We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B - 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bucklawren Bed and Breakfast and Self-Catering Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 St Martin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just spent Easter 2014 at Bucklawren Farm just outside of Looe, which was an ideal base to explore the whole of Cornwall. The farm is a working farm run by Robert (who also cooks a very good full English - do not miss this). Jean looks after the B&B and is very welcoming. On arrival we were shown to our room which had far reaching sea views including part of Looe harbour, this was followed by a nice pot of tea with cake in the residents conservatory which looked over the farm land.
There are a few good restaurants in Looe try "Trawlers by the quay" book before and ask for a window seat downstairs. If you like to try a Cornish pasty go to the one just behind Trawlers where they are home made a big difference from the mass produced.
Visit Padstow (Rick Stein) and take the ferry over to the town of Rock. Another good day out visit Mount St Michael and include lunch in "MouseHole" try "2 Fore Street" again pre-book.

On returning to Bucklawren B&B and the end of each day it was just like coming home, we had a very relaxing stay, a big thank you to Jean and Robert, we will return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIVER-SUNSET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Bucklawren Bed and Breakfast and Self-Catering Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 111 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and it was absolutely superb. The views and location were stunning and peaceful, and the furnishings and facilities were luxurious and beautifully presented.
Jean the owner was welcoming and friendly and provided a delicious cup of tea and cake in the conservatory on arrival. The guest lounges and conservatory were comfortable and provided somewhere quiet to sit with lots of magazines to chose from.
I can honestly say that coming back after a day out was a pleasure as it felt so homely and relaxing.
We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieZ169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Jean the host is welcoming and well suited to her role. We had booked the Garden Annexe for B & B, but Jean showed us this and one of the cottages and said we could choose which suited us best. We chose a cottage and it was lovely - very clean and comfortable beds. We had a great nights sleep for the 3 nights we stayed. Breakfast was served in a very traditional farmhouse and was as we requested. Jean was an attentive and efficient host. We were given plenty of tea/ coffee etc. The cottages are extremely well equipped, with lots of thoughtful touches. Warm and welcoming in a chilly month. This is in a pretty location, well situated for visiting the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandP433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Today we had a breakfast we will never forget. Wonderful views, excellent food, superb service, luxurious facilities and complete contentment. Every year we visit Bucklawren Farm and every year it just gets better. Our heartfelt thanks to Jean, Robert and all their staff for a job very well done.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CornwallBeeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed four nights in one of the self catering cottages. The location is beautiful and the cottage was impeccable and well equipped to a very high standard. It was so relaxing and peaceful. The owners were very helpful and welcoming and let me have a look at the Hayloft which can accommodate eight people. Wonderful.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Once again we have had the most wonderful holiday at Bucklawren Farm. We have stayed several times over the years and never been disappointed. However, this year we had not pre-booked and telephoned on the off chance of getting accommodation. As usual Jean was most obliging and we stayed in the fantasic Hayloft which easily accommodates at least 8 people. There was only two of us and it was fabulous. Everything is provided and the Hayloft is spacious, warm cleaning and comfortable. Will definitely be going back next year and will pre-book this time. Thanks a lot Jean and Richard. Keep up the good work it was absolutely faultless plenty of room for larger families.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manchesterwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Three ladies from The Lizard had a wonderful couple of days...Jean our host was lovely ,friendly, helpful and warm, our room was Immaculately clean and cosy with wonderful views, are breakfast was scrummy and everyone staying there at the time were all friendly and great, what a lovely place to stay, thank you we hope to come again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 399jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martin
3.9 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
874 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
259 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
468 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
1.7 mi away
Trehaven Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bucklawren Bed and Breakfast and Self-Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucklawren Bed and Breakfast and Self-Catering Cottages

Address: Bucklawren Farm | St Martin by Looe, St Martin, Looe PL13 1NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe > St Martin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Martin
Price Range: $102 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bucklawren Bed and Breakfast and Self-Catering Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bucklawren Bed & Breakfast, Looe is a working farm set deep in the beautiful Cornish countryside. There are superb sea views across our fields, and we’re just one mile from the beach and three miles from the picturesque fishing village of Looe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bucklawren Bed and Breakfast and Self-Catering Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucklawren Bed And Breakfast And Self-Catering Cottages Cornwall/St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing