We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it and we'll be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkdean - St Minver Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Minver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - St Minver Holiday Park
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We loved it and we'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We have been to North Cornwall before but every time we find more places to explore and enjoy. St Minver is convenient for the best beaches, cliff walks and visiting the little villages around the Rock/Padstow/Port Isaac/Polzeath area. There are stunning beaches with very few visitors (even in August), you just need to use a good map to find them. Port Isaac is pretty but so busy, so we went to less well-known places. Our highlight was (briefly) seeing dolphins off Pentire Point which was special. Our favourite beach was Daymer Bay (easy car parking and access yet completely unspoiled and great for all ages), our favourite walk was along the Camel Trail from Wadebridge to Padstow (we got the bus back), our favourite restaurant was Fifteen at Watergate Bay (a bit further to drive but stunning views).

We stayed at a 2 bedroom lodge in The Glade, and were thrilled with it. It's on a holiday park run by Parkdean and there are also caravans in an adjacent area but The Glade is set apart from them and from the busier areas, but it's 3 mins to get to the swimming pool (we didn’t use it but it looked OK) and a shop for papers and milk etc. Everything inside and outside the lodge was excellent, very airy and clean, nice furniture and well equipped with lots of decking. There are 3 bedroom lodges which we peeped inside which are fine if you need the extra bedroom, but their rooms are smaller, so if you only need 2 bedrooms then just book a 2-bed.

The pub is the Fourways Inn and about 5 mins walk and their food is good and reasonably priced, but there are also loads of restaurants around, however if you want to visit the famous ones (Rick Stein, Nathan Outlaw, Paul Ainsworth, Jamies Fifteen all close by) then book before you go on holiday because we found them heavily booked in August.

Room Tip: The lodges are lovely and if you only need 2 bedrooms, just get two as then they are more roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Holiday_Helen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    127
    45
    28
    17
See reviews for
190
74
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Let's have a budget holiday in the uk with 2 other couples and a total of 7 children this year said my wife !! full of dread I agreed but stated that it has to be cornwall . We will go to a holiday camp they suggested >>>OMG more dread but it was cheap and it was cornwall !

We booked Parkdeans holiday park in St Minver nr Rock and Padstow . 3 caravans between the group ..having just watched the tv series about travellers the dread feeling came back !!

2 weeks into school holiday off I drove for our 7 day holiday !!!

On arrival I was pleasently surprised by the lovely setting this park was in it was quiet very clean and the caravans were set in a wooded area ..so far so good .

Inside the caravan were 3 bedrooms . small but very cosy and comfortable . central heating , fire place . kitchen ect ect small lounge area and a dinning area , very clean and room for a bbq outside ...Ok I conceded to our group I am pleasently surprised.

Indoor swimming pool and get this >> a sauna !!( was not expecting that ) great pool very clean and very well run by life guards.

The camp club house was what I expected ...bingo and caberet . not my thing but the childeren realy enjoyed joining in on talent night . Only realy spent one or two hours here as I had discovered Rick Steins Resturant and Fish and Chip shop down the road in Padstow and spending time with friends in or outside the caravans in the evening was great fun in this very nice park.

Cornwall is stunning and having spent most of my holidays in far flung places I must say that when the sun shines , and it did for us , I can not imagine anywhere nicer . the coast and beaches reminded me of the Algarve .

If you are looking to have a budget holiday in the UK then I realy recomend this park which is very close to the most amazing beaches and fantastic towns with very little evidence or the ususal tat found around most uk seaside resorts .

I am converted and now also an accomplished surfer !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hornet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We have just returned from a week long stay here with 2 children aged 4 and 9 months. We stayed in the Trehawk Lodge which was situated in a very quiet, separate, security locked area to the rest of the park. The lodges were lovely, very nicely furnished with more space between them than the caravans and certainly worth paying the extra. Contrary to Hoeseasons advice - there are hairdryers and towels provided.

The washer/dryer in the utility room were a great addition as it meant we didnt have to take washing home!!

The park is spotlessly clean, we felt comfortable letting the baby crawl around on the grass around the park. The outdoor play area is very good for young children as is the pool - though it could be a little warmer. Our kids really enjoyed the toddler fun sessions.

We didnt eat here at all after reading previous reviews. Neither did we take part in any of the evening entertainment. The onsite shop is diappointing as it doesnt stock anything in small sizes and baby food is limited. But there are plenty of supermarkets within a 15 min drive.

The surrounding area is picturesque. Padstow is within 30mins drive and worth a visit though the shops are not very pram friendly. The beach is beautiful but again difficult to access with a pram. We also had good days out at Tintagel (be prepared for lots of steps), Eden and Fistral Beach (Newquay) all within 40 mins drive. To get to any of the beaches you will need to drive. We liked Daymer which also had lots of rocks to climb. Polzeath was a little too crowded for us.

Finally if you like running, as i do, there are no pavements any where near the park and too many manic drivers on the roads!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ManchesterBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Just returned back from here. The site is in a lovely setting. We stayed in one of the 3 bedroomed lodges which were immaculate and had everything you could possible need in them, a bit of a home from home.

Rock beach nearby we didn't like as it was full of dogs running free and owners not cleaning up after them. However Polzeath beach is a spectacular dog free surfing beach and is not to be missed. We extended our holiday by a day just so we could spend another day on this beach it is that impressive.

There are lots of attractions to visit but you do need to travel up to 40 minutes. Tintagel Castle is particularly breathtaking.

The facilities on site were great. The pool is very new and clean, the bar and restaurant the same, although I really didn't rate the food. The childrens entertainment made the holiday for my kids, they didn't miss one night 6.00pm-7.00pm and danced the whole time there. The Starlanders staff worked tirelessly to entertain them and I commend them.

I would certainly return, we love Cornwall and Devon and this has been our third year visiting the South West. It is a long journey from the North West but worth it.

We think it is value for money as we have visited another Parkdean establishment in Devon and it was twice the price of this park.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThommoWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

just came back from staying here .we had a lovely 3 bedroom log cabin with everything you needed washer dryer 2 irons and a ironing board . hair dryer dishwasher music player everything you needed ,the site was clean and set in a lovely location and the staff were helpful and friendly.one of the best holiday camps i have been on . only gripe is there food horrible springs to mind ,on the plus side you can get to the village pub via some steps next to the clubhouse 2 minute walk top grub and very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

There is no doubt the park is in a great spot and the staff are friendly but the accommodation was shocking we paid £260 for 1 week in a chalet which was dark smelt damp had old tooth paste in the sink and z beds to sleep on. To top it off the wall paper was pealing off the Walls. We left got our money back and found a very pleasant park to stay at for less money.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Jbwalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

we've stayed at st.minver twice now - sept 10 and june 11 - and it's a lovely complex. the lodges are of excellent quality, well furnished and are quiet and secure. the 2-bed Trehawk lodges are particularly good with a small utility room/entrance hall off the main living area. unlimited hot water and central heating cant be dismissed with the british weather!!!

The park has a decent sized indoor swimming pool, with small sauna. There's a corner-shop store for essentials.

The main clubhouse complex has a decent bar, small restaurant area and an entertainment/cabaret lounge. Nightly entertainment is laid on for the kids, followed by cabaret and disco. It's good fun, although outside of peak season its not exactly capacity crowds...

you'll be out in the car to get to most places but in 35-45 mins you can be as far as st.austell or the eden project. Rock has nice beaches along the estuary, and Polzeath an excellent beach on the sea. You can drive onto the beach carpark which is handy. Padstow and Newquay well within reach too.

Service in the park is excellent and professional.

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niall_mcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Minver
2.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
18.1 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
21.2 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Widemouth Bay Caravan Park
21.3 mi away
Perran View Holiday Park
22.6 mi away
Tencreek Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - St Minver Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - St Minver Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - St Minver Holiday Park
Address: Near Rock | Wadebridge, St Minver, Wadebridge PL27 6RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge > St Minver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in St Minver
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - St Minver Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock up at Rock Beach...Nothing comes close to feeling the sand between your toes and breathing in the fresh sea air. So it's great to know that our woodland holiday park at St Minver is nearto three beautiful beaches - Polzeath, Rock and Daymer Bay. And if you enjoy visiting villages when you're not busy building sandcastles, you're only a short drive from the quaint fishing posrts of Padstow and Port Isaac.* It's set in the grounds of an old manor house * Woodland walk and path to St Minver village * Close to quaint fishing ports and beaches * Heated indoor pool with toddlers' pool * Fun with Sid & Lizzie's kid's club ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Minver Holiday Park Hotel St Minver
Parkdean - St Minver Holiday Park Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing