We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Hart
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for two days in September 2011. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The hotel is a historic building with a royal connection, when the then Prince and Princess of Wales stayed there in 1909. The hotel is situated in the centre of St. Austell with a dedicated car park across the road. The breakfast was very good and extremely substantial. We dined in at the hotel in the evenings and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and the presentation. Our waiter deserves a special mention as he was polite, friendly and a credit to the hotel. The White Hart is a good place to stay as it is central to a lot of the Cornwall tourist attractions. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The Hicks Room opposite the Church, church bells did not disturb me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 395 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights half board at the end of September 2011. We found the stay very enjoyable from the point of booking to check out. All the staff were so pleasant and very helpful. Our room even though on the front of the hotel was quiet (beware the church chimes start at 07.00hrs and stop at 23.00hrs not the fault of the hotel) very contemporary decorated, large with the necessary requirements. The food was very good quality and certainly quantity (we could never eat a dessert). We had a couple of minor issues which were resolved very quickly and efficiently. It must be remembered this is not a 5 star but you are treated as if you are. St Austell is not by the sea but very convenient for getting to places

Room Tip: We stayed mid week so may be of benefit to request a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyTraveller-2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My wife and I ate in the bar of the White Hart as part of our Cornish holiday. The food was superb, beautifully cooked and presented, washed down with a pint of St Austell "Tribute" ale. My wife also had the creamy cheesecake with clotted cream, I don't think she's stopped smiling yet. A very friendly Cornish couple at the next table had the steak and ale pie, it looked delicious, and they told us it was one of their favourites. The staff at the White Hart are very friendly and professional, and the range of drinks hard to beat. Definetly an establishment to seek out, just head for the cathedral and it's right next door!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnwatchescricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed in the White for a 3 nights in July .The room was clean and the bed was comfy .Didn`t have a problem with noise .The staff were nice and friendly ,and the food was of a good standard .St Austell is quiet ,but its great as base for the local attractions .We would stay in the The White Hart again .

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for five days.Room was very comfortable and quiet,bed was lovely.Staff freindly and helpful.Food very good and plentiful. Not a lot to do in St.Austell,but shops,cinema and wetherspoons on doorstep.Short drive to Heligan,Eden project,China claypit attraction and woodland walk,and Lanydrock house and gardens,all wonderful.

Room Tip: Request a room on highest floor at back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srobinson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Stayed for s couple of nights on business. Given a large and comfortable room. Food was good. Staff were attentive and friendly. An excellent base for the local tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiandSteve5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

SERVICE

The service we received in the hotel was excellent. The staff was very friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them. The bar staff were very helpfull and always greeted us with a smile. The food was greta value and was really good will a range to choose from on the menu.

The room we had was clean, the bed was very comfortable and extra bedding was provided. There was free Wifi and tea/coffee making facilities.

The hotel is in the centre of town so do expect some noise. The church bells directly across the road do chim on the hour and every quarter of an hour. The noise was acepptabke anbd even when the pubs were comign out we found we slept through it and were not woken up once.

The hotel is located perfectly for us and there was easy access to many places of interest i.e Eden Project, St Austell Brewery and many of the surrounding costal towns.

All in all teh hotel was perfect, food was really good and value for money and the staff were great. Well done to this hotel best place I have stayed in in a long time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,620 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
2.1 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Address: 2-3 Church Street, St Austell PL25 4AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Austell
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: $84 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the White Hart Hotel and Whites Restaurant.A grade 2 listed hotel in the centre of town within minutes of railway and bus links. Eden project and the coast only few minutes away.17 ensuite bed roomsBar and Lounge areawhites reatuarant serving local and fresh produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel St Austell
White Hart St Austell
The White Hart St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing