We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
38
18
6
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
18
6
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub fish and chips st ives comfortable room night stay cooked breakfast landlord hosts accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 68 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Stayed in the small room at the back of the pub.
It smelled of damp, our clothes also smelled damp after staying one night.
1/2 toilet roll provided.
Staff didn't seem interested in helping with info
Extremely overpriced, we paid near £100
Pub garden was nice thats about it

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

I know it’s a bit early, but things just might be on the way up for the old Star Inn in St Erth.
They have a fairly wide choice at the pump with regularly changing guest ales, all of which come out of the pipes fresh and clean.
Food is a bit limited at the moment with a ‘fish and chip shop’ style service in the evenings from Thursday through the weekend. The prices are good, the quality better and the portions are huge!
It has been cleaned up inside with new furniture and flooring, however it has been done quite sympathetically to keep in with the history and style of the ‘village’ pub.
The garden is a great find with bbq and marquee available. They are keen to open it up to all types of events.
There is accommodation here and other reviews seem favourable however I have not stayed here.
They remain ‘dog friendly’, essential for a village pub with many walkways nearby.
I am impressed with their ‘slow and steady’ attitude with respect to the future of the pub, too many past incumbents have come in trying to change the world in a fortnight and crashed by the wayside.
A new pool table, re-sited to a better area together with a new dartboard shows support for local pub leagues.
The Star will never be a major tourist hit but it has the potential to be a great little village pub, providing the locals and local holiday cottage renters take advantage of it. The village is crying out for a focal point; fingers crossed this might be it.

Room Tip: Not stayed, but other reviews are positive.
Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 316shaunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star I, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Thank you for your honest and truthful review.
It’s nice to see our efforts have been noticed :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

A very quaint and traditional pub with 2 guest rooms .Martin and Darlene have only taken over a month ago and are adding there touch to the bar and room's.
A most friendly and genuine couple and will do anything to make a stay memorable Evan down to a personal birthday card .Martin makes a great breakfast to set you up for the day .recently they have started fish and chip shop 3 nights thur to sat evening and food is available in the evenings .The pub is 20 mins walk to the station where you can get to st Ives and Penzance within 15 minutes .we will be back soon

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank djstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star I, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Thank you. E loved having you here and look forward to seeing you again x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2018

I stayed at the Star Inn for one night. I had messed up the reservation, but the staff soon put it right and a room was found for me. The room was bright, spacious, warm and clean. The pub attracts a lot of local clientele -- very warm and friendly. I didn't have an evening meal but the full English breakfast the next morning was definitely up tp standard. I would return!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2018

I booked this place to visit friends. It was absolutely terrible. We arrived at 7:30 wanting a meal, the man behind the bar said normally you could but the chef hadn’t turned up,so we drove into Hayle and had to have fish and chips. The room was basic, toilet was dirty. The whole place felt dirty and unkempt. Everything was dated. Breakfast was good for full English but poached eggs rubbish, cut it open and water flooded the toast, coffee was so weak it looked like dishwater, the breakfast was served with host in slippers and we were left to get on, didn’t come to see if we were ok. It just felt really grubby. This is a pretty place and it is sad to see it go to rack and ruin. I WILL NOT BE RETURNING.

Room Tip: Don’t bother
Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews