We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tregoad Park proximity to Looe”
Review of Tregoad Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Martin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tregoad Park
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tregoad Park proximity to Looe”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our initial plan was to find accommodation in Looe. 3 adults and a dog and leaving it until the last week of April to book, we had left it a bit late.
Looe was fully booked so we decided to stay at Tregoad park and planned to travel into Looe each day.

It is exactly 2 and a half miles from the centre of Tregaod park to the bridge at the start of the town in Looe.


Before starting our holiday at Tregaod park I searched google earth to see if there was a path / shortcut to walk into Looe. There isn't one.
It is necessary to exit the park back onto the main road and turn left towards Looe. The first 600 yards or so is up the bank. It is worth pointing out that there is no sidewalk / pavement until you reach the top of the bank. Typical to Cornwall the sides of the road are steeply banked up in places and the cars are moving fast, so keep your wits about you until you reach the top. Once at the top of the bank you are at the entrance to Looe caravan club site, from here on there is a sidewalk the remainder of the way into Looe.

There are 2 ways to walk into Looe from here. The longest is to turn left 200 - 300 yards further on, at the sign for Millendreath. It is exactly 1 mile from here to Millendreath. There is a beach and a pleasant modern cafe called black rock. At the west side of Millendreath beach / paved area you can climb the stairs and walk the remaining half mile or so into Looe. Either on road passing by the very nice properties or drop down to follow the coastal path.

The other way from the top of the bank at Looe caravan club park is to continue on the main road for about half a mile until you turn left at the signs for sunrising, Barbican, Plaidy.
The barbican pub is three quarters of a mile from the left turn. After the 6 shops following the pub watch out for the pedestrian sign where you turn right to walk down the steep bank into Loo. A nice walk from the Barbican pub although steep.

If you are driving into Looe, the main carpark is across the bridge then right up the bank a couple of hundred yards then turn right. Busy time of the year just follow the traffic. Its a huge carpark so you should find a space up the top end if its full the Looe side. 5.20p for a day long ticket.

We found that you can park the car at the Barbican pub (mentioned earlier) in its large carpark or in the surrounding streets (little or no parking restrictions) and walk the remainding few hundred yards down the bank into Looe.

There is also a taxi rank next to the bridge at Looe, you cant miss it. It was 7.00p from here to Tregoad reception.
Enjoy Looe. We did.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cruiseman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    32
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
60
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our first day of a weeks stay in one of the cottages was not very encouraging, the staff on the front desk checked us in as though we were a nuisance and this attitude persisted throughout the stay. We were too early for the cottage so we were directed to the "Tavern" for a drink. There were two staff serving and it was very busy with new arrivals, it was chaos and we ended up paying for coffee that never arrived and then we were made to queue again when we went to enquire after it.

On arrival at the cottage I did the usual quick inspection and found the toilet bowl dirty and the toilet had been used. None of our party had used it and so I assume it had not been cleaned between occupants! This was compounded when I reached for the toilet brush and found it to be in a disgusting state, too disgusting for me to detail here. I immediatley made my way to reception and met a cleaner on my way there, I requested a new toilet brush and this was done but this should never have happened in the first place.

The laminated floor was poorly fitted and the slats moved creating gaps, in my opinion this is unsafe for small children whose fingers and toes could get pinched. The bathroom was poor and in need of a refurbishment, water pressure was also poor.

Also a warning for non smokers, the cottages are grouped closely together and smokers sit outside their respective cottages to smoke. Unfortunately if your windows are open the smoke filters through.


Looe and the surrounding area is lovely and we would return again but not to these cottages.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Well-parked2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed from Saturday til Saturday in the new two berth pods. It was amazing value for money with electricity, electric coolbox, lighting, freeview Tv, lockable storage box, picnic box and parking right next to the pod.
All the staff were very friendly the whole time and happy to help out with any enquiries even out of hours.
The toilets/showers were VERY clean and continuously being cleaned throughout the day.
The onsite bar/restaurant are very generous with their portions which are well worth the money! The cakes are mouth watering :)
With a nice walk down the hill there are some lovely small lakes to go fishing (as a first time fisher, I thoroughly enjoyed it!)
Also had a lovely huge jacuzzi spa with swimming pool

Would defiantly come here again!
Thank you to all the staff for your hospitality!

Room Tip: if you want a double bed in the pods, book the larger ones not the two berth as they are seperate be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERF92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We decided to catch the sunshine and visit this camp site for a few nights and we really enjoyed it. The place is nice and clean and above all the staff are really friendly and helpful. All the amenities were great and the views of the surrounding areas are nice too. Having wifi available all around the site was very useful and the kids were happy 100% of the time. This only cost £2 for 24hours.We were also happy with the food available on site. The fried breakfast went down really well. The club house at night was also very friendly with a nice touch of the pub atmosphere which was more to our liking rather than the more commercial type place. All in all glad we stayed and we will be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlymSteve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a lovely camping site with everything on that you need, including a swimming pool.
The site is well maintained and kept looking very nice & clean. It is a pity that the cottage we rented was not maintained as well. The main room in the cottage contained two settees well passed their sell by date. They were stained and had no support left in the cushions. Also the TV was something out of the ark. This was a portable TV from about 1990. It is a shame that the cottage has not had a bit of money thrown at it to bring it up to date because you can`t fault the rest of the park. It`s in a great location with great views. I know you don`t spend all the time inside but even Premier Inns have caught to the fact that customers like some comfort when away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMHStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

What a great half term weekend at Tregoad Park
I just had to leave a review to say what a great half term we all had at Tregoad Park. We and our friends are regular visitors to this park as we only live 28 miles away in Plymouth. We store our caravan here and try to get down as often as possible. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 young children (7&9). We love this place so much because the staff are always friendly and courteous, the toilets and showers are spotlessly clean, our children love the indoor pool and we enjoy relaxing times in the spa. They are upgrading the changing and shower facilities in the pool hall so toilets are limited at present but this is well signed and the works have a completion date of mid June. There are also no under 16’s allowed in the spa but this is for good reason.
We were there over the half term weekend and the atmosphere was brilliant. My kids love the early evening disco and cinema and now have a collection of cuddly toys for winning various dancing competitions. The adult entertainment is local and of fair quality and the attitude of the bar staff even when really busy is excellent, they also serve a reasonably priced range of meals and snacks so we eat in there regularly. Saturday night was a fancy dress party in the bar and some of the attempts were really good. One chap turned up as the Hulk and he really looked the part, needless to say he won first prize. On Sunday they organised a table top sale and raffle throughout the afternoon for a local charity and all who attended seemed to have a great time. All in all I cannot fault this park for its customer service, friendly attitude and standards of cleanliness. My family certainly give it 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here bank holiday weekend in a serviced pitch area havin a kalahari 10 berth tent the pitch had ample space for both tent and car... Shower and toilet block located close enough and exceptionally clean the clubhouse was welcoming and did the usually menu at a good price. Left to our own devices and didn't have no problems to report. Most deffo stop here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sally o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martin
2.0 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
453 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
251 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tencreek Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
4.4 mi away
Killigarth Manor Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Bucklawren Bed and Breakfast and Self-Catering Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregoad Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregoad Park

Property: Tregoad Park
Address: St Martin, Looe PL13 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe > St Martin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in St Martin
Hotel Class:4 star — Tregoad Park 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Tregoad Park Cornwall/St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing