We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the chalets need attention”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Minver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - St Minver Holiday Park
Reviewed October 1, 2013

just returned from second stay at St Minver with family members in three different chalets...very much like this site...fab location..fab food and excellent staff but the Chalets need pulling down and re building.On arrival Staff very pleasant but on opening No.19 could smell damp.I think the problem is the bathroom and numerous woodlice killed on our week stay.and needs a good clean some bleach maybe!..dining table leg about too fall off..
we did have a nice holiday..and I like Park Dean Holidays very much but feel standards slipping.

Room Tip: wish we had booked a Lodge 3 bedroom now as paid the same price for 3 chalets!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank turkey30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 399 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We too went as part of a Sun Holiday promotion so were a little anxious as to what type of accommodation we would get, we had opted to book a six berth van for the two of us to have some extra space and were not disappointed the rooms of course were not huge and if we had have had children with us it would have been a squeeze in the twin bedded room and although my husbands feet hung out of his bed it was very comfortable. Good living area and well equipped kitchen, van appeared to be quite new (The Glen) and was in excellent condition. The park is extremely well maintained with a good children's area and very nice pool, quiet at this time of year. The chief problem for us is that we had no phone signal the whole time we were there, not the parks fault but with an infirm husband it did make me quite anxious that should I need assistance in the middle of the night I would have to leave him and head for the reception area where there was a pay phone. For this reason I doubt we would go back but if you want a peaceful holiday in tranquil setting and don't want to be contacted this is the place for you !

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank angelinaballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have gone to st minver on sun hols for years and noticed that the some of the caravans are getting tired but love the area so we decided to go for a lodge this time
Check in was easy and went to our lodge 51 in the glade.
Wow it was so clean and tidy and very well equipped.
The only draw back was the absence of the information folder even though I requested it three times it never arrived
And the washing machine manual was missing until the maintenance man found it
It rained most of the week but we were very comfortable
Because of the layout we never saw any one it was very quiet and peaceful.
We loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OLDMAN1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Beautiful entrance down a wooded drive to reception. Was dealt with straight away and directed to our caravan. This was a Sun holiday and so we were not expecting too much. Very upset when we saw the location of our van (Manor Rise 268) It looked like it had ben shoved into a gap as an afterthought - once inside, our fears were confirmed, so dark that we had to leave the light on all of the time. The van itsself was adequate (and this was an upgrade) but very tatty around the edges and could certainly have done with a good clean. We did not have any bedding but after asking at reception , this was provided within a few minutes. This upgraded van had three bedrooms but the bed in the double room was far too narrow for us both (we're not fat!!) and my husband ended up on the couch in the living room as the beds in the two twin rooms were too short (beware if you are over 6' tall).

The shower had no slip mat and was so slippery that we did not bother to use it, but took advantage of the shower at the excellent pool. The pool is small and I could imagine total chaos during high season, but we took advantage of the early morning adults only, and had the pool to ourselves on a couple of mornings. The shop is opposite the pool and although the staff were more than friendly, you could tell that the season was drawing to a close as it seemed to be understocked, and expect to pay the usual high prices for a holiday park.

Due to the caravan oven breaking on night two, we were given vouchers to eat at the onsite restaraunt, 'The Manor'. The menu looked inviting and there seemed to be a wide choice. How glad were we that we had not had to pay for any of the food that we had. The policy appears to be 'pile it high', especially with the chips, but the food was ghastly - tasted of stale cooking fat the first night, and was cold the second. As we had not had to pay we felt it unfair to complain, but take my advice and avoid the place for food.

The position of the camp is superb for visiting the surrounding area. The ferry from Rock to Padstow is worth doing (£3 return) but parking in Rock is very very exspensive with no concession for blue badge holders. If you want a good base to explore the surrounding area then go for St Minver, but avoid Manor Rise if you like to sit out in the sun.

Room Tip: Avoid a caravan stuck in the trees unless you like the dark - and give the restaraunt a wide berth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bayleywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

First impressions, on driving in, was of the greenery surrounding the caravans. Tranquil and relaxing.
Very friendly reception with everything sorted out within minutes.
We were totally shocked when we arrived at out holiday caravan for our four day stay. A 10 berth caravan for the two of us with TV, DVD player, CD player, microwave etc etc. and, more to the point, clean.
As I have said, surrounded by trees and greenery. It was great, at dusk, to see the bats flying around and, as a special treat, a flypast by an owl one evening.
I cannot comment on the bar, swimming pool, restaurant or entertainment as we didn't use any. However, a quick view into the covered swimming pool, it looked really nice.
Excellent stay and we will do it again.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norman1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

we have just returned from a 1week stay at parkdean st minver we were a bit concerned having read some reviews before we left especially regarding the accommodation,but there was no need to worry ,we had a lovely spacious well equipt and clean caravan. The site was perfectly positioned for all the sightseeing we wanted to do and the amenities on site were all good.The entertainment complex offered us somewhere to go for a drink and entertainment at the end of a busy day the staff all worked hard and we enjoyed the caberet's especially Matt Baker.We would highly recomend a visit to the Minack Theater storyteller was excellent

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grapes1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our second week in Cornwall, the first week in Crantock Beach holiday park, and although the weather was much better in the first week, this second week proved just as good despite some rain. We have stayed at St Minver before, but this time we stayed in a lodge. Our booking in at reception was very quick and our lodge was all ready for us. First impressions of the lodge was "wow". It was evident that this was a privately owned lodge, by the presence of lovely pictures and some very nice modern ornaments and a book for your comments. The beds were made up and the main bedroom had a large double (perhaps a queen size) comfortable bed and two good size single beds in the second bedroom, both had walk in wardrobes and the main bedroom had an en suite shower room. There was a family bathroom, with bath and shower over. The kitchen/diner was a good size with dishwasher, fridge freezer and washer/dryer. We also had proper metal outside furniture and a whirlygig washing line. The kitchen was well equipped and there were plastic plates, cups and cutlery for children, plus a highchair. The lounge had comfy leather sofas, tv and cd player as well as a dvd player. Cannot fault this accommodation at all. The location was good, close to Rock and Port Isaac and not far from Wadebridge, where there was good shopping including a Lidl. So despite the weather we had a comfortable and relaxing break and would highly recommend this holiday park and the lodge accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Minver
18.1 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
21.9 mi away
Killigarth Manor Holiday Park
21 mi away
Perran View Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hendra Holiday Park
Hendra Holiday Park
#2 of 79 in Newquay
1,910 reviews
20.8 mi away
Widemouth Bay Caravan Park
21.2 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - St Minver Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - St Minver Holiday Park

Address: Near Rock | Wadebridge, St Minver, Wadebridge PL27 6RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge > St Minver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in St Minver
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - St Minver Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock up at Rock Beach...Nothing comes close to feeling the sand between your toes and breathing in the fresh sea air. So it's great to know that our woodland holiday park at St Minver is nearto three beautiful beaches - Polzeath, Rock and Daymer Bay. And if you enjoy visiting villages when you're not busy building sandcastles, you're only a short drive from the quaint fishing posrts of Padstow and Port Isaac.* It's set in the grounds of an old manor house * Woodland walk and path to St Minver village * Close to quaint fishing ports and beaches * Heated indoor pool with toddlers' pool * Fun with Sid & Lizzie's kid's club ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Minver Holiday Park Hotel St Minver
Parkdean - St Minver Holiday Park Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing