We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a warm welcome!”
Review of Star Inn

Star Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 St Erth B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Lisa & Mike offer a super bed and breakfast venue. They are warm and welcoming. The room was spotless and the bed really comfortable. We stayed over the bank holiday weekend, and had a great time. The food was delicious. There was a live band on Friday, and a pub quiz on the Sunday. The locals are great too.Breakfasts were huge, and the evening meals were amazng. Very reasonabley priced too - and such good variety.

Room Tip: Small and friendly. Only 2 rooms. Both en- suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 62 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

I took my two daughters and son in law to the Star Inn for lunch today (Saturday) We took my grand-daughter (7 weeks old ) too. The pub was clean, fresh, well stocked and a friendly welcome was extended to us. The menu was supplemented with a specials board which was well chosen and while not extensive was still varied. Our meals were sensibly priced and when they came they were worth every penny. We were all impressed, and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Visited the star on good Friday,we were doing the ale trail, the star is on it. Had a pint of local ale, nice, service excellent, homemade pasty 10/10! Apparently I have to use 200 characters so please ignore this sentence.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank kernowlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Lovely food and excellent real ale.. My sirloin was cooked to perfection and the cask ales was fresh and crisp. The landlord,landlady, bar staff couldn't do enough for me and I will defiantly return to this pub again. I hope it works out for your new adventure:)

Electrical guy...

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Machynlleth ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Popped in on a Saturday afternoon on the way home from st Ives and the food was exceptional. The service was excellent and the owners were really friendly and welcoming . Will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We are frequent visitors to the Star and have had many a lovely evening dining and catching up with friends, but our last visit was quite different. It was a quiet Tuesday evening and we took our daughter for a bite to eat and to meet the new landlords who had recently taken over. I appreciate that it will take time to settle inn and find their feet but this visit was so different to our other visits. We were the only people eating in the pub but still had to wait over 45mins for our food, when it did finally arrive the Star Burger was quite frankly cremated, the chicken breast and bacon in it was so over cooked that you couldnt cut it. My pie came out with lots of lovely mash and veg but no gravy. Normally the staff would come over after a few minutes and ask if everything was ok but not anymore, I didnt complain as we had waited so long for our food I didnt have time for it to be cooked again. When the waitress came to clear our meal she asked if it was ok and we explained that it wasnt she was very apologetic and said she would mention it to the landlady. It still took the landlady another 10 mins to come over and see us and she already knew as it isnt a big pub and she would have heard us during our meal discussing it but still chose to ingnore us.To top it all when we went to pay the bill she over charged us by £2. Not really a people person, the offer of a free coffee might have been nice. Unfortunately a huge contrast to the previous Landlords. Such a shame :-(

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank SmartyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

So sorry about your experiance with us, we are new to this business and were still finding our feet. We are improving all the time and hope this will not put you off in the future.
We did have a few problems in the kitchen and you should have been aware of this, we can only apologise for this. We hope that if you return your experiance will be a pleasent one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I visited this pub twice in the last two days and both times I received amazing service. I thoroughly recommend the Lamb Shank if it is available on the specials. There was a new heating system being installed on the second day I visited, so there will be no huddling around the wood burner from now on. I will definitely visit again next time I'm travelling down the A30. Please note that I did not stay at the B&B, as it was currently under refurbishment!

Room Tip: Rooms are being refurbished (Feb '14) so my guess is that they will be of a great quality once c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank HotelDw3ller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Erth
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
258 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
749 reviews
2.4 mi away
Old Vicarage
Old Vicarage
#2 of 3 in St Hilary
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Tamarisk Bed & Breakfast
Tamarisk Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 15 in Hayle
1 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old Quay House
The Old Quay House
#4 of 15 in Hayle
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn

Address: 1 Church Street, St Erth, Hayle TR27 6HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle > St Erth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Erth
Price Range: $69 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Inn Cornwall/St Erth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing