We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectly formed”
Review of Gemstones

Gemstones
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gemstones
Ranked #71 of 96 St Austell B&B and Inns
Herts, England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent two nights in Gemstones on a recent visit to Cornwall. Simon was welcoming and friendly and Gemstones itself very pretty and well looked after. The garden is delightful and our room and en suite bathroom was very clean and in excellent decorative order. The bed was especially comfortable, a little on the firm side which is exactly how I like it. It's in a perfect location for the Eden Project which was the main reason for choosing it.

The only minor downside for us was that the room was rather on the small side and my husband and I aren't! It did feel a little cramped at times. For less chunky individuals it would probably be fine.

I would reccommend it to other people

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandMum50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
19
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just had a wonderful 3 days at Gemstones! Having driven to Newquay we decided to look for a b&b a little closer to the Eden project .We came across Gemstones and were absolutely blown away by the hospitality we received when we arrived! The gardens are so pretty especially the 'secret garden', Simon and Matt are the most perfect hosts.Spotlessly clean, bedrooms, bathroom , livingroom, breakfast room, everything immaculate!! These boys work tirelessly and it shows!! Well done simon and matt!! You are a credit to the b&b trade!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 653lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowde, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Last month (May '13) I had the great pleasure of staying, once again, at Gemstones B & B.
A warm welcome was received with every need catered for. After comfortable nights in my stylish and scrupulously clean bedroom/en suite, I came down to enjoy a very tasty breakfast followed by toast & home-made marmalade!! Gemstones has a beautiful garden to wander and admire, or just sit and chill-out. With Gemstones being situated in mid-Cornwall, I found it to be a perfect location for easy travel to all places of interest in this amazing county.
Top marks to this delightful B & B, with the hard work of Simon and Matt making it so.
Mel (Wiltshire)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Iit was a big holiday for us as retired recenctly and wanted to just go with the flow in England.
Gemstones b and b was the ideal base for our holiday and we were really centraly based for going to varius places from there
.It was a brilliant b and b with smashing hosts ,lovely breakfasts and really comfy beds. simon the host had compiled a good portfolio of brochures for lots of place of interest that where easily accessable from there for days out, and this was really usefull to us as we hadnt had time beforehand to do any research on places to visit and this was really helpfull and helped us immensely, thank you Simon.
Also thanks to simon for leading us to the county show in his vechicle as we would have probably got lost without that and missed some of the show -my mapreading isnt the best
I would love to come back again as our holiday last week was a dream come true for us with the freedom to come and go as pleased day by day and our hosts so welcoming so i will start saving my pennies right now bren and vic from manchester

Room Tip: any room would be good -it was lovely and clean and realy good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, pleasant, and charming. The gardens are pretty and the rooms have everything you need. You really can't beat the price of £60 for two. Plus, Simon makes a mean breakfast. The location is central to this part of Cornwall.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrumbateman
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

A hot cup of tea was just the welcome we needed on a very wet afternoon. Very comfortable and clean accommodation.Breakfasts were superb. We enjoyed very good evening meals at the the Raleigh Inn in Charlestown an interesting little coastal village. Simon we really enjoyed our stay at Gemstones, your garden is immaculate and enjoyable and your plant propagation facility is interesting. Thank you so much for your help and sharing your local knowledge with us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter and Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stay in a lot of hotels up and down the coast . Simon ( the owner) was 1st class warm and friendly welcome the rooms were very clean and modern comfy bed great breakfast nothing was to much trouble it was perfect not into gardening but he had impressive one will be staying here again next week I hope one of the best guest houses around value for money any cheaper and he's giving it away !! Thanks Simon can't wait to come back . The boys from Birmingham

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davesmith08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
3.7 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
499 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,564 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.8 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
371 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gemstones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gemstones

Property: Gemstones
Address: 5 Roche Road | Stenalees, St Austell PL26 8SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the centre of many local attractions, Gemstones star rated with the English Tourist Board is an ideal central location to see all the many beautiful sights of Cornwall. We are 4 miles to the coast and 3 miles to the Eden Project. We have double rooms with en-suite and double rooms with private bathrooms. All rooms are maintained to a high standard of cleanliness balancing taste and practicality for people requiring quality b&b at a low price. Every rooms has free WiFi access, a colour TV & DVD player, tea and coffee-making facilities and quality mattresses for a good night's sleep. A full English breakfast is served every morning with no restricted eating times. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gemstones St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing