We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely upmarket B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bucklawren Bed and Breakfast and Self-Catering Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 St Martin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely upmarket B&B”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We wend looking for a place in Looe for two nights for three people, couldn't find anything in town so went a little bit further out.

We stayed in the B&B accommodation, which was amazing. The room was two singles and a double bed. Very spacious room with dressing table, chair and table. Bottled water, biscuits and tea and coffee tray, and a fridge.

Hosts were lovely. Breakfasts were good. For whatever reason, we were put in the sunroom each morning for breakfast, which was lovely and had beautiful views of the ocean.

Bathroom was very clean and nice. There was also an extra bathroom upstairs to use if needed.

The location was also very picturesque and peaceful.

We were however the youngest people there by far, not that we minded, but it was definitely a place to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahJellybeans77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had a long weekend at this B&B with our 5 year old son and stayed in a very spacious family room which was exactly as described on the website. A great countryside location close to Looe with lovely views across to the sea and Looe. Lovely welcome from Jean with tea and cakes on the picnic table in the garden. Beds very comfortable and good room supplies. Lovely cooked breakfasts and gorgeous apple juice. Very enjoyable and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Have I been here before, well, you had better get the baby pictures out as I myself cannot remember the first time!! For, Year after Year after year,for the same two weeks in July I have accompanied my family on countless fun-filled wonderful holidays to the beautiful Cornish coast, all under the kind and almost humbling hospitality of Jean and Robert Henley! Now as a 19 year old woman, I have returned to carry on my families legacy with my wonderful other half and to keep in touch with great friendships that have bonded over years! I don't know about you, but it is about time that I gave something back!! Anyway let us not be lost in waffle and get down to details!
The B&B is stunning. the rooms are kept in immaculate condition with everything you could want or need, along with a feeling of "home away from home" and a warm and welcome reception is awaiting you any time you step through the door! As for breakfast, my other half (who normally is the last to get up early) has been seen practically dragging me out of bed in the mornings to be first in line, whether you chose the full English, or the freshly baked croissants you are in for a treat! Locally sourced produce wherever possible and the full Cornish flavour with it! In conclusion as a long standing visitor to this wonderful place, I would fully recommend this place to anyone, be young or old! this place has it all!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fliss N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We arrived bedraggled and frazzled in a driving rainstorm on my husband's first day of driving on the "wrong" side and were rewarded with a warm welcome from Jean, the owner. She made us coffee, helped us get settled, made dinner reservations next door for us, and the trials of the day fell away.
Our room was large, comfortable, and offered a beautiful view when the storm passed. The breakfast was great and Jean could not possibly be more accommodating and helpful. Everything in the house works perfectly and the conservatory is a treat in all weather!
This is a wonderful headquarters for exploring the wild and gorgeous Cornwall area.

Room Tip: We chose #3, which is very large and has a gorgeous view over the fields and on to the sea. Big bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne1martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The setting of this charming B and B is superb - very quiet location, and a lovely sea view from the room in which we stayed (the Violet room). The room itself was a very comfortable and spacious family room that was also spotlessly clean; we are a family of three but there would also be ample room for a family of four. It is in a remote location and to get anywhere from there you would have to drive to Looe or Polperro, both of which are pleasant small towns (especially Polperro). With a remote location comes a peace and quiet that is hard to beat, so it is almost impossible not to unwind completely here. Next door to the B and B is a lovely resteraunt called the Granary, which does excellent quality food at reasonable prices. It is also licensed. The breakfasts at the B and B are also very good, so you won't go hungry! There is a monkey sanctuary nearby that does a lot of valuable work with these animals and is worth a visit, particularly if you have any animal lovers in your family. It is also not that far to spectacular beauty spots like Pencarrow Head and Lantic bay (a shale beach in a beautiful setting that does not get overcrowded owing mainly to a long descent). Also, Polruan and Fowey are well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Violet room plus at least one other have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Bucklawren was by far our family's favorite spot! We stayed in quite a few hotels and b&b's while traveling through England and to Edinburgh over almost 3 weeks. We loved the beautiful setting as well as the cottage we stayed in there. We had 3 bedrooms, a living room, bathroom, and a kitchen. The neighboring property has a lovely restaurant we enjoyed. Breakfasts were amazing! Would love to get back to Bucklawren some day!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesuisbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our first impression of the Bucklawren B & B was very favourable nice old house set in pleasant gardens with views across the fields to Looe Island. Jean, the owner, made us very welcome and showed us to our room which was very well appointed with lovely views across to the bay.

The room was very comfortable with a window seat to sit and admire the view or enjoy a cup of tea while reading my book. The breakfasts were excellent and Jean was on hand to offer suggestions of places to visit or to book somewhere for an evening meal. We used the Granary restaurant on site a few times - located in a lovely old barn - and enjoyed our meals on all occasions.

Plenty of places to visit within a short commuting distance and a variety of attractions to suit everyone and both indoor and outdoor so don't have to worry if you have a rainy day or two - which unfortunately we did. As the weather was bad we didn't have much chance to explore the lanes around the farm but if you enjoy walking there are plenty to occupy you in the area.

We really enjoyed are stay at the Bucklawren and would have no hesitation in recommending it to our family and friends. We hope to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenRosyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martin
1.6 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
245 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#5 of 7 in Looe
259 reviews
3.9 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
447 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cherrywood Lodge
Cherrywood Lodge
#1 of 53 in Looe
378 reviews
1.7 mi away
Trehaven Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bucklawren Bed and Breakfast and Self-Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucklawren Bed and Breakfast and Self-Catering Cottages

Property: Bucklawren Bed and Breakfast and Self-Catering Cottages
Address: Bucklawren Farm | St Martin by Looe, St Martin, Looe PL13 1NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe > St Martin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bucklawren Bed and Breakfast and Self-Catering Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Bucklawren Bed and Breakfast and Self-Catering Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucklawren Bed And Breakfast And Self-Catering Cottages Cornwall/St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing