We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor standard and expensive.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Viv's Tea Garden - CLOSED

Viv's Tea Garden
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Plymouth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor standard and expensive.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Cream teas in Cornwall need to be of good standard, home made and value for money. Unfortunately this place offers none of these. Scones as a previous reviewer mentions look like they are bought from a nearby bakery. (4 for £1.60) Near on £10. for a 2 scone cream tea is far too expensive when up the road at a farm shop does a far better job for a fiver. On the positive side garden is pretty but through no fault of their own is not usable because of the wasps. Local jam used is excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    29
    11
    14
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“great cream tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

watch out for the wasps, but cream tea was brill and served with a smile, road traffic noise puts you off a little as sited on a sharp bend in village road, but food more than makes up for this.
great with the children too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachbaby2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place for a cream tea, but the garden I full of wasps!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at viv's cream teas on a Thursday afternoon. As we walked down to the garden a very polite but shy young man approached us and welcomed us to the garden. He then told us to be careful because of wasps been attracted to the gardens because of the foods, so we sat in the cabin. The cream tea was delicious but the scone looked and tasted like it came from the shop (not saying it was); and it was a bit overpriced. After we took advantage of the unlimited tea, we headed into the garden. The garden itself was well looked after and had lots of interesting things to look at, but the amount of wasps there was unbelievable! I really feel sorry for the owners having to put up with this problem, but something should be done about the wasps before people get hurt.

Would return here again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 11JHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't get what everyone is raving about to be honest”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I really don't know why people are giving top ratings to this cafe. It is not quiet and away from it all - its right next to a busy road and you can see and hear the cars. I totally understand where people are coming from about the gentleman who works there. He does smell unwashed and speaks quickly and won't look you in the eye as if he's really nervous. The scones we had were very blah, we have had better ones where we live in Surrey, they just had no flavour. My son had the chocolate cake which he said tasted like chocolate bread, but not in a good way. My daughter had the fruit cake which was a big portion being two slices but that was pretty tasteless too. All in all we won't be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peacemakerukuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mind that crocodile while you’re feasting on the best cream tea, ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Along with the Camel Trail, a trip to Padstow on the ferry and surfing in Polzeath, a visit to Viv's Tea Garden is a must during our annual Cornish holiday. This year we were lucky enough to be there during the July heatwave and it will go down as one of the high spots of the week. The fantastical garden appealed to our young granddaughter, especially the almost lifelike crocodile which is 'cooling off' in the pond! Viv told us how as a child she used to come to Polzeath all the way from Scotland where her dad was in the coal delivery business. There wasn't much call for coal in August so he would bring the family to Cornwall for the whole month. No wonder Viv fell in love with the place! We have admired all the good work she has done to make the most of the pretty woodland setting, especially for children. A cream tea in her garden is the perfect end to a sunny afternoon. Even if the weather is wet there is now a new covered ranch-style dining area. I loved the home-made jams too. Ask to try the rhubarb and ginger! You can buy some to take home. Overall verdict? Jamtastic!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joncul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viv's Tea Garden also viewed

St Minver, Wadebridge
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing