We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and breakfast doesn't get better than this!”
Review of Anchorage House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchorage House
Ranked #6 of 96 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Martock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Bed and breakfast doesn't get better than this!”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We only stayed 2 nights but could have easily stayed longer if we had been able to take more holiday. This was perfect from start to finish. Steve and Jane are attentive hosts and their attention to detail lifts this B & B to the sublime. Our room (named Charming) was comfortable and beautifully furnished with a huge bathroom which was almost as big as the room. Everything you expected to find in a hotel room was there and excellent quality (Elemis toiletries). The breakfasts are excellent - a buffet and a wide variety of cooked items. We chose this B & B primarily to visit the Eden Project and we were delighted to find it within walking distance (just over a mile). Steve kindly provided us with a map and the route he showed us took us through a pretty village and winding country lanes. He and Jane also recommended some first rate places to eat. A super place to stay - I am sure we will go back there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    7
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
208
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed for two nights and wished it could have been longer. The Anchorage is a B&B which also offers a choice of dinners. Our choice was superbly cooked and the chance to bring our own wine to accompany was great. There are plenty of pubs/restaurants close by although we didn't try them. Five rooms are available, ours was the smallest but plenty big enough to fit a king sized (super comfy) bed etc. We had a sneaky peak at the other rooms and they were even more fabulous. There is a spotlessly clean lap pool (temperature 86 degrees) which we thoroughly enjoyed. We didn't try the exercise bikes but they looked to be fairly new and properly maintained. The B&B is within walking distance of The Eden Project and a short car journey from The Lost Gardens of Heligan.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stew_Sue10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Have just returned home after a wonderful two night stay at Anchorage House. Everything about it was perfect. It was peaceful, comfortable and luxurious. Jane and Steve were fantastic hosts and incredibly helpful. On our first night we were given a map by Steve and walked along the coast to Charlestown, a wonderfully picturesque old harbour, and ate at Wreckers which was great. Breakfast was fantastic, there's a great swimming pool and there's plenty to see and do in the surrounding area. We visited St Mawes and took the passenger ferry to Falmouth which was lovely day out. We stayed in the desirable room which was to one side of the main house, very peaceful and private. A wonderful and relaxing stay. Thank you Jane and Steve!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willp035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

A lovely house, beautiful bedrooms..the attention to detail is second to none.
The whole place is spotless and the breakfast lovely, it set us up for the day,
could'nt eat until the evening. Steve and Jane are very welcoming with lots of
tips for days out. They recommended Austell's restaurant nearby, v good food.
Eden Project nearby, 20 min walk through countryside for the energetic, 5 min
by car. Looking forward to return trip

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffcullip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2010

First class service throughout comparable to the best hotels. Excellent stylish accommodation. High attention paid to cleanliness and facilities. Ideal location for visiting the many coastal and inland attractions. The indoor swimming pool was an excellent bonus. Very warm and friendly atmosphere throughout. Jane and Steve were tremendous hosts and made us feel really welcome. We would highly recommend Anchorage House and look forward to revisiting in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpoplil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We had a great weekend stay at Anchorage House, both Steve & Jane are just the perfect hosts, they greet you on arrive with tea, coffee and home-made cake, making you feel that you have know them a life time. Nothing was too much trouble to make you stay that little extra special. As it was my girlfriends birthday, I had contacted Steve & Jane via email to ask for champange, chocolates and flowers to be placed in the room upon our arrival as a surprise, this was all done and inplace, just perfect.... They will go that extra mile to make sure you have the perfect stay. The room was beautiful and spotlessly clean in every way, exactley what you would expect from this standard of accommodation. It goes without saying, that Steve & Jane are very proud of what they have acheived with this fantastic guest house.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandMandy1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Excellent 7 night stay with hosts Steve & Jane attentive and helpful. Rooms were very comfortable with good facilities, a good breakfast and use of a small but adequate indoor swimming pool. Use of either a comfortable lounge or conservatory was also a plus. Would use again as an excellent base to explore Cornwall and South Devon of which the hosts were extrewmely helpful

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveVal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
498 reviews
2.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
371 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage House

Property: Anchorage House
Address: Nettles Corner | Tregrehan Mills, St Austell PL25 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anchorage House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchorage House is a luxurious small, private, national award-winning bed and breakfast, and the ultimate in Cornwall, Eden Project and child-free accommodation, offering huge beds and bathtubs, heated indoor swimming pool, small gym, free Wi-Fi and much more. Special attention to detail and flair are evident everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchorage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing