We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could have been better. ”
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Hart
Ranked #3 of 7 St Keverne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It could have been better. ”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner visited The White Hart in St Keverne after having a drive around Cornwall. The pub itself is lovely, and the staff did seem very friendly.
Our meal how ever was a little bit of a let down. My partner (if I remember) had nachos for starters and gammon for main, his meal looked very advertising and tasted yummy! Unfortunatly I choose the chicken burger, which reached very poor standards. Instead of being a nice chicken breast cooked from fresh and baught fresh, it just looked like a cheap supermarket burger and tasted like cardboard, I was very disappointed.
However saying that though, I think they have now got a new chef and when we visit the pub these days, the food smells and looks great! Hoping we just had an 'off' day for the pub.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jane70123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin s, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
This review has just come up although we are unsure whether it pertains to a visit in december. However,the reply is still relevant. Firstly of course it is a shame to read that our self imposed high standards do not seem to have been right to this reviewer and we are always very sorry to hear that. If this any customer is ever not happy or feels dissapointed I would always say that a staff member should be told immediately so that steps can be taken to rectify any complaint or criticism. We have had our 'new' chef now since september 2013 and his food is widely regarded as excellent. He is always available to answer queries,correct anything needed or indeed to praise. Non of our food is 'cheap supermarket' and so it is very unfortunate that no opportunity was given to us to ensure that this customer was not satisfied,as all our valued customers need to be. Please visit again,make yourself known and rest assured we will be delighted to show you how good our food is
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    16
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
23
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

After spending a few days in the area earlier in the year a break for new year's was planned. We were warmly welcomed, not only by the pub staff but by the whole community who made us feel very at home. The newly refurbished rooms at the back of the pub were ideal and had everything we could need. The food is really good with a great selection of choice and if you are there on one of their 'specials' nights you are in for some great food. The atmosphere in the pub is brilliant and new year's eve was great fun. Thank you to the whole team for such a great stay, hoping to come back again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have travelled to St Keverne a couple of times this year for Work and Pleasure and have been humbled by the truly warming experience that all the staff and locals give. We stayed over the festive period and although the staff were trying to have a well deserved break they fitted us in and we could not have been made to feel more welcome.

The food is great along with the fine selection of drinks, the rooms are clean and bright and quiet which is great.

We even spent NYE in the pub which was truly memorable and our thanks go to all for your efforts on all fronts. I could not recommend this establishment more and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cg5306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visited the White Hart just before Christmas, as part of a 22 strong party. We were made very welcome, and staff were excellent. I had the roast beef which was absolutely superb, plenty of meat (unlike some establishments who're very tight with the meat), very succulent, good flavour and as tender as you could want, which is largely down to the chef and his cooking. The chef and the serving lady both asked if everything was as we wanted, did we lack or want for anything. My wife had the turkey which again was everything you could've wished for. I recognised the chef and the lady from the Black Swan at Gweek, we used to go there a lot a couple of years ago, until it changed hands - the Sunday lunches were always superb, and the chef and the lady have taken their skills with them. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We called in after a 7 hour journey to get to cornwall, only stopped for a quick drink but first impressions were excellent. Everything was clean, drinks were nice (never tasted a shandy like it - was such a good drink!), bar man was friendly - exactly what you want from a pub. Will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dootravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin s, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind review from all the White Hart staff. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We recently visited with our son and found the accommodation very comfortable so nice to have returned to our room and found clean towels everyday and plenty of tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was excellent with no rush.The staff were very friendly and the meals were excellent with plenty of choice and it was nice of the chef to come and talk to us. My men found the deserts very yummie!!! Would recommend this village pub to friends and would certainly return if ever in the area again, such a good location to get to many landmarks. For me it was returning to see places I visited 40+ years ago. All the very best to you and your team. The Whiteley family

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin s, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
What a delight to read your great review on the stay that you had in this lovely village and more so
to see what you very kindly wrote about your experience in the White Hart,thank you.
Comments like this are very much appreciated by staff and owners alike and can only serve to
inspire our efforts to please at all times.It will always be nice to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Friendly helpful staff in this non-touristy village pub. Decent pint of beer and nice food at a sensible price. Worth a try if you're in the area. Ideal location for coastal footpath and local dive centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markapilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Keverne
1.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
213 reviews
5.7 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
15.0 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
798 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#4 of 7 in St Keverne
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Temperance House
Old Temperance House
#1 of 7 in St Keverne
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Property: The White Hart
Address: The Square | St Keverne, St Keverne, Helston TR12 6ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > St Keverne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St Keverne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely light and airy building was once a large,private residence in the centre of the pretty village.It provides a warm and very friendly atmosphere which is enjoyed by locals and visitors alike.The guest rooms are self contained,all en suite and provide quiet and comfortable accomodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart St Keverne, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing