We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor/Average stay - Not child friendly and smelly!!!!!”
Review of Tregoad Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Martin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tregoad Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Stayed in one of the cottages last week and upon opening the door to the cottage the smell of damp and mustyness was horrid. We went straight out and bought air freshner and had the heating on full for 24hrs to try and get rid of the smell. Still there when we left today - 7 days later. Have just come home and washed absolutely everything even clean clothes to get rid of the smell. Cottage had every thing that you need for a week. Lady on the front desk needs to learn a few manners and become child friendly!!!! Wont say anymore but she hadnt been there long, so she said, and if she worked for me, she wouldnt be there now. Had telephoned a couple of weeks to find out about any entertainment for the children as half term, was told a few disco's would take place. Totally nothing. Not even a note. No bar food for two nights. Had to ask for the games room to be opened so that we could have a go in there. Cinema closed too. Play park needs tidying up and the mini golf was closed for refurb!!!! Pool nice but cold. So nothing to do. All the things mentioned on the website and over the phoned didnt happen. Lovely area, shame it didnt live up to its description. Wont be going back or recommending it to anyone either.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank kaek4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 115 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed in Looe for the Last week of Sept 11 and had a fantastic time. The lodges/cottages are perfect as a base. They are spotlessly clean, secure and are a home from home. The site is so quiet unlike some areas. The pool is an ideal size for a small complex and is warm with Jacuzzi. We never had to share with anyone. Looe is also one of the most beautiful places that we have ever stayed with loads of restaurants and bars and a great atmosphere. We would 100% stay again here!

Room Tip: Any of the lodges are great - clean and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

With more modern campsites available closer to Looe, we found our caravan to be dated and disappointing.

With a particularly upsetting, and completely avoidable, altercation with an incredibly rude member of staff on the final morning and to have £2 our £10 key deposit returned to us in Polish coins, this camp site left a lot to be desired and a bad taste in our mouth.

Upon telephoning through a complaint I was expecting both a return call from the camp-site owner and also a refund of our deposit money in sterling, neither of which has happened.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LondonMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed here for a week with my husband & three year old daughter. The cottage was fantastic, it was in a lovely courtyard & had a the mod cons. The court yard was very secure so our daughter could play outside with no worries, she had great fun with children staying in the other cottages. We used the indoor pool a few times & the hot tub which were great. The club area was great for keeping our daughter entertained at night so we went there a lot. Clare was the girl looking after the kids club etc & she was lovely. The food in the bar is very cheap but not great - you pay for what you get. Overall I would recommend this park with hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lollyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Love the Place,

We have just come back from two weeks at this site and I now know why
they call it unique!. I have never been to a site before where the
staff are so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and
they always had a smile for you. The toilets are spotless and
although the showers are a bit small they do have a proper mixer tap
and not a timed push button, really good pressure too! The indoor
pool was loved by the kids and we got some relaxing time in the spa
which was limited to adults only (good idea). The bar and clubhouse is
a bit campsite style but non the less the food was very good and the
drinks reasonably priced. They had an entertainer called Clare who
kept the the kids occupied and also ran an evening disco and
entertainment programme. We spent most of our evenings in the awning
but on the odd occasion we went the atmosphere was always good and
friendly. Looe itself is a typical Cornish port and has a good mix of
shops, cafes and the like. Further afield Polperro is worth a visit
but you need to leave your car at the top and either walk or take the
horse drawn carriage to the harbour. There are also some nice beaches
and plenty of rock pools.

All in all we had a great holiday and will definitely be going back to
Tregoad Park if for no other reason than to be greeted by the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisymaisy186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Sunday, 21 August 2011
We arrived on the 3/08/2011 and departed on the 16/08/2011, from the beginning to end we had a wonderful stay. The wardens and maintenance staff are so freindly and helpful, the hospitality is A1+,the staff in the restaurant and bar was great, a big well done to Clare who was great with the children and The Court of King Caractacus is going to be our next kareoke song, so get ready for when we bless you with our presence again. We wasn't ready to leave but someone said to us if you don't leave you'll never come back. A big thank you to the Tragoad owners too as they made them selves known around the camp and worked hard but still had time to say hello.
Mrs Baldock

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at site from 22nd Aug, intended for 7 days( Weather and flooding meant it was shorter at only 4 nights!)
It was my sister and her husband with 3 children from 5 to 10 and my partner and me. Age range of adults around 30. We had great expectations after researching hard and finding the website for Tregoad we thought it had it all, however, the pictures are very deceaving. For example there are pictures of an outdoor pool, there isnt one! We wanted a clubhouse there just in case for us all to relax, we did spend one night there but it was a very strange place that felt more like a cafe?! The partially open aired part with 1 pool table (at £1 a game) was actually relaxing but they seemed to be using it for storage with old fridges etc piled up. Not open in the day either, which was a shame. We didnt have the food so unfortunatley cant comment.
The washrooms/showers are very clean and of good quality, but when closed for cleaning no where else to go? Takes them approx an hour to clean.
On arrival for us they had made a mistake and only put us down for 1 pitch although we had clearly paid for 2, eventually got sorted and our pitch was nice, slightly far away from amenities but lovely views!
Looe is lovely and we highly recommend polperro for a day trip, its so beautiful and sweet!

Overall I liked the pitch but would not return to this site and felt that the website was quite misleading!! The location of the site is great but the site itself could be so much more!!

Room Tip: Choose pitches lower down as closer to amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovely_gems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tregoad Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregoad Park

Address: St Martin, Looe PL13 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe > St Martin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in St Martin
Hotel Class:4 star — Tregoad Park 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Tregoad Park Cornwall/St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing