We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly enjoyable stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchorage House
Ranked #6 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

My partner and I spent a weekend here and were delighted with the warm, friendly service, the clean and luxurious room, and the delicious breakfasts! The pool facillities are also fantastic, and we recommend a morning/evening swim.

Steve and Jane make excellent hosts and we recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to stay in the St Austell area.

Room Tip: We had the smallest room which was absolutely sufficient in size, and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    7
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
196
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just returned from a fab few days in Cornwall - stayed at this establishment with my partner for a special birthday treat- couldn't fault it. Would give it six points if I could!
Steve and Jane very helpful and attentive - booking restaurants/taxis and generally making us feel very welcome. Our room had everything we needed and was spotless. Some lovely extra touches - tea and cake on arrival-personal introduction to resident feline guest Mimi- sweeties and biscuits in room- appearance of champagne glasses when required - breakfast to order - in fact best hotel cooked eggs ever!
Bed and bath of enormous proportion and both very comfortable. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Steve and Jane are the perfect hosts and could not have been more helpful if they tried. The quality of the room we stayed in was by far the largest bed and breakfast room we have ever stayed in, and was surprisingly larger than the photographs on their easy to use web site indicated.
We hadn't given an arrival time and although were able to check in from 3.30, didn't arrive until about 5.00, however Steve was very welcoming and keen to show us our room and explain everything.
We had decided to eat out on the first night and went to the Rashleigh having previously found it on the web. Steve gave us a map and indicated an alternative route which albeit slightly longer than expected was a better walk and we were able to see the posher parts of St. Austell.
The Pool is great and Steve was up early to take the covers off when we'd said we'd use it in the morning at 7.30, both days plus on the Saturday afternoon.
Breakfasts were excellent although slightly surprised to just have Poached eggs with no toast! There was a good choice and plenty of Tea and Toast.
The room was well equipped with large flat screen tv and plenty of digital channels. plus dvd player etc. I would say that if you wanted to watch a dvd the choice wasn't vast and seemed to have a nautical theme, probably due to Steve being an ex-US navy Commander!
Mimi the cat came into our room on a couple of occasions and also enjoyed the luxurious rugs as she must have done on previous occasions.
Although our room faced onto the main road, the double glazing more than kept the noise out, however if the weather had been more July-like and windows were open, it may have been different. The one negative in the room was a strong smell of vanilla which may have been to some peoples taste but not ours, so we did keep windows open when possible
Overall we'd definitely recommend this B and B and hopefully will return in the future

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TauntonRichard1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed in separate annex which gave. Us flexibility to come and go as we pleased
I enjoyed the pool and outdoor hot hot tub and pool though they were only available on restricted hours.
Remember this is a b&b not a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkTraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just got back from two nights at Anchorage House and have to say that this is a superb B&B with great hosts. Steve and Jane greet you with such a warm welcome and ensure your stay is a great experience. The pool is lovely, breakfast delicious and the room we had, named Desireable, was modern and perfect for us. This room allows a more flexible stay as it is not attached to the main house and you can come and go as you please. We will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Desireable is modern and gives you flexibility to come and go as you please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just arrived back in London after three days at Anchorage House. If you have identified this as a place to stay while visiting St Austell or the Eden Peoject - Congratulations - you will not be disappointed! Steve and Jane are wonderful hosts and lovely people. Just don't tell everybody as I may not be able to get a room next time!!...

Room Tip: As others have said rooms are all bespoke so have a look at the website before you book
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay, we were welcomed on arrival with home-made fresh lemon cake and tea and we were then shown around. We stayed in the Desirable Suite which is seperate to the main building and this room is very big and well dressed. Steve and Jane are more than happy to go that extra mile and their recommendations for eating out were spot on. They also take care of the booking of tables should you wish them to do so. In the mornings the breakfast options are vast from home-made compote's to full English breakfasts all cooked fresh and to your liking. Overall we had a wonderful holiday but Steve, Jane and Anchorage house made it that bit more special.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be unique, I advise you to visit the Anchorage house website and read all abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage House

Property: Anchorage House
Address: Nettles Corner | Tregrehan Mills, St Austell PL25 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anchorage House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchorage House is a luxurious small, private, national award-winning bed and breakfast, and the ultimate in Cornwall, Eden Project and child-free accommodation, offering indulgent bistro suppers, huge beds and bathtubs, heated indoor swimming pool, small gym, free Wi-Fi and much more. Special attention to detail and flair are evident everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Anchorage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing