We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic entertainment great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penwith Pitch and Putt

Penwith Pitch and Putt
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in St Erth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic entertainment great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Four of us visited one evening for a go on their crazy golf which despite being on a humid evening when the ants were swarming was great fun, and superb value at £1.00 per person. We didn't have a chance to try the cakes that they were baking as they were about to close, so resolved to return. Returning two days later we chose to try the Pitch and putt which although £6.00 per head represented great value for money. Great weather helped, but the condition of the course and the greens was superb and our lack of golfing talent did not prevent us all from having a brilliant morning. The lemon polenta cake and chocolate brownies with tea in the Cafe afterwards were all superb. Thoroughly recommended for families, groups of youngsters or folks who don't take their golf too seriously.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woolacombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Super day!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Small family run site. Really good value for money. We played 2 rounds of crazy golf before we did the pitch and putt. All was great fun. The owner and his wife run the place superbly and her baking is to dream for. Super food. Great value for money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joleen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very poor gone seriously down-hill”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Have played the 18 hole pitch and putt course regularly every summer since about 1993 and it has always been good for what it is. Short holes in reasonable condition at a reasonable price.

Sadly that all seems to have changed this year. We took our two children, one is 11 and the other is 8. The 11 year old plays but this is still beyond the 8 year old. Last year we payed for 3 balls, my wife pitched the ball towards the green and then the younger son putted for her. To do this we payed for 2 adults and one child as we were only playing 3 balls. This year we were told if we wanted to do this we would have to pay for 2 adults and 2 children, therefore paying for 4 people when only playing 3 balls.

Also, the condition of the course was dreadful. The grass cover was thin to non-existant in places, and where there was grass it was cut very poorly, with the clippings not collected and left in mounds all over tthe place. The owners (new I think) seem to have pulled off the remarkable trick of having large areas of dry cracked soil, with no grass at all in the middle of one of the wettest summers we have seen. Most of the greens have large ares of dead grass with no coverage at all.

A real shame, as we have enjoyed visiting this course over nearly 20 years, but I am afraid we will not be back.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nottingham_Geyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

son always enjoys visiting here whilst visiting cornwall, we always have a very enjoyable afternoon on the pitch and putt, then have a quick game of crazy golf.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank ruthm62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,297 reviews
477 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4,248 helpful votes
“Decent course, always a good couple of hours.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

I have visited this course for several years now, and always enjoyed my round there. The holes (9 in total) are approximately 80 to 130 yards, mainly flat but with some slight inclines. The scenery around the course is good, and there are some hedges etc to be avoided on some holes. The greens are always well looked after and the fairways well cut; service is friendly too. Overall a good course.

Visited April 2010
Helpful?
4 Thank chammp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penwith Pitch and Putt also viewed

 

Been to Penwith Pitch and Putt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing