We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“let down”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Hart
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“let down”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

manager rude to staff in front of us, over 30 mins wait for food, cold plates, overcooked chips, undercooked scampi, cold peas and rock hard, smallest side salad ever seen, cheese under chips on red hot plates for kiddies. the manager cooked as chef had not come in to work, not a pleasant visit and probably go elsewhere next time. Oh yes, no soap in ladies toilet upstairs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    130
    37
    19
    9
See reviews for
62
180
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Thank you to the White Hert team for a truly enjoyable Christmas lunch. The hospitality and service was second to none. Decor and atmosphere superb and we will be returning. Excellent!!!! Happy New Year to you all see you in 2014 xx Jan & Paul and Sharon & Paul

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Booked a superior room with separate seating area and view over town. The separate seating area was two chairs placed at the window, which had a view over a shop opposite. We went to reception and I said Hello and the woman there turned her back on me withotu a word and went off to a n office; she came back 30 seconds later and said "I don't know how to do this" and went away again. Someone else then came and checked us in.

The restaurant was closed (although the website said it was open) so we had a meal in the bar; we sat with some people we met. When we finished I asked for the cost of the food to be pout on the room; the girl said it would show the whole cost of what we had and what the other people--strangers who were non-resident--had. Room ok but certainly not worth the money. Breakfast was even more weird; the girl said we couldn't sit in the breakfast room "as not enough people had left". There were four tables for four free, and there were two of us. We had to sit in the bar instead. She didn't come out there so when I wanted a refill of coffee I had to go and look for her in the kitchen.

Just too many hiccups to make this a value for money stay.

Room Tip: Find out exactly what facilities are available in the room if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afterbrunel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is an old building and clearly takes a lot to keep it maintained. It is above a pub and next to the church and we stayed as we needed to be in area next day. It met our needs although I would not spend a holiday here. More a business style IMO.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, much more so than many chains. We had a double room and staff went out of way to sort out a twin.

Not a lot to say re room, it was clean, a little outdated but perfectly adequate and fair value.

Did not stay for dinner, but breakfast was OK.

Lot of character in building, many doors and staircases with more rooms than I expected.

Private parking area opposite pub was appreciated, just 50 yards over road and inside a barrier area.

Room Tip: Make sure your keyring has main door key on it as well as door key if you plan to return late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FullNotGlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Myself and 15 colleagues had our annual Christmas dinner here. Lynne and her team did a fantastic job in making us feel welcome and comfortable, nothing was too much trouble for them.
The table was decorated beautifully and the gold napkins and X'mas crackers were a lovely touch.
All bar one ( there's always one!! ) enjoyed their meal and all agreed that the evening was a great success. Will have no hesitation in coming back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Sands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Spent very pleasant evening with my Father in Law. Small bar with good selection of beer and excellent bar snacks. Neither of us are big drinkers. Very civilized bar in a somewhat depressing St.Austell town center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Loop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night while working in St Austell. The hotel has recently been taken over by new management. The staff were very polite and helpful and the food was wholesome and tasty, good value for the price. Breakast was very good, I had the full English.
The roooms were perfectly good (again taking into account the price. The hotel itself is right in the heart of the town and if I visit again I would defintely stay here..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
0.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
0.3 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
12.2 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Property: The White Hart
Address: 2-3 Church Street, St Austell PL25 4AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Austell
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the White Hart Hotel and Whites Restaurant.A grade 2 listed hotel in the centre of town within minutes of railway and bus links. Eden project and the coast only few minutes away.17 ensuite bed roomsBar and Lounge areawhites reatuarant serving local and fresh produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel St Austell
White Hart St Austell
The White Hart St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing