We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average in St Austell”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The White Hart
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed over night, midweek on business. Initial reaction was this was going to be a nice little hotel and to be fair was generally ok. However, the room was up 2 flights of narrow stairs, no lift and no offer of help with heavy suitcases. The rooms was smaller than the photos indicated and the bathroom was in need of some upgrade. Little atmosphere in the bar, dinner was average but, the breakfast was very good. Staff were pleasant but, could have been a bit friendlier. Have stayed in a lot of hotels around the country and this was average for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XavClaygate_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
There are newer reviews for The White Hart
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 375 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

I turned up in St Austell out of the blue and needed somwehere to stay, coming in from the street. I was lucky to find a room free here at the White Hart which is very well placed in the centre of St Austell.. I paid £75 for one night for a double room (their singles when free, which I did not see are only five pounds cheaper. Along with many other hotels they do not provide well for the single traveller in this respect) The room I had was big enough for one, though for two it would have been rather a tight fit. Generally the room was quite well furbished, comfortable bed though the wardrobe was huge though strangely there was no drawers for clothes. The TV worked okay though had a very strange wall attachment, and gave the impression it might fall off though it was probably quite secure. The ensuite was bigger than many you find and had a bath as well as an overhead shower which worked well. Other travellers have complained about noise, I heard no disturbance which was probably due to my room (room no 13) being on the side of the hotel facing the side which is not direct to the street. I was on the second floor and as there is no lift it is a bit of a pain getting one's luggage up, especially as the layout of the hotel is rather all over the place. What makes the hotel in my opinion is the ground floor which has a pleasant bar and lounge area, where I found it easy to relax and enjoy a drink while I was doing some work. The staff are generally very friendly and helpful and were kind in agreeing to extend my check out time from 10am to 11am which made my morning more relaxed. The breakfast has the potential to be good there is a good selection of choice including super looking pancakes and , but mine was slightly marred as they got my order wrong. The staff seemed very disorganised. It would be nice to have a pot of coffee instead of just a measly cup which can take ages to get a refill. It would also be good to have a menu which made it clear that residents are not expected to pay the prices on it!!!! There is a restaurant serving food throughout the day but I decided not to eat my evening meal there as the prices seemed a bit on the steep side and I was put off by the empty dining room. The carpark for the hotel is over the other side of the road and one has to cross a main road to get there which can be a right pain if carrying a lot of luggage. The manager did agree to help me when I was leaving, but he appeared to do this without any enthusiasm and made no goodbyes or wishing me a good journey. A pity as the rest of the staff seemed to have a nice attitude

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annemarie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Such a pity has the potential to be a really nice hotel.
Rooms are nice very clean. Great location
Food. The crab cakes although were very nicely presented were not fresh we told the waitress, and she brought a some more which were exactly the same we told her, but was not offered anything else even our salad was removed with the first plate and not replaced. I did not want to make a fuss so paid and didn't eat there again.
Mentioned to the Manager on the 3rd day .
Stayed for 3 nights with no Wifi at all during that time, asked everyday but was told something different each time. The manager was there on the 3rd day with no apology said that it had been like that for a while. No good if you picked the hotel on that basis.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorcesterPark66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We called at The White Hart for breakfast where we were greeted by Aimee and served by Scott both of whom clearly enjoyed their work, had great interpersonal skills and were great advocates for The White Hart. The standard of food, presentation and cleanliness of The White Hart were all noteworthy.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bridstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great location for Eden Project. Room was disappointing as was very small and inadequate storage space - also very noisy from street and room above. On the plus side the breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25ahowbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights, it was a great base for exploring cornwall, very near Eden project and the beautiful gardens of heligan! Room was fine, nice bathroom and view of the church, which donged fairly regularly but we quite liked that! Only problem were the late night revellers in the town, student night on a monday was particularly noisy, didn't get to sleep unitl 4am, not a good night! If you want total peace and quiet then don't stay there, but overall we were happy. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waters2752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Recently stayed here with my husband for four nights and had a brilliant time. The room was comfortable with a bath and shower which was really appreciated. Plenty of hot water as well which didn't go amiss! Breakfast everyday was lovely with lots of choice and the service was always efficient and polite. We also ate at the hotel restaurant one night and were also happy with the meal.
A few other reviews have mentioned excessive noise - no idea what that is all about, the only disturbance were crazy seagulls but seeing as we were in Cornwall that is to be expected!
All the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful (special shout out to the bar tender Scott/Steve) and we really enjoyed our stay.
A highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsharris2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
0.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,580 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
0.3 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
12.2 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Address: 2-3 Church Street, St Austell PL25 4AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Austell
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: $89 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the White Hart Hotel and Whites Restaurant.A grade 2 listed hotel in the centre of town within minutes of railway and bus links. Eden project and the coast only few minutes away.17 ensuite bed roomsBar and Lounge areawhites reatuarant serving local and fresh produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel St Austell
White Hart St Austell
The White Hart St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing