We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Penmenner House”
Review of Penmenner House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lizard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penmenner House
Ranked #2 of 12 Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at this B and B very recently. The decoration was warm and inviting. The bedroom was clean and had the most spectacular views. The food was excellent and the host lady was very friendly but remained professional at all times. I can not recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyesout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 128 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in August 2011, but writing this review a little later than planned. Upon our arrival we were given a warm welcome by the owner. After being shown to our room( we stayed in room 2), we were offered tea/coffee and cake which was nice after a long road trip. The property is very stylishly decorated, very clean and very relaxing. Our room was a decent size for the price paid and had a lovely view, it was lovely watching the sun set in the distance. Breakfast was great, there was a great choice of foods available and plenty of it! Our host was very knowledgable about the area and helpful with any queries and requirements that we had. Location is very peaceful,but only 5 minutes from coast and village centre, we had a great stay,would come back and definately recommend to others

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor2010_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

breathtaking seaview, most beautiful rooms and a very friendly, interesting host lady. she provided the perfect mixture of care and distance. breakfast was oustanding and simply the best we have had in Britain.

Room Tip: very decent style, only people that appreciate asthetic atmosphere, not with small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teebeutel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Booking to attend a wedding at nearby Kynance Cove I stayed in Penmenner for the weekend. As you walk through the door to a big smiley welcome you just can't help but relax and feel at home.

The decor and ambience is incredibly calming. My room (Marconi) was spotless, stylishly decorated with a very well appointed en-suite shower room and big fluffy towels! Excellent tea and coffee choices (Earl Gray etc) , views to the coast including the lighthouse (a short walk away) and plenty of room to store fancy dress costumes...

Breakfast lived up to the expectations raised by the rooms and the superb hostess. The residents' lounge is again wonderful to have a quiet sit in between all the rushing about my friends and I were doing.

It is only a short walk to the village for food and drink or down to the point for a coffee and pasty. Perfect location.

Now stop reading and just book your room!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

What a lovely b&b this is. You are given a warm welcome and the good feeling stays with you throughout your stay. Decor is great and the rooms are comfortable & clean. Its the little touches that make it special! The full English breakfast was so large the next day we asked for a small version. Oh and if you like cats, Crumble loves the attention!
I'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliftoncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed in Penmenner House for four nights at the end of July, and absolutely loved it. I have never stayed in a B&B before and had my reservations, but they were completely unfounded.
Although we opted for the cheapest room, the Sunset Room, it was a lot bigger than we expected and great value for money.
The whole house was immaculate- I inspected the room and bathroom and didn't find a speck of dirt! We actually used the very welcoming guest living room on a rainy day.
The breakfasts were an amazing start to our day. The selection was superb, and Sheila is an excellent chef.
Sheila is a fantastic hostess, and made us feel very welcome. She knows plenty about the local area and made some good suggestions for dinner.
Although the house was a little outside the village centre, it was only a 5 minute walk to get to, and a 10 minute stroll down to the coast.
An absolute must.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest room, the Sunset Room, but it was more than adequate for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we stepped through the door and right up to the time we left. The atmosphere was warm and cosy and we felt very comfortable. The full length windows had great views all around the peninsula and the ambience Sheila has created through the uniqueness of the bedroom and lounge area is relaxing and inspiring.
The breakfasts catered for every possible taste and were well presented, very generous and made you look forward to the next morning! The homemade strawberry jam has to have its own mention - to die for !!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lizard hotels
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#5 of 12 in Lizard
238 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Lizard Point
YHA Lizard Point
#3 of 7 in Lizard
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Glampotel Lizard Point
Glampotel Lizard Point
#5 of 7 in Lizard
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Penmenner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmenner House

Address: Penmenner House Penmenner Road, Lizard TR12 7NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lizard
Price Range: $79 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A characterful Victorian house which is Britain's most Southerly Bed and Breakfast with 4 ensuite rooms and fantastic sea views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penmenner House Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing