We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainy weekend in July!”
Review of Anchorage House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchorage House
Ranked #6 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Steve and Jane are the perfect hosts and could not have been more helpful if they tried. The quality of the room we stayed in was by far the largest bed and breakfast room we have ever stayed in, and was surprisingly larger than the photographs on their easy to use web site indicated.
We hadn't given an arrival time and although were able to check in from 3.30, didn't arrive until about 5.00, however Steve was very welcoming and keen to show us our room and explain everything.
We had decided to eat out on the first night and went to the Rashleigh having previously found it on the web. Steve gave us a map and indicated an alternative route which albeit slightly longer than expected was a better walk and we were able to see the posher parts of St. Austell.
The Pool is great and Steve was up early to take the covers off when we'd said we'd use it in the morning at 7.30, both days plus on the Saturday afternoon.
Breakfasts were excellent although slightly surprised to just have Poached eggs with no toast! There was a good choice and plenty of Tea and Toast.
The room was well equipped with large flat screen tv and plenty of digital channels. plus dvd player etc. I would say that if you wanted to watch a dvd the choice wasn't vast and seemed to have a nautical theme, probably due to Steve being an ex-US navy Commander!
Mimi the cat came into our room on a couple of occasions and also enjoyed the luxurious rugs as she must have done on previous occasions.
Although our room faced onto the main road, the double glazing more than kept the noise out, however if the weather had been more July-like and windows were open, it may have been different. The one negative in the room was a strong smell of vanilla which may have been to some peoples taste but not ours, so we did keep windows open when possible
Overall we'd definitely recommend this B and B and hopefully will return in the future

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TauntonRichard1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 252 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed in separate annex which gave. Us flexibility to come and go as we pleased
I enjoyed the pool and outdoor hot hot tub and pool though they were only available on restricted hours.
Remember this is a b&b not a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UkTraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just got back from two nights at Anchorage House and have to say that this is a superb B&B with great hosts. Steve and Jane greet you with such a warm welcome and ensure your stay is a great experience. The pool is lovely, breakfast delicious and the room we had, named Desireable, was modern and perfect for us. This room allows a more flexible stay as it is not attached to the main house and you can come and go as you please. We will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Desireable is modern and gives you flexibility to come and go as you please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LillyP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just arrived back in London after three days at Anchorage House. If you have identified this as a place to stay while visiting St Austell or the Eden Peoject - Congratulations - you will not be disappointed! Steve and Jane are wonderful hosts and lovely people. Just don't tell everybody as I may not be able to get a room next time!!...

Room Tip: As others have said rooms are all bespoke so have a look at the website before you book
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay, we were welcomed on arrival with home-made fresh lemon cake and tea and we were then shown around. We stayed in the Desirable Suite which is seperate to the main building and this room is very big and well dressed. Steve and Jane are more than happy to go that extra mile and their recommendations for eating out were spot on. They also take care of the booking of tables should you wish them to do so. In the mornings the breakfast options are vast from home-made compote's to full English breakfasts all cooked fresh and to your liking. Overall we had a wonderful holiday but Steve, Jane and Anchorage house made it that bit more special.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be unique, I advise you to visit the Anchorage house website and read all abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed two nights at Anchorage House. Jane and Steve were more than polite and made us feel absolutely comfortable and relaxed. The facilities are great and both Jane and Steve have worked hard to achieve such high standards and offer an amazing environment in the country. The room we stayed "Desirable" had a huge bed, a lot of space and it was greatly decorated. it was kept very clean all the time we stayed there. I would absolutely recommend Anchorage House and i am already considering to visit it again in the near future.

Hint: Jane's cooking skills are beyond perfection!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A_Petsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We spent two nights at Anchorage House. Beautiful house, warm, homely, delightful hosts, Jane and Steve make you feel like one of the family. The pool and gym area great. Delicious food, spotlessly clean, a totally relaxed stay is guaranteed. Nothing is too much trouble and restaurants bookings made as needed etc. An absolute must to visit again.

Room Tip: The house is fairly secluded, windows double glazed so expect all are quiet. All very tasteful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine Annet... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
0.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
2.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
385 reviews
4.7 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage House

Address: Nettles Corner | Tregrehan Mills, St Austell PL25 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: $156 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anchorage House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchorage House is a luxurious small, private, national award-winning bed and breakfast, and the ultimate in Cornwall, Eden Project and child-free accommodation, offering huge beds and bathtubs, heated indoor swimming pool, small gym, free Wi-Fi and much more. Special attention to detail and flair are evident everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Anchorage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing