved this place - the decor was so individual and colourful with lots of interesting objects from all corners of the world.We arrived soaking wet and cold but were immediately revived with tea and homemade cake in a delightful sitting room.
We stayed in the Sunset room which was very well-equipped and had views of the sea and the sunset - if there had been one on this very wet day!
Breakfast was exceptionally good and tables were set with lovely china.There was fresh fruit salad, a good range of high quality cereals e.g. Dorset muesli - owners often cut corners and use very cheap brands - and a good range of yogurts.We both had smoked salmon with scrambled eggs which was delicious and really set us up for another long day`s walking.
I can heartily recommend this place with its exceptional owner who obviously takes great pride in what she is offering her guests.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
627 reviews
4.5 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
214 reviews
10.2 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
701 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#5 of 12 in Lizard
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmenner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmenner House

Address: Penmenner House Penmenner Road, Lizard TR12 7NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lizard
Price Range: $79 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A characterful Victorian house which is Britain's most Southerly Bed and Breakfast with 4 ensuite rooms and fantastic sea views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penmenner House Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing