We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Temperance House
Ranked #1 of 7 St Keverne B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We were walking the South West Coast Path in July 2011 and stayed here for 1 night. Warm welcome given to two drowned rats picked up from the path and dried out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coupleofwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Owner at Old Temperance House, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure to look after you both
Looking forward to have you both stay with us again
Kindest Regards Clive and Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 111 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

The first thing that you see when you walk in is a sign that says 'The Warmest of Welcomes' and that is exactly what you get here. It was a delight to find somewhere like this that is run by people who clearly love what they do and enjoy dealing with people. We agree with all the positives that other reviews have reported - the cleanliness, the food, the quality of the fixtures and fittings. However, what is hardest to describe on paper is the whole feel of being there. The hosts are so welcoming and friendly that we immediately felt at home and by the time we left, after 3 days, we felt like we had known Clive and Denise for years! When we booked, we were a little unsure about paying the quoted rates for a bed and breakfast, but it's as they say - 'you get what you pay for'. It was worth every penny and we would urge everyone to give it a go.......you won't regret it. This is the only place we will stay in future when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew-Hugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavanee, Owner at Old Temperance House, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

How kind of you to write a great review for us, so pleased you enjoyed your time at O.T.H., it is lovely when guests appreciate all we do, Look forward to seeing you both again sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Denise is a wonderful host, so friendly and welcoming. Clive's breakfast is the best (he is so helpful when planning our days out)! Thank you so much for welcoming us on both occasions we have stayed with you. We will recomend you to all our friends & family.

Room Tip: The Baileys room is our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staceysmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The service is excellent, Denise and Clive are attentive, friendly and great hosts. Cooked breakfast is made using quality local produce and there is plenty of choice, including cereals and usually a delicious, healthy mix of fresh fruit and or yoghurt.

The rooms are spotless and comfortable with Tea, Coffee, Biscuits, etc and everything I need to relax (TV, DVD, CD, Radio, etc) and free WiFi if I need to work.

The Old Temperance House is in a great location on the square in St Keverne close to the shop, PO, pubs, and my office.

I stay at the OTH on a regular basis, living in Somerset and travelling to the office in St Keverne most weeks and generally I won't stay anywhere else unless all the rooms are booked and I have no choice!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a view of the square, all offer a good level of comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at OTH for the 1st two nights of our honeymoon following a recommendation from friends. We arrived quite late at night after a wonderful but very tiring wedding day and were greeted with a beautiful room (which like the rest of the house was immaculately tidy!) complete with a plate of much needed smoked salmon sandwiches and a letter of congratulations from the owners Clive and Denise. The breakfast was fantastic and if you are staying on a Sunday we can highly recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs!! The food is locally sourced, beautifully cooked and well presented. Both Clive and Denise were most welcoming, extremely friendly and really helped to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. We really feel that OTH provides superb value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlistairS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed just for one night (family funeral)...Rooms better than a number of 4star hotels I have stayed in. Bright, modern, clean rooms, A/C, internet connection and this is a B&B !! The owners could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Breakfast just kept coming, Hardly needed to eat for the rest of the day. Quiet, right on the village square, parking on the square. Two Inns on the square serve very reasonable dinners. Small Post Office and a General Store too. Top quality B&B at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavanee, Owner at Old Temperance House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at Old Temperance House with our two girls for 2 nights whilst in Cornwall for a family wedding (Aug 2011). I can't rate the place highly enough. The rooms are beautiful, spotlessly clean and with every extra you could need. Being an allergy sufferer, I very much appreciated that the beds were allergy treated and slept like a log! The breakfast was second to none, with locally sourced ingredients that were cooked to perfection. Clive and Denise are friendly, helpful and good humoured hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Being the nosey individual that I am, I had a good snoop round the accomodation booked by the other wedding guests and although some of it was very nice, none came anywhere near Old Temerperance House. We will definately be returning here and highly recommend it to anyone looking for bed and breakfast whilst staying in this area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavanee, Owner at Old Temperance House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

We enjoyed having you here with your beautifully behaved girls, Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Keverne
7.9 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
624 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
214 reviews
14.7 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
700 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#4 of 7 in St Keverne
11 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gallen-Treath Guest House
Gallen-Treath Guest House
#2 of 7 in St Keverne
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Temperance House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Temperance House

Address: Old Temperance House The Square, St Keverne, Helston TR12 6NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > St Keverne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St Keverne
Price Range: $116 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Temperance House is a 500 yr old property. You will receive a warm welcome in this family run bed and breakfast. We are in the centre of the square in St. Keverne, where you can observe and enjoy village life all year round. There are two pubs, Greenhouse restaurant, Post Office, Newsagent, Londis Store, nearby Roskilly's, an organic working Cornish farm famous for its ice cream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Temperance House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Temperance House St Keverne, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing