We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Cornwall Base”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Porthpean Beach 3 Miles
Fowey 8 Miles
Eden Project 5 miles
Mevagissey 6 Miles
Padstow
St Micheals Mount
St Ives
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Austell, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
glennmart...
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Cornwall Base”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This apartment has everything you need. It is a thoughtfully designed space that has all the mod cons. The washer/ dryer was a real blessing as we had been travelling & staying in B&Bs..Janice was very welcoming even down to the bottle of Aussie wine. We were able to explore parts of Cornwall using this wonderful apartment as our base.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2017
Hi Guys
Thank you so much for the review and if your ever "up top" hopefully you'll stay with us again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus K
1 review
“Great time in St. Austell”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Wonderful flat with a stunning view!!! Mark and Janice are great hosts! Perfect flat, a real home from home. Everything looks new. Very quiet and peacefull! Hope to come back soon!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2017
Hi Guys, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay, look forward to your return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeardieWe...
Bristol UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An excellent apartment”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We came here for 3 nights, to visit The Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan, like several previous reviewers - and, like them, we enjoyed our stay at the Gyllyl Flat. Very comfortable, very welcoming and very convenient too (nearest shops and eateries within 5 minutes walk, the centre of St Austell within 10.) With plenty more to explore in the area, we'd look to coming back here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2017
Thanks Guys, so glad you enjoyed your stay, looking forward to you returning
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaykay66
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A gem ciscovered”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed in the Gylly flat for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is truly a 5 Star holiday rental and is of exceptional standards.
It really does have everything for a short break or even longer. It has a large lounge diner area which has all mod cons for self catering.
The bedroom is also large and the bed is one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in.
The bathroom contains wash basin, heated towel rail, toilet and a very large shower ( which you won't want to get out of ! ).
The flat is a credit to the owners Jan and Mark,who are very friendly and helpful and the welcome pack of milk, Cornish cream and wine helped us to settle in straight away.
The flat is situated in a quiet hilly area so a car is a must. However it is is easy reach of the local attractions such as the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Haligan, St .Austell is in easy reach of places like St. Ives, Padstow, and Falmouth which makes the flat ideally situated.
We enjoyed it so much that we tend to come back next year again, only this time for just a little longer.
We can highly recommend the Gylly flat to anyone visiting the area. You will not be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2017
Hi Guys, many thanks for your review, look forward to you coming again
kindest regards
Mark and Jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine m
1 review
“Lovely 3 night stay”
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a lovely time at the apartment. Everything was perfectly designed and very sleek. It was very quiet to and peaceful. The shower is great. And we had been given a lovely bottle of wine and clotted cream on arrival and had coffee and tea and milk already there to make a nice cup of coffee on arrival. We loved it. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2017
Thank you Sabine, hope you can come back again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel-Sh...
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2016

Firstly I want to apologise to Mark and Janice for such a late review, it was only now when looking to book a visit to their beautiful apartment again that I noticed I did not leave a review last year.

Simply put, if you are looking for an apartment in this area of Cornwall then I suggest that you book this one right now, I do not believe you would get any accommodation as amazing as this one for such reasonable money anywhere else, no matter how hard you look.

The owners are lovely and give you all the relevant information for check in at the time of your booking. They seem more than happy to answer any questions you may have and share their local knowledge with you. There is also a very well put together information pack inside the apartment that I found incredibly helpful.

The location is up a pretty and quite lane away from any local noise and is perfectly situated to visit all of Cornwall. And although the apartment is next door to the owners house you have complete privacy along with your own decking outside the back of the apartment.

Now, the apartment its self is brilliant. The decoration is nicely done with a modern theme and in perfect condition. Inside is everything you could possible need including a fully equipped kitchen, hair dryer, DVD player etc. It has great amount of space and is somewhere that you can truly make home during you stay.

We will definitely be visiting again in the future.

Thank you for helping make our holiday so awesome with such a perfect place to stay.

Dan and Erin Shenton

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2017
Hi Guys
Many thanks for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again
Kindest regards Mark and Jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfectly peaceful, modern and spacious”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We chose this flat as it was ideally situated for visiting relatives. Beautifully presented, all mod cons and gorgeous bathroom, especially the shower. Flat was warm and cosy and more spacious than it looks from the pictures.
Very peaceful and the bed is extremely comfy.
The christmas touches along with the wine, milk and cream were greatly appreciated. We hope to be back soon!
Many thanks
Julie and Dean

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2017
Hi Julie and Dean
Many thanks for choosing our apartment and it will be great to see you again, take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing