We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Hart
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2008

A very nice reasonably priced hotel, not suitable for anyone who cannot climb stairs...no lifts, we were on the second floor in a decent room had all the necessary requirements no problems, we ate in the restaurant the first evening ,standard pub grub fare, acceptable without being fantastic,reasonably priced.
Hotel very well located within St. Austell, has it's own dedicated resident car park not a lot of spaces but we had no problems.
Overall an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viccarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 396 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2008

I was in St Asutell on business and was booked into the White Hart for 1 night.

The White Hart is in central St Austell and has a carpark opposite so ideal. The welcome was warm from Bea and the staff as a whole were very friendly.

The room, 14 I think was clean and well maintained and the shower hot and powerful. The bed was comfortable and the room warm.

I ate in the restaurant - a good selection of locally sourced food, and had the local brew - Tribute - in the spacious bar afterwards.

All in all, a good place to spend away from home for the night - would recommend

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank akaBAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2006

A party of us stayed at the White Hart 2 years ago and it was fine. It's nice to have a choice of real ale as well as wine - the hotel is owned by St Austell brewery so the beers are kept in good condition. We went back this year as we enjoyed it on our last holiday. St Austell town isn't very attractive but it's good for a base as the rail links are great for getting around Cornwall. We ate in the bar one night and the food was fine.The atmosphere is smokey - no extractors - which spoiled it, but luckily it wasn't too crowded. Unfortunately that came later, with the karaoke. We went out for a drink up the road and when we came back our way was barred by 2 bouncers stopping a crowd of people going in, as the bar was full. They tried to stop us going in but when we said we lived there they stood aside and we squeezed in. The bar was blue with smoke and the noise from the drunken karaoke was tremendous. I don't think it was appropriate for the hotel to advertise as a quiet break when they are staging this sort of entertainment. The stairs open on to the bar so the noise and smoke drifted upstairs to the bedrooms. We booked the hotel because of the bar facilities. Two of our party were in their 70's and wanted somewhere on the premises for a tranquil drink if they didn't fancy going out after a busy day. Not possible on Fridays. If you stay here then beware and bring earplugs. I think there's a quiz night on Thursdays too so be prepared. On the other days the bar was fine, the staff pleasant and efficient at all times. They did say they warn you when you book about the noise levels on Fridays but they must have forgotten with us. I wouldn't say we would never stay there again but it gives you pause for thought. I think the hotel needs to decide what it wants to be and market itself accordingly.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greeneland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernow28, Central Reservations at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2008

The White Hart Hotel no longer has Karaoke on a friday night. The only entertainment the Hotel now has is a quiz on a Wednesday night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2006

Stayed here for four nights in August (2 A + 2C) in the inter-conecting family room. Both rooms were a good size as was the bathroom. Everyone found the beds comfortable and decent sized bath sheets were provided for all!

Breakfast was good and they provided soya products as requested in advance. Service could have been speedier, but the food for breakfast and evening meal was cooked to order. Also worth noting is that the Brewery use the White Hart as their flagship training hotel and pub which can account for the speed of service. All the staff werre really friendly and quiz night on a Thursday is good fun for all.

It is centrally located, however there isn't much happening in St Austell itself and the nightclub can be quite noisy, the windows are single glazed and due to there not being any air-con you need to have them open in Summer.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elcamino23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2006

This inn/hotel is mixture of old building that has been refurbished to a reasonable standard. You walk into a bar area which also has the reception desk, so it feels like walking into a pub with a smoky atmosphere. The rooms are clean and tidy although the one we had was quite small. The mattress on the bed was lumpy and loud music from a bar up the road kept us awake till late. The bathroom was ok but there was wall paper coming off the ceiling. At breakfast they had run out of cereal bowls and we had to wait ages for a clean one, which then turned up at the same time as the cooked breakfast we had ordered. The breakfast was ok and was nicely cooked. The staff were helpful and sorted out the problem we had with parking our car in the small car park they have available for guests. The White Hart is centrally located in St Austell so very convenient for walking around the sites of St Austell. We stayed here for one night in July 2006, not sure we will again.

Stayed: June 2006
1  Thank CarribbeanPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GabyOlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,621 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
0.3 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
2.1 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Address: 2-3 Church Street, St Austell PL25 4AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Austell
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: $86 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the White Hart Hotel and Whites Restaurant.A grade 2 listed hotel in the centre of town within minutes of railway and bus links. Eden project and the coast only few minutes away.17 ensuite bed roomsBar and Lounge areawhites reatuarant serving local and fresh produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel St Austell
White Hart St Austell
The White Hart St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing