We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold night - warm welcome - great meal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Porth Avallen Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were in Cornwall, just had a miserable day at The Eden Project and my wife was not happy with the Hotel we were staying at, so she refused to eat there that night. It was a very stormy, cold wet night but we went in search of a restaurant close by. We followed a few signs to various places but they were either booked out or past serving food.
Then we stumbled upon this hotel down a private road overlooking the beautiful Carylon Bay. I ran inside to see if they could feed us and was warmly greeted by the manager, offered a menu as well as a table in the window overlooking the very stormy bay. The waiting staff were fantastic and the food was delicious. The house wine was good and reasonably priced. Fellow diners said they were very pleased with the accommodation, so we rather fancied having another drink and staying. Unfortunately the hotel was fully booked so we had to go back to the sub standard place we were already booked into. Will check them first when we are next in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayne321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Porth Avallen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 282 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

rude wedding organiser, rude owner, if he doesnt like someone putting a splash in beer because thats where hes from getover it man.nice on the floor staff but after that you have said it all .They need to open there eyes stop being so blinkered and see what they are delapitated poorly run hotel. if you pay good money you expect good service maybe a trip further along sea road would help in showing how itshould be done

Room Tip: ask for one off refurbed rooms away from entrance
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kernowgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in August with another couple. Lovely old hotel. Nice sized bedrooms and bathrooms. Very clean and comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff. Breathtaking view of
Carylon Bay. Pretty gardens and close walk to lovely beach and cliffside golf course. Very nice
restaurant with gourmet food. Loved to sit in the bar and look out over the bay even on a windy day. Good selection of bar food too. Be sure to get a room in the front of the hotel so you can enjoy the view from your room as well. A bit out of the way but worth it. A nice starting point to
explore the Cornwall area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in front of hotel with a view. Some rooms have sitting area and four poster beds.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at Porth Avallen for two nights. The location is breathtaking, looking on the beautiful Carlyle Bay. The room was clean but a little dated. The hairdryer in the bathroom was not working (and there was another one in the drawer) but why leave a badly broken thing hanging from the wall, giving a sense of decadence? And what about threadbare towels? After a long wait we must go in the kitchen to have some attention, we were served a sad breakfast with burnst sausages and dried mushrooms. The worst came with the owner. When we enter the first approach was to be blamed not to park in front of the hotel where only his car is permitted. Then we had to attend (and wait) to the guy's conversation with a customer on the phone in which he was very annoyed at having to answer some more questions. Very rude.
Definitely even if it is a beautiful location , that is not enough!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flavia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here from 30th July to 2nd August. We were getting married in St. Austell mid week and this hotel had some really nice reviews. We wanted to stay somewhere with great scenery for some of our wedding photos. This place fitted the bill, although the weather was not great for all of our stay it brightened up enough for our big day. We had a sea view room overlooking the bay and it was lovely, even when it rained we had a dramatic view. The bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom was spotless and we had two sinks, and a large bath with shower. The room itself was very clean and comfortable with two big armchairs for sitting in and taking in the breathtaking scenery. The breakfast was good with a selection of cereals, fruit and yoghurts to start followed by a good full English breakfast. The staff were very attentive. We only had an evening meal there on the night of our wedding as it is quite expensive, however the food is wonderful and all of our small wedding party had clean plates after. Compliments to the chef. Our waitresses were wonderful too making sure we had everything we needed. George the owner was very pleasant and chatted to us about the history of the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdieNewmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed here for four days at the start of August, we where down for a family wedding and decided to make it a short break as we had to travel from the Shaw/Oldham Lancashire area. Fantastic location and views, room comfortable , bathroom excellent apart from a non working heated towel rail. Decor in bedroom a bit dated and window frames had seen better days.

All staff very friendly and helpful.

We had dinner one evening which was good, breakfast was also of a decent standard.
We made the mistake of going to Fowey for a meal one evening without booking a taxi for our return. There is no taxi firm in Fowey at all and we had to wait until well after 12.00 pm befor we could get a cab. When we arrived back at the Porth Avallen we found the doors locked and we had to ring the bell a couple of times before the night porter let us in. We found out that the doors are usually locked at 11.30 pm with no provision for a night key. Although we found this a little archaic in the 21st century it did give us the pleasure of meeting the night porter. He was a really lovely chap, originally from Wolverhampton, it would have been worth staying out late every night just for the pleasure of having a chat with him.

The hotel has charm and we would certainly stay here again if we are in the area.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We called in to the Porth Avallen on chance after booking a meal at the Rashleigh. only to find it was Regatta Week and we couldn't park without having to walk a couple of miles to get back down to Charlestown! The meal was excellent - well cooked and beautifully presented. Not cheap, but if that's what you want, go to MacDonalds! The views were breathtaking, service was faultless and food divine!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia13Mevagissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,580 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
506 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
2.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
375 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth Avallen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth Avallen Hotel

Address: 51 Sea Road | Carlyon Bay, St Austell PL25 3SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: $119 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porth Avallen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porth Avallen Hotel is placed ideally to offer unbeatable views of the Cornish South Coast that will leave you breathless. With a warm and sea facing restaurant, a modern and sea facing bar as well as a tranquil garden area (also sea facing) you are offered a veritable feast for the eyes. The fantastic, talented chefs add to this by offering The Reflections Restaurant and Brasserie menus which are appetizing even on the page, with a wide variety of locally sourced dishes for you to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, Hotel.de, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Porth Avallen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Avallen St Austell
Hotel Porth Avallen
Porth Avallen Hotel St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing