We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful home from home in picturesque location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Palm Cottage

A Cornish Palm tree and solid oak door welcomes you!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Cornish Palm tree and solid oak door welcomes you!
Cosy sitting area of Reception room with open fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
A Cornish Palm tree and solid oak door welcomes you!
Cosy sitting area of Reception room with open fireplace
Dining area of spacious Reception room with window seat and inglenook
From dining area tiled hallway and stable door leading to patio and garden
Well-equipped breakfast kitchen
Elegant double bedroom
Double bedroom with window seat overlooking front garden
Landing with OS Map of Lizard Peninsula; twin- bedrooms off to left and up three steps to right
Beatrix Potter twin-bedded room - beloved by children
Charming twin-bedded room overlooking garden
Path from patio to well-established garden
Spacious and safe garden for children to play
Rear of double garage and barbecue awaits.........
.............for al fresco dining!
Path from rear drive between hydrangeas and lavender
Spectacular sunset from rear garden; hopefully sunny day tomorrow!
How can you resist a holiday at exquisite Palm Cottage!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
St Keverne, Helston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HayleyAnn...
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful home from home in picturesque location”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This lovely cottage was extremely clean and well presented, and was the perfect location for a new year holiday with friends. Each of the rooms were full of character and the cottage as a whole felt really homely. The log fire in the lounge made it a very warm and comfortable place to say (although there is central heating anyway!). All three bedrooms are of a good size and there is ample living space downstairs - plenty of room for our group of 6 people. There is a pub less than a minute walk across the road with a friendly atmosphere for a change of scene (and a game of darts!) if you fancy it. There is also a large supermarket within a 10 minute drive which was really convenient for us wanting to get lots of food in for the new year period. We were at the cottage during the winter so didn't get to make use of the garden, but it was a good size and looked like it would be an excellent place for summer BBQs! I would definitely return to this lovely cottage as I would like to explore the beautiful nearby area more into the future....(when it isn't so wet and cold!). Thank you palm tree cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2016
Thank you for your kind and generous response following your stay with five other adults over the New Year period. The open fire is a popular feature with our guests throughout the year, but especially during the cooler months.
Agree with you that the pub just over the road is so convenient and has the advantage of serving real ale and very good food at a reasonable price.
We look forward to welcoming you again, perhaps during the summer, when you can use the BBQ and recommend walking the coastal footpath from Frenchmen's Creek to Helford.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Weeked”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Beautiful Cottage, comfortable and well equipped. We didn't go without anything.
The weather was perfect and scenery stunning.
Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments about Palm Cottage.
Whilst we cannot guarantee the weather on the Lizard Peninsula, the scenery, especially that on the coastal footpath, will always be stunning and hopefully we'll continue to maintain the cottage at a high standard for our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spingos
Worcestershire, England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An excellent choice”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We've stayed many times on the Lizard, and it goes without saying that we love the scenery and ambience of the whole area. This was our first time in Palm Cottage, and we were extremely pleased with our choice. The garden is delightful, and the cottage is spacious, comfortable and tastefully furnished. The Prince of Wales opposite is rather overpriced and ordinary, we felt; we much preferred The White Hart in St Keverne and for a real treat The Ship Inn at Mawgan. We found Palm Cottage an excellent centre for travelling around the peninsula and a restful haven at the end of each day.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2015
We're delighted that you enjoyed your first-ever stay in Palm Cottage, situated more or less in the centre of the Lizard Peninsula which we often think as Cornwall's secret treasure, being off the main tourist areas and relatively unspoilt.
Although you were disappointed with the local pub am pleased, though not surprised, that you found one to your liking since there are several other very good pubs and restaurants within a very short drive away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debhen40
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful cottage”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We absolutely loved Palm Cottage! It is warm, homely, extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. The owners have excellent taste - every room has lovely paintings, pottery, lamps and books and there's something interesting in every alcove.

We were a group of four generations - four women and a baby (we took our own travel cot and there was plenty of room for this). Our evenings were spent mostly at the cottage sampling local fish from Porthleven and Cadgwith - the kitchen and dining area were perfect for cooking and enjoying a family meal. When the weather was fine we made good use of the barbecue in the well-tended, private garden which has a lovely selection of plants and herbs.

Palm Cottage is in a quiet village with a handy little shop just around the corner, which even sold fresh crab when we were there. We enjoyed a drink in the Prince of Wales, just across the road on our last evening - a great pub with a good menu and very friendly atmosphere. This is a perfect location for exploring the Lizard and we would certainly love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness of the cottage
Liked least: Found it difficult to get wi-fi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Thank you for your kind and generous comments about our cottage and delighted that you all had such an enjoyable holiday.
So pleased too that you appreciated the garden and had a spell of fine weather to enjoy an al fresco meal from the barbecue.
We often eat out at The Prince of Wales since we find it so convivial and good value, not to mention the convenience of being just over the road.
We look forward to you visiting Palm Cottage again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne B
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely holiday cottage, comfortable and tasteful.”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Sometimes it pays to have faith. The photos of the cottage don't do it justice and as it was very reasonably priced my initial instincts were that it might be a little past it's best. However the reviews were glowing and seemed to be genuine so I took a chance.
What a bit of luck. This was just what we needed. A beautiful haven, furnished with love and care by someone who obviously loves this part of the world. Everything tasteful, everything easy and well thought out. Large enough to absorb us and our three teenage daughters easily and pretty enough to delight us throughout the week.
There are lots of lovely beaches and walks close by, and this is a great location for getting to many different parts of the area quickly. We were sorry to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage felt totally clean and wholesome.
Liked least: Couldn't get the DVD player going.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2015
Since a frequent comment made by our guests is that the photos on the website, taken by me, don't do justice to the reality, I've just this past week or so had some taken by a professional which are so much better and I look forward to uploading them in the near future.
I'm glad you had good faith and that you all had such an enjoyable holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjenkins9...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Years Stay in Beautiful Cornwall”
Reviewed January 23, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Myself and my partner, along with two other couples (all in our 20s) visited Palm Cottage between Christmas and New Year 2014/2015.

It was lovely, the Cottage is beautifully decorated, cosy and warm (which is definitely a plus when travelling in the Winter months). Mike left us with logs and coal to use the open fire which was just fantastic and heaters were readily available to heat the upstairs rooms if not already up to temperature from the fire.

We spent the time walking and visiting the local attractions - St Michael's Mont and Kynance Cove were definitely favourites for the group - Cornwall is utterly beautiful and worth a holiday (especially if you have a camera in tow) even in the cold and wind.

We are looking forward to visiting again and would definitely come back to Palm Cottage, the perfect holiday home, and right next to a lovely local pub!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2015
Thank you very much for your praiseworthy review about the cottage and
surrounding area during your stay over New Year.
Like all our winter guests we are pleased that you found the cottage warm and cosy.
Kynance Cove and St Michael's Mount are indeed spectacular all year round but are but two of the many beautiful places to see on the Lizard Peninsula, very near the cottage.
Agree with you The Prince of Wales pub just over the road is unspoilt, friendly and serves real ale and very good food at a reasonable price.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage, homely, comfortable and surprisingly spacious.”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This cottage is full of character with rooms on different levels, painted original uneven walls, creaky floorboards, an open fireplace in the lounge and delightful window seats. The furniture and furnishings all add to the homely feel as soon as you enter. A large, spacious kitchen (with new appliances) and twin room above almost doubled the size of the cottage without compromising quaintness. The welcome tray was very welcome after a long journey, with fresh milk in the fridge and a bowl, ball and treat for our excited cocker spaniel, Bobby. We loved the garden, the cows in the field behind and the views over to Goonhilly Earth Station. A handy village shop and petrol station round the corner and an excellent pub with real ales and good food almost opposite. It's clear that a great deal of care, attention and love have been invested in this home from home cottage. We will definitely book this cottage again when we visit The Lizard next.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage and gardens with lovely, homely, furnishings and fittings.
Liked least: We couldn't find fault with anything.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2014
Thank you for your most favourable appraisal about our cottage following your holiday there last month.

Indeed after owning Palm Cottage for over twenty years we are still surprised how deceptively spacious it is within compared to its outside appearance.

People often say to us fancy having a garden in a second home with all the maintenance etc but we love it almost as much as we adore the cottage itself.

You are also quite right to point out how useful it is to have the shop and the pub so near, the latter having fairly recently been refurbished yet still keeping its old world charm and serving very good food at a reasonable price.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing