We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Temperance House B&B St Keverne Cornall
Ranked #1 of 7 St Keverne B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We chose to spend our weeks holiday in cornwall and found the 'Old Temperance House' located in our chosen area and the website showed a house and rooms of a very high standard. So we booked four nights and eagerly awaited for our holiday to start. When we arrived in St Keverne we found the house very easily and were warmly received by Denise who was very accommodating to our needs. She showed us to our room which was furnished, prepared and cleaned to a very high standard with warm finishing touches which made you feel right at home. We were also given fresh bottled water, a small chocolate bar each (instead of pillow mints you see in the movies) on a daily basis and even a small fridge for milk they supplied (should we want it) for our cups of tea. We even had access in our ensuite to both shower and bath with all the luxuries of home, ie, very nice shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and even bubble bath etc. All made us feel more at home than other B & B's we'd stayed at previously. Both Clive and Denise were very welcoming, accommodating and easy to chat with. The breakfasts were 'fantastic' as we did not go hungry (stuffed to bursting actually) and pretty sure we ate them out of all their freshly baked (on a daily basis) croissants. The whole stay was worth the money and great for the outings we chose to do (even with the typical British summer) and we would use again if staying in the area. Was in easy drive of Poldark Mine, Lizard Lighthouse, Kynance Cove and Geevor Mine (a bit further a field) but all worth a visit. And if you like Military Aircraft, St Keverne is just down the road from RNAS Culdrose which has a public viewing point which is great to watch the guys (& gals) at work. Thanks to Denise and Clive for making our holiday one to remember. Martin and Kelly

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinKellyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Owner at Old Temperance House B&B St Keverne Cornall, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you Martin and Kelly for writing a wonderful review....... weather has improved! Thank goodness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 111 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

we stayed here for three nights whilst diving at porthkerris . when we arrived we were welcomed in by denise and clive and shown to our lovely rooms . spotlessly clean with some nice personal touches . the superb breakfast including a lovely fresh fruit mix , yoghurt , cereal ,juices, tea , or fresh coffee will set you up for the day . very helpful , if you need to know where it is or what the weather is going to be just ask . after a days diving when we got back clive also said they had a dive gear drying area as well , brilliant !. we really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend the old temperance house. thanks to denise and clive .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannik_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Owner at Old Temperance House B&B St Keverne Cornall, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dannik_9 Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review, look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

A gem of a b & b, couldn't fault it. Such a friendly welcome after hours walking in the rain & mud. Lovely rooms & a super breakfast: try the Cornish croissants!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane225566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Owner at Old Temperance House B&B St Keverne Cornall, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for your review, good luck with the completion of the South West Coast Path

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights over the jubilee celebrations as part of a diving holiday. Very friendly welcome and brilliant helpful service from Denise and Clive without being over the top or intrusive. I tried all of the luxury breakfast options - the fresh fruit plus full English was my favourite. You also get a weather forecast with your toast - cut into the appropriate shapes for cloud, sun or rain! This is one of the few places I have stayed where there has been thought put into where you hang and store your clothes and bags, plenty of hooks and space to put your stuff in the bathroom. Also fresh milk for your tea with chocolate biscuits! (Baileys Room)
It is at the higher end costwise - but I agree with the other comments that you get what you pay for and I would say it is worth it.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Owner at Old Temperance House B&B St Keverne Cornall, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for review, we enjoying having you here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We were walking the South West Coast Path in May 2012 and stayed here for 1 night. Warm hospitality and welcome by Denise. Delicious and luxury breakfast! Perfect location opposite two pubs. We loved the idea about the name of the rooms in the "old temperance" house. We were delighted!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavanee, Owner at Old Temperance House B&B St Keverne Cornall, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure looking after you both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed here for two nights recently.
Lovely location in the village square (some noise from local pub, but not too severe); immaculately elegant and clean room, bathroom, dining room etc; plenty of thoughtful touches (eg phone charger and extension leads supplied); delicious breakfast; and friendly service - even when we had to wake the proprietor late at night after leaving our keys inside!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We were walking the South West Coast Path in July 2011 and stayed here for 1 night. Warm welcome given to two drowned rats picked up from the path and dried out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coupleofwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Owner at Old Temperance House B&B St Keverne Cornall, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure to look after you both
Looking forward to have you both stay with us again
Kindest Regards Clive and Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Keverne
0 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 7 in St Keverne
13 reviews
10.4 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
510 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gallen-Treath Guest House
Gallen-Treath Guest House
#2 of 7 in St Keverne
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 7 in St Keverne
81 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Old Temperance House B&B St Keverne Cornall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Temperance House B&B St Keverne Cornall

Address: Old Temperance House The Square, St Keverne, Helston TR12 6NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > St Keverne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St Keverne
Price Range: $108 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Temperance House is a 500 yr old property. You will receive a warm welcome in this family run bed and breakfast. We are in the centre of the square in St. Keverne, where you can observe and enjoy village life all year round. There are two pubs, Greenhouse restaurant, Post Office, Newsagent, Londis Store, nearby Roskilly's, an organic working Cornish farm famous for its ice cream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Temperance House B&B St Keverne Cornall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Temperance House B&B St Keverne Cornall Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing