We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't do what it says on the tin”
Review of Rashleigh Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rashleigh Arms
Ranked #15 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 19, 2010

How can this hotel claim that it has rooms with a sea view?
I paid the extra, but the 'view' turned out to be a thin strip of distant sea visible above the roofs of the buildings between the hotel and the harbour.
The restaurant is a huge open canteen style affair, mostly windowless, completely devoid of atmosphere, serving canteen quality food.
The bedroom walls are so thin that you can hear what the people in the next room are saying.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMcKerrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 317 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2010

Friendly helpful staff. Good food .... haddock for breakfast ... yum.... Clean and comfortable room. Lovely relaxing time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

we booked a table on the 5/9/210 for a carvery meal at seven p.m.it was awfull, scrag ends of meat being served,potatoes so hard you could not cut them,for £17.90 worst meal we have ever had was the opinion of my wife and i. brewery please take notice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henhouse301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Went to the Rashleigh Arms which is rated as "4 star silver" for 3 nights and found it to be very good. Had a twin room which was on the small side but had everything we needed. The room and decor was in good order, quality towels and dressing gowns, welcome tray had all we needed and they supplied fresh milk any time. The breakfast menu was good, eg smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, and all the staff were pleasant. I would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandswhyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Travelled to St.Austell with my young daughter to see my mum, having been bought up in St.Austell/Charlestown I knew the Rashleigh beforehand. So the great location was no surprise, our room was lovely and clean and overlooked the harbour, and the staff were great as was the breakfast. The only downside was the noise, perhaps this was to be expected in the summer months. There was a band playing one night, the music was so loud the bed was moving around the room until midnight. And as the beer garden was just below our window, the window needed to be shut to avoid the foul lanugue from drinkers, it would have been nice to have kept it open to hear the sea.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iant_infleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We had a two night stay at the Rashleigh Arms at the end of July and were fortunate enough that it coincided with the Charlestown Festival, so the atmosphere around the town was great. The pub itself was fab with a great beer garden and within easy walking distance to the harbour. The staff were friendly from start to finish and the breakfast good. Our room was "Port" which was a good size and well equipped (including dressing gowns which was a nice touch). Obviously you are at a pub and as the weather was good during our stay you needed to keep the window open, as otherwise the room was too hot. Because of this will obviously experience some noise from the beer garden so if you're the early to bed type then this is not the place for you. Highlight for us though was the group of pirates that had a good sing song in the garden on the Monday night - Priceless!! It really got our holiday off to a good start (the band on Sunday night - Esteban - were also excellent). All in all a place to recommend and full credit to the staff who were, without exception, all very easy and friendly to deal with.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angep1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I spent a night at the Rashleigh Arms in the course of a work trip to the UK, and was very impressed. The place is the local social centre, a pub/restaurant with (quiet) rooms upstairs. The food was good and the beer particularly so, but what stood out was the attitude of the staff, who were just great. A friend had an early taxi call but no phone or alarm... so one of the waitstaff loaned her phone so that my friend could use it as an alarm, asking only that it be dropped off in the lobby the next day!

Charlestown is a really nice little port, and the Rashleigh Arms is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMac62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
0.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
532 reviews
15.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
933 reviews
14.8 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
1.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#3 of 9 in St Austell
398 reviews
21.5 mi away
Port William Inn
Port William Inn
#4 of 24 in Tintagel
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rashleigh Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rashleigh Arms

Address: Charlestown Road, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: $91 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rashleigh Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rashleigh Arms was built in 1851 on the foundations of old clay cellars and was given its name after the creator of Charlestown Harbour, formerly West Polmear, Charles Rashleigh. It also boasts probably one of the only Grade II listed car parks in the country, basically the site of old coal storage yards, and is situated in a World Heritage Site. The Rashleigh is ideally positioned in central Cornwall and provides an excellent jump off point for lots of great attractions with the world famous Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan within five miles radius. We are also within sight of the historic Tall Ships and Charlestown harbour, a world heritage site and an attraction in itself. The Pub has moved with times and although over 150 years old boasts eight four star gold rated rooms, a public bar, popular with the locals that shows all live sport and has great bands every fortnight. Our lounge bar is fantastic for relaxing in with large leather sofas and armchairs with a touch of historic Charlestown. The restaurant is modern, open plan and serves locally sourced food from 12 - 9pm every day; and if the weather's good our patio and garden is the ideal place to spend a few hours or more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rashleigh Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rashleigh Arms Hotel St Austell
Rashleigh Arms St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing