We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Anchorage House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchorage House
Ranked #6 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Travelled from Eastbourne to St Austell for a few nights break to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary, and after a long 6 hour drive it was great to be greeted by the lovely owners of the B&B. We were shown our room, the outside courtyard room - which it amazing, then we had tea and cake waiting for us in the extension building next to our room.
The swimming pool was fantastic, and because there are only 5 rooms in total - and no kids allowed, it was so private. We were the only ones using it at the times we went in.
The full breakfast was lovely, and the room was always cleaned well and prepared for us for the evening. Even little details that you wouldn't expect were there, such as our own champagne glasses that we bought with us were cleaned for us, ready and waiting for us the next evening, and fresh bowl of peanuts and chocolates for us by our bed.
Steve and Jane are fantastic hosts, so helpful and welcoming. We even made friends with the resident cat, Mimi!
We will definatly be returning next year :)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levimitzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 252 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

Just stayed at the Anchorage Guest House at St Austell Wow.
We were greeted by mine hosts Steve and Jane at the front door when we arrived,who immediately offered us refreshments.
My wife and I have stayed in Hotels all over the world, but we have never been made to feel so welcome anywhere before. It is no wonder Steve and Jane have won so many accolades. The house is spotless and the pool fantastic. We were lucky enough to have booked the Sensational Suite over 2 floors. Jane's attention to detail is rare. The windows were open giving it a lovely airy feel. There is absolutely nothing negative I can add. The food is excellent and so well presented with friendly service. Nothing is too much trouble for this couple. Steve and Jane are more than happy to arrange for restaurants and Public houses near by as they are not licensed,plus they will arrange taxis for you to get there and back, and they have an excellent knowledge of the area and will help with any questions you have. The indoor pool is excellent for a refreshing dip after a day sightseeing or before breakfast to work up an appetite. There is some excersize equipement if you are feeling really energetic, a sauna and a hot tub. What more could you want or need. Steve and Jane are perfect hosts and are friendly and welcoming and not at all overpowering but friendly. We will definately be going back to see them again. Thanks for letting us stay in your lovely home Steve and Jane , Clean, comfortable, restfull and good food. What a fantastic weekend. See you soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazangelkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Great hosts, beautiful room, peace & quiet. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, Steve & Jane. Maps to the Eden Project, booking of restaurants & taxis.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bullshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

I echo the words of the previous few reviews, we loved this B&B. We stayed at other B&B's on our trip around cornwall but considering we payed similar prices nothing compared to the warmth and little extras that Steve and Jane provided to make our stay special. We actually felt like we were being pampered, home made walnut biscuits, chocolates left for us when the bed was turned down for the evening, beautiful toiletries and fresh milk in the fridge, water for our journey and lots more. The pool is gorgeous, warm and very tranquil with fluffy towels which smelt lovely. Honestly it was like staying in a 5 * hotel but without the stuffiness.

We stayed in 'Charming' room which had a huge bed, huge bath and walk in shower ...oh how we missed this when we were at the next B&B where we had a trickle of water in a cubicle you couldn't turn round in! The breakfast was perfect especially the home made granola with gorgeous yoghurts and of the course the full english!

We went to the Eden project and the lost gardens and really enjoyed both, being out of season they were very quiet, the cornish coast is just incredible make sure you visit some of the national trust coastline it is breathtaking. We saw a huge colony of seals and beaches of sand that stretched for miles with bright blue seas, after many miles of walking we did partake in the cornish cream tea once or twice.

Steve and Jane obviously work incredibly hard to ensure their business is a success, it clearly is very demanding but chatting to them they obviously love making a difference to their guest's holidays, thank you for a wonderful time, we definitely will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We have just returned from a three-night stay at the beautiful Anchorage House and can sum up our experience in just one word.........heavenly perfection!

Ok, ok..that's two words, but it was good enough to deserve the extra one,

We arrived on Friday, after a 6 hour drive down from Cambridgeshire, to a lovely warm welcome and some delicious coffee cake and tea in the lounge. What a lovely welcome which set the tone for the rest of the stay.

The primary purpose of our trip to Cornwall was to revisit the Eden Project (we first went just after it opened and were looking forward to seeing how it had changed), and to visit the Lost Gardens of Heligan. Steve and Jane were able to give us invaluable information to help maximise our visits to these fantastic attractions, including maps, 'insider' tips and general advice. Steve showed us a walking route to Eden which was not only a beautiful and scenic walk (about 40 mins) but also gave us a considerable saving on Eden's entry price (just take proof you walked - a map, route etc). After a long, and fantastic, day at Eden, we returned to our own oasis of calm at Anchorage for a swim in the beautiful (and lovely and warm) pool and a relaxing soak in the new hot-tub. What absolute heaven.

We stayed in the Stunning room which was stunning in everyway, from deep pile carpets to a HHUuuuuuge bed and a beautifully appointed and luxuriously decorated bathroom with free standing bath and power shower. But it was the little details that thrust Anchorage house ahead of the competition - a jar of peanut cookies on the antique writing desk - which in itself, was a beautiful and rare feature - fresh milk in the fridge, TV, DVD and CD players (with some classical CDs) in the room, robes and flip-flops for trips to the pool, a sweetie or chocolate by the bed on return at night. All lovely touches that made us feel that we were really being looked after.

Breakfast was a joy - fresh coffee, hot toast, homemade granola, fruits, cereals, fantastic cooked breakfasts - all served with relaxing background music in the beautiful conservatory. A great way to start the day.

Like all good travellers, we like to read the reviews on Trip Advisor, both before and after our stay, and I truly cannot see why anyone would give Anchorage House anything other than full marks on all counts. I guess the old adage of not being able to please all of the people, all of the time is true, but Anchorage House must come pretty close.

We had a fantastic stay and would like to thank Steve and Jane for their wonderful hospitality. We are already planning our return visit to Cornwall for the Autumn, and will definitely book up to stay at Anchorage House again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveandTina_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Myself and my husband have just returned from the Anchorage House Bed and Breakfast in St Austell. We went for our 1st wedding anniversary hoping for something special and Anchorage House did not disappoint. The hosts Jane and Steve are very welcoming and as soon as you arrive you are offered a nice cup of tea and a slice of cake. Their house is amazing and we stayed in the 'Sensational' Suite which is sensational! All the little touches are there and the rooms themselves are pure luxury. The breakfast is fantastic and more than enough to set you up for the day. It is in such a beautiful area and just as I had imagined it to be around Cornwall. We walked to the Eden Project (it is normally a nice short stroll but my husband decided against asking for any direction off Steve and so we went about it rather a long way!) There are a few reasonable pubs to eat within walking distance but I must reccommend Austells (which Jane and Steve are more than happy to arrange for reservations and taxis). The food was fabulous and a lovely atmosphere. Really nice place for something special. Overall I would thoroughly reccommend Anchorage House and we will be returning again!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IzmirTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We recently stayed at Anchorage House for 3 nights and were so sad to leave. We had stayed many years ago and had always wanted to go back. We thought it was perfect before but they've added so many amenities it's even better now. Everything is 5-Star all the way - so much more than a typical B & B. Our room was amazing. So comfortable and beautifully decorated. Everything you could think of was provided including a fridge, big flat screen TV with 100’s of channels, and a GLORIOUS bed. Steve and Jane warmly welcomed us into their home and were most helpful. They helped us by arranging taxis and restaurant reservations, and provided maps and directions to the places we wanted to see (and even some we didn't know about before coming to Cornwall!). We enjoyed interesting conversations with them and other guests over afternoon tea and wonderful breakfasts. Between the countryside and the company it was just a perfect way to end our long holiday. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misplacedtexan923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.1 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
529 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.3 mi away
CLC Trenython Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage House

Address: Nettles Corner | Tregrehan Mills, St Austell PL25 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: $169 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anchorage House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchorage House is a luxurious small, private, national award-winning bed and breakfast, and the ultimate in Cornwall, Eden Project and child-free accommodation, offering huge beds and bathtubs, heated indoor swimming pool, small gym, free Wi-Fi and much more. Special attention to detail and flair are evident everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Anchorage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing