We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bucklawren Bed and Breakfast and Self-Catering Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$91
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Hotel(Menheniot)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whitsand Bay Hotel(Portwrinkle)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Claremont Hotel(Polperro)(Great Value!)
$74
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
106
6
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
6
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcakeon arrivalworking farmbiscuitsfull english breakfasttea coffeebeautiful placelooe harbourcomfortable roomwonderful viewrose roommany placesfour nightshorseshoe cottagefarm cottagesspoilt for choice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 115 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The setting of this charming B and B is superb - very quiet location, and a lovely sea view from the room in which we stayed (the Violet room). The room itself was a very comfortable and spacious family room that was also spotlessly clean; we are a family of three but there would also be ample room for a family of four. It is in a remote location and to get anywhere from there you would have to drive to Looe or Polperro, both of which are pleasant small towns (especially Polperro). With a remote location comes a peace and quiet that is hard to beat, so it is almost impossible not to unwind completely here. Next door to the B and B is a lovely resteraunt called the Granary, which does excellent quality food at reasonable prices. It is also licensed. The breakfasts at the B and B are also very good, so you won't go hungry! There is a monkey sanctuary nearby that does a lot of valuable work with these animals and is worth a visit, particularly if you have any animal lovers in your family. It is also not that far to spectacular beauty spots like Pencarrow Head and Lantic bay (a shale beach in a beautiful setting that does not get overcrowded owing mainly to a long descent). Also, Polruan and Fowey are well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Violet room plus at least one other have a sea view
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Bucklawren was by far our family's favorite spot! We stayed in quite a few hotels and b&b's while traveling through England and to Edinburgh over almost 3 weeks. We loved the beautiful setting as well as the cottage we stayed in there. We had 3 bedrooms, a living room, bathroom, and a kitchen. The neighboring property has a lovely restaurant we enjoyed. Breakfasts were amazing! Would love to get back to Bucklawren some day!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesuisbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our first impression of the Bucklawren B & B was very favourable nice old house set in pleasant gardens with views across the fields to Looe Island. Jean, the owner, made us very welcome and showed us to our room which was very well appointed with lovely views across to the bay.

The room was very comfortable with a window seat to sit and admire the view or enjoy a cup of tea while reading my book. The breakfasts were excellent and Jean was on hand to offer suggestions of places to visit or to book somewhere for an evening meal. We used the Granary restaurant on site a few times - located in a lovely old barn - and enjoyed our meals on all occasions.

Plenty of places to visit within a short commuting distance and a variety of attractions to suit everyone and both indoor and outdoor so don't have to worry if you have a rainy day or two - which unfortunately we did. As the weather was bad we didn't have much chance to explore the lanes around the farm but if you enjoy walking there are plenty to occupy you in the area.

We really enjoyed are stay at the Bucklawren and would have no hesitation in recommending it to our family and friends. We hope to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenRosyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

After a hectic holiday touring Europe, Bucklawren was just what was needed before our return to Australia.
The owners could not do enough for us and the Tack Room was well equipped, very clean and comfortable (one of the most comfortable beds on our trip).
Plenty of great pubs in the area for eating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnkeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We have been staying at Bucklawren for about 17 years. During that time we have stayed in the B and B as well as a number of cottages. Wherever we have stayed we have found our accommodation very clean, very comfortable and very well equipped. We have over the most recent years stayed in the Lodge and occasionally B and B (breakfasts are very good). We have always found Jean and Robert friendly and helpful. It is important to them that your stay is a good experience. It is important to us as well and that is why we come back year after year, staying for 2 weeks until the last two years when we have stayed 3 weeks. We have already booked again for 3 weeks next year. This is an idyllic place to stay, beautiful surroundings (plenty of lanes to walk around the farm) and plenty of places to visit only short journeys away.

We are not perturbed if we have rainy days as all the rooms and cottages have flat screen televisions, dvd and video players.

The Bucklawren Granary restaurant is just to the side of the Lodge and this can be a real bonus when you return tired from a days sightseeing and do not want to get in the car again. The food is very good and reasonably priced. The Granary is booked for weddings and we have been staying when a number have taken place. We have not found that they interfere in any way. Any music they have stops at midnight - therefore we have not lost any sleep.

If you want a quiet escape in wonderful countryside there is no better place to stay.

G and A, Kent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fawkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews