We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B - one of the best ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redgate Smithy B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Cleer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Redgate Smithy B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 St Cleer B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B - one of the best ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights over the May Day bank holiday. What can we say - it was one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed at - and we stay at a lot of them even if we don't write that many reviews! The rooms were comfortable and spotless. The hosts (including Brydy the dog) were so welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was delicious - and with so much choice on offer. Truly outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
35
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic stay! Fabulous food and excellent hosts, made to feel really welcome both us and our dog. Lots of personal touches such as tea and biscuits and a dog biscuit and blanket in our room and home made tea and muffins on arrival! Location is ideal as there is so much to do and see - plenty of beautiful walks within walking distance all routes and maps provided in your room along with a list of good places to eat that are dog friendly or not, so need to worry about leaving your 4 legged friend behind. Julie and Clive were so welcoming and friendly it was like staying in a home from home! Beautiful house with a typical English country garden feel about it. We loved it and will definitly be back! Thank you so much! Jennie, Ben and Penny (Essex, UK) 5th May 2012

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We chose Redgate Smithy as it was on a "Dog Friendly" website, & boy are they dog friendly! On arrival we were shown to the Garden Room, which had a dog blanket & bowl waiting for our pooch.
Julie & Clive had also put together great information in the room, including walks & places to eat that welcomed dogs.
Breakfast is fantastic - try the full Cornish if you dare! We didn't need to eat until the evening!!
The accomodation is cosy & spotlessly clean & Clive & Julie are wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them.
We'll definately recommend this to friends with or without dogs as it's a fab place to stay in a really great location.

Room Tip: The Garden room is lovely with veiws out over the gardens, it does have it's own private bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed there in 2010 and I recently joined Trip Advisor, so am writing my review now almost two years later - it was THAT GOOD! Clive and Julie are the ultimate hosts at a lovely property, in a perfect location. Oh, and FOOD!!! Let me say, this B&B serves the best food! Cornwall -- I can't sing its praises loud enough! I lost my wallet in the area and it was recovered with all of my cash, credit cards and everything! My only complaint is that our stay was too short. We had other locations on our itinerary and had to leave... we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nighthawkjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampsire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

I chose Redgate Smithy because it was on a 'dog friendly holiday' web site,we recieved a warm welcome, the room was perfect and breakfasts were first rate,there was plenty of information on what to see or do on hand and also friendly advice from our hosts.
The location of the accomodation is perfect for dog walking and sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

A superb B&B totaly faultless.You are made very welcome with tea coffee and chocolate squares.The whole establishment is spotless throughout with more than enough information about local activities. The feeling of being pampered in your own home springs to mind. The many breakfast options are incredable as is the presentation and taste of the well cooked food.

Room Tip: Pick the garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRGPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedgerley, Bucks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We chose Redgate Smithy because it was dog friendly and close to Golitha Falls, not realising we were about to stay in the best b+b possible! A wonderful warm welcome from the owners (and Brydy) soon showed us that we had chosen well. A beautiful location, brilliant hosts, lovely room and perfect for our spaniel as well! Breakfast was amazing and the dog sitting service gave both us and Charlie a fabulous day! The attention to detail and the information provided on the local area was excellent; we would highly recommend the Crows Nest Inn for dinner. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Cleer hotels
1.3 mi away
Trecarne House
Trecarne House
#1 of 1 in St Cleer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Redgate Smithy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redgate Smithy B&B

Property: Redgate Smithy B&B
Address: Redgate | St Cleer, Liskeard, Cornwall, St Cleer PL14 6RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Cleer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in St Cleer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redgate Smithy B&B is a 200 year old converted Smithy, situated just above the beautiful Golitha Falls on the southern edge of Bodmin Moor in Cornwall. We have three cottage style rooms available; our Double En-suite room, our "Garden Double" room (with Private Bathroom) that overlooks the garden, and a Single En-suite room. We provide an extensive and tasty breakfast menu, served in the light and airy conservatory overlooking the garden, and there are excellent pubs and restaurants locally for your evening meals. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing