We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect winter retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
River Cottage at Carbis Mill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River Cottage at Carbis Mill
Kitchen Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
River Cottage at Carbis Mill
Kitchen
Dining area
Kitchen door into living room
Living room with doors to front patio
Living room with door to private back garden. Spiral staircase to gallery area
Gallery
Looking from gallery into living room
King size bed
View from bedroom
Cast iron roll top bath
Rear window in bedroom showing en suite shower room with WC and basin
View from bedroom to gallery with doorway
Rear garden
Carbis Mill with River Cottage in the background
Carbis Mill and River Cottage taken from the hill opposite
Enclosed garden at rear
Enclosed garden at rear
Carbis Mill with water wheel 1874
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Erth, Hayle, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Erica R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect winter retreat”
Reviewed February 24, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Wonderful tranquil location with great dog walking along the river that can be heard through the windows. The log burner was an asset on the cold, damp winter evenings. We received a warm welcome and friendly help from the owners during the week. We would definitely visit again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage hidden in the countryside.”
Reviewed February 3, 2018 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage is fantastic. Spacious and nicely decorated. Lots of board games and WiFi to keep us happy. Log burner available but we were there when it was very hot so we only used it for one night. The garden is just incredible. The flowers grow up to Windows upstairs and is just amazing. The dogs were cute and came in to say hello. I broke a chair on the last day and offered to pay for the replacement and was told that was not necessary. Amazing service. We had beautiful walks down the river which was literally running past the cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamcgowan
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy and secluded”
Reviewed November 19, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at this converted mill. The cottage is beautifully decorated and has everything you need, with a lovely log burner for cosy nights in. The location is great for getting out and about in Cornwall, whilst being completely secluded in a beautiful setting next to the river.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaathi
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise ;)...”
Reviewed November 12, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We have just come back from a week’s stay in this lovely cosy cottage… Although we did not get a chance to explore Cornwall as much as we wanted as our dog was unwell, the cottage itself was ideal for just chilling indoors making it a wonderful retreat due to how peaceful and serene it was. There is plenty of opportunity for nearby walks and a brilliant enclosed garden (which is great for letting the dog out) + location of the cottage is perfect for drives to the coast. I would say the cottage was fully equipped (with some great features) and both Jill and Laurel were lovely- they let us have our space but at the same time were very welcoming and helpful. Thank you very much for making our holiday a very relaxing one ;).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErikenLil...
Adorp, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spacious very nicely decorated cottage, away from the hustle and bustle.”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Perfect place to relax, tranquil quirky cottage with everything you need. The hosts did a wonderful job rebuilding and decorating tthis spacious cottage. Highly recomended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sw6bluebo...
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wow”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Honestly, we have travelled the world and this is up there with the best.
A dog friendly haven, I can't recall a more tranquil and peaceful setting.
The location and the cottage are stunning.
The decor and furnishings are of a quality very seldom found in a pet friendly holiday let. Easily the best holiday cottage in Cornwall, by far. We are definately re booking for next year. Roll on Next May.
Kevin and Julie Heavey.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2017
Julie and Kevin were friendly considerate guests with lovely dogs. They left the cottage beautifully clean and tidy too.
Look forward to seeing them next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect...Special place to stay in Cornwall!”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We wanted a place that was hidden away, peaceful, surrounded by walks and wildlife but was still well located to explore Cornwall. This place excelled at this! Firstly Jill & Laurel are lovely people, making you feel very welcome and very easy to chat with, yet they give you total privacy and leave you to your stay.
The cottage is a special place, done to a wonderful standard, log burning fire, great stand alone bath, lovely views and private gardens, with lovely walks along the stream, ideal if you have a dog too! Such a comfortable and relaxing place to come back to after a day out and about. Would definitely stay here on another visit to Cornwall! Few Tips...Worth a walk down the river to St Erth (about 15mins) nice pub for food and a drink (Let dogs in too) locals all very friendly. Use St Erth train station for going into St Ives, so cheap to park and takes 10mins and saves the hassle of parking and driving through St Ives. And finally, make sure you meet the crazy old English sheep dog that sits outside another cottage and chases your car down the lane to your cottage...never got tired of it and made us laugh everytime! :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing