We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night break in St Austell”
Review of Rashleigh Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rashleigh Arms
Ranked #15 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in the Rashleigh Arms in Charlestown to be near to the Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project. It is a St Austell Brewery Hotel and pub and has great Real Ale. We had dinner there 1 night; river mussels and chips and the Cornish breakfasts were excellent. Our room looked to the sea. You can see ships' masts and the sea over the top of cottages. the room was not large but very pleasant; bright and clean with WiFi.There is noise from other rooms!The large cobbled car park is grade 2 listed and we always managed to park. St Austell itself is not of interest. The White Hart was good for dinner on a rainy evening. The staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. There is a good beer garden. On balance very good.

Room Tip: There are only about 8-10 rooms - most have a view over the beer garden and over cottages to the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagpieSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 318 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights B&B in August. Great effort appeared to have been made in presenting the bedrooms- decor good, bed comfy, decent size bathroom, but make sure you don't get 'Midships' as this room overlooks the extractor fan from the kitchen which is extremely loud. The windows are double glazed but on hot days/nights you need to have a window open. The noise does lessen around midnight, when presumably the kitchen is closed for the night. The hotel was fully booked when we were there so it would not have been possible to change rooms. Food reasonably good- typical pub meals rather than restaurant quality, but very busy. Charlestown - an interesting place to visit, quite scenic. Went to Eden project- would definitely recommend, but expensive so look for tesco voucher deals or other bogof.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivergilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stopped in Carlestown for one night during our Cornwall trip. The Rashleigh was recommended from a few friends, so we decided to stay there and were very lucky to get a spacious and nicely decorated room, unforunately no air-con- so it was very hot at night. The Rashleigh is a huge pub with nice outside seeting area and seems to be always busy. We enjoyed a breakfast feast the next morning, absolutely amazing! Not the cheapest option to stay but definitely worth it, we will come again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franzi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

One of my favourite hotels. I always know that the food is going to be just great, the rooms freshly aired and comfortable and the staff really pleased to receive guests. We had the 'Port' room (all the rooms have ship orientated names) which overlooked the beer garden where most nights and weekends there is 'free' (often impromptu) entertainment. Our room also overlooked the harbour which although at a short walking distance away, we could see the 'Tall Ships' docked there. An historical shipping museum is just 100 yards away - worth a visit. If you need a change from the hotel's wonderful food, just saunter 3 minutes down towards the beach and choose from a variety of pubs with droolingly good menus at reasonable prices.
The Rashleigh abides by a strict closing time, so that there is no excessive car door slamming late into the night. Breakfast is a delight. Choice of Twinings teas or percolating coffee plus plenty of juices and cereals. Followed by a 'full Cornish' or poached haddock served at the table The staff just couldn't be more helpful or obliging. If you need to break your trip touring Cornwall you really couldn't wish for a better break, whether for an overnight stay or just a long restfull lunch - there is a Sunday carvery 12-2pm.

Room Tip: Pay a few quid more and get the 'Port' or front facing rooms. They are bigger and the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcardleyeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Lovely beer garden and views and very friendly and helpful staff, only thing we were unhappy with was the food, I had the sausages and mash and my partner had the burger and we found both tasted of nothing, disappointing as it's not the cheapest. Would recommend for drinks.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Seasidebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed one night. Room was spacious and well appointed. The weather was cooking and so was our room in the middle of the night! Breakfast was a feast and our waitress Jean was charming and full of helpful hints on what to do when moving on to our next Cornish destination. This pub is ideally placed in the lovely town of Charlestown. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

A last minute change of plan meant that we were looking for somewhere to eat in the St Austell area and chose the Rashleigh Arms totally at random. Turned out to be an excellent choice. Really good cod and chips, in very crispy batter. Very freshly cooked. Couldn't fault it at all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank alaquiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
0.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
533 reviews
14.8 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
459 reviews
15.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
0 mi away
Havener's
Havener's
#6 of 25 in Fowey
25 reviews
21.5 mi away
Port William Inn
Port William Inn
#4 of 24 in Tintagel
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rashleigh Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rashleigh Arms

Address: Charlestown Road, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: $129 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rashleigh Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rashleigh Arms was built in 1851 on the foundations of old clay cellars and was given its name after the creator of Charlestown Harbour, formerly West Polmear, Charles Rashleigh. It also boasts probably one of the only Grade II listed car parks in the country, basically the site of old coal storage yards, and is situated in a World Heritage Site. The Rashleigh is ideally positioned in central Cornwall and provides an excellent jump off point for lots of great attractions with the world famous Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan within five miles radius. We are also within sight of the historic Tall Ships and Charlestown harbour, a world heritage site and an attraction in itself. The Pub has moved with times and although over 150 years old boasts eight four star gold rated rooms, a public bar, popular with the locals that shows all live sport and has great bands every fortnight. Our lounge bar is fantastic for relaxing in with large leather sofas and armchairs with a touch of historic Charlestown. The restaurant is modern, open plan and serves locally sourced food from 12 - 9pm every day; and if the weather's good our patio and garden is the ideal place to spend a few hours or more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rashleigh Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rashleigh Arms Hotel St Austell
Rashleigh Arms St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing