We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money!”
Review of Wheal Martyn

Wheal Martyn
Ranked #9 of 43 things to do in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Park tells the story of the men, women and children who lived worked and played in the shadow of the clay tips around St Austell. With a history dating from 1746 to the present the museum is situated next to a modern clay pit which can be seen from a spectacular viewing platform. Cafe and shop with Cornish produce.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well worth the money!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very impressed with our visit to Wheal Martyn China Clay We arrived on Sunday 5th May,on paying I asked if there was a guided tour and a member of staff who was about to just walk his dog volunteered to give us a tour in his own time, he even had roast lamb waiting in the oven! Nothing was too much trouble, he kept us entertained with stories of interest, and personal stories about his own father. A very interesting and informative visit that kept us occupied for hours. A lot of effort and love goes into the displays by staff and volunteers. Afterwards we visited the café which was very clean and had local Cornish pasties, all of an excellent standard. It is also worth mentioning that the loos were new and spotlessly clean.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue F, Manager at Wheal Martyn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Wheal Martyn. We have a fantastic team of volunteers and staff who contribute to all aspects of Wheal Martyn to tell the story of the china clay industry past and present as well as making it a fun day out. We appreciate your feedback and hope that many others will come and enjoy Wheal Martyn as you have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    113
    30
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
170 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“An enjoyable visit let down by the food”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to the china clay country park, but was let down by the food otherwise I would have scored 4 out of 5. But as the food served is part of the overall experience a 2 is more than fair.

Cafe (0 out of 5)
I had the lasagne off the specials board, so was expecting a really nice home cooked lasagne but what arrived looked as though it had been cooked the week before, looked dried out and tasted both dry and bland. Yuck. If the best lasagne you've tasted is a 10 then I would tend to score a ready meal from the local supermarket between a 7 and 8, whilst the food served here was a big fat zero. I have no idea how the "chef" had the nerve to serve it, but he would have done far better if he had served a supermarket ready meal.

Meanwhile, my wife had the burger and chips. The burger itself was completely tasteless and was served within a plain bread bun. My wife wondered if it had seen any meat at all. Again, if a Big Mac was a 10, then this was a zero. As per my comment above, again the chef would have done far better to have serve a branded burger between a lightly toasted bread bun (plus salad dressing on the salad).

Overall, if they cannot serve / is incapable of serving decent hot food then take it off the menu!!!! Sorry, but poor food badly lets down the overall experience and, excuse the pun, leaves a bad taste in the mouth.

Heritage Trail (4 out of 5),
The heritage trail itself was excellent and really told the story how china clay was won from the ground, with informative display boards and preserved buildings and artefacts. I always thought that china clay was literally dug out of the ground as easily as shovelling clay out of my garden, but now I appreciate the effort used to win it.

We were offered to the opportunity buy a guide book, but declined. Whilst negotiating the heritage trail we then realised there was an audio guide, though this wasn't offered to us at the ticket desk. If we had been offered a free audio guide it would have made the visit so much more informative and enjoyable. Another missed trick.

Summary
Overall score is ( 0 + 4) / 2 = 2

Room for improvement
- Sort out the cafe and serve quality food
- Offer a free audio guide.
Get these things right then the china clay country park could become a number 1 venue.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidmouth4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue F, Manager at Wheal Martyn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank-you for your review and i am glad that you enjoyed your recent visit to Wheal Martyn. I am however very sorry to hear of the poor meal that you received in our cafe. We have specials on most weekdays which are very popular and we endeavour to keep a varied and tasty choice available. Our burgers are sourced from a local butcher and are a favourite on the menu. It is very dissapointing to hear that you did not enjoy your meal and it had a negative effect on the rest of your visit. I also apologise for the lack of offer for the audio guide, our team try to ensure each visitor gets the relevant information to make the most out of their visit and on this occasion that was an area that was overlooked. If any another time you are not entirely satisfied with a part of your visit please bring it to our attention there and then so that we can hopefully rectify the situation and deliver the service that we strive to on all levels within the Wheal Martyn experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferryside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting and enjoyable dog friendly.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Well set out history of the industry and how it has and continues to effect the area. We went on a cold windy February day and were able to nip into the many sheds and exhibitions during the squally showers. Lovely chap on the desk made sure we knew when the blasting was happening on the working quarry which turned out to be worth seeing. (and feeling through the soles of your feet.) Nicely set out walks and trails surrounding the main attraction and a great area for children to tear about in with their own special challenge trail. Huge grassy picnic area nearby so parents can sit whilst the youngsters expend a bit of energy safely. The exhibitions were interesting and very informative, loads to see and some excellent interactive parts throughout. Free parking. Some parts quite steep and rough paths so good footwear a must.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cooking-With-Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went there on the off chance. What a great surprise! Not expensive to get in and very interesting. Fantastic view over clay pits and lovely walk in the woods to another great viewing point over countryside. Exhibition inside was very good. Child friendly. Nice cafe. Friendly helpful staff. Well worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We are always looking for places to take our friends and their dog when they come to stay, and China Clay Country Park is great for that.

You can walk for miles and get a sense of how the place must have worked. The guided tour is one to do as well, as it gives a lot of extra information and a real insight into China Clay working.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank penrosebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheal Martyn also viewed

 

Been to Wheal Martyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing