We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge St Austell Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

This Travelodge is not only convenient to the main arterial route through Cornwall, but was easy to find. The best aspect being the onsite restaurant which offered a superb choice for evening meal and breakfast at exceptional value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    146
    128
    78
    65
See reviews for
215
210
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

As budget hotels go this was OK. The staff were great, accommodation was clean and comfortable and adequate for out two night stay. Breakfast was better than I expected with more choice than just the expected 'continental breakfast' at normal budget hotels.

Whilst the bed was comfortable we didn't get much sleep as the room was like a sauna. They had provided a small fan which didn't help much. Even opening the window didn't help as the hotel is on a busy road and the traffic noise was unbearable.

I am sure this is probably a good stopping off place when the weather is a bit cooler but I would not recommend this hotel for a stay during the summer. There was only my husband and I in a double room, God knows what it would be alike in summer in a family room with kids!

Room Tip: Don't stay during the summer unless they install air con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

very helpful staff, good choice of food which was very hot, would stay there again. very good value for money you know what you are getting. Near to shops and beach ideal stop over . lovely comfortable beds

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swindon2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

After two nights of no sleep in what I can only describe as a sauna and on our second visit to reception to complain we were refunded our stay & could not wait to leave. When we raised our issues the first time we were told that the problem was on the web site but try as I might I can find nothing to warn customers of what to expect. We were also told that the air conditioning units in the corridor were only allowed to be there during the day for health & safety reasons but this seems a pointless waste of money that could be spent sorting out what is clearly a serious design problem. My advice to anyone thinking of staying here before winter is well established would Don't Do It!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Austell hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Now I'll start by saying that I wasn't expecting 5 star standards from a budget hotel but sadly what could've been a good budget hotel was let down on a few points. Positives first though...

1. Good parking right outside which even on arriving back very late ws in plentiful supply
2. The room was a reasonable size and we had a double plust two 'camp' beds in it which while reducing floor space did not make it overly cramped
3. Good quality shower and nicely fitted out bathroom
4. Good supply of complimentary coffee in the room
5. The main bed was very comfortable
6. All the staff were very helpful and welcoming and couldn't be faulted. Top marks for them.
7. Food (very limited) is available 24/7 although a number of selections were sold out when we tried it.

The disappiontments
a. The biggest down side was the fact that the hotel was like a sauna! No heating was on and yet the corridor and room were both like a furnace which was immediately noticeable and which a number of people complained about.
b. The 'camp' beds were rock hard and not very comfortable at all.
c. While generally the cleaning was of a high standard there was a slug trail across the bedroom chair!
d. Very cheap sausage at breakfast which just tasted of old fat, the bacon is clearly cooked en masse from a catering size pack and possible microwaved or oven cooked so came across more steamed than grilled or fried! There is a good selection of cereal and some citrus fruits as well as yoghurt a toast machine and fresh fruit though which was a far better selection than I expected.

The location is pretty good and the hotel is easy to find. There is a Costa coffee downstairs and a McDonalds and KFC on the same site although none of these seemed to generate much noise.

Would I use it again, probably for if the above are corrected then this would be above average for the budget hotel category and possibly excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was the first time we have stayed in a Travelodge - but it won't be the last - the value for money is exceptional. The room and bathroom were both a good size - the bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean. As previous reviewers have said, however, the room was very warm, even with the fan on all night and this is the only reason I have not given 5 stars.
We found all the staff very pleasant, friendly, and helpful. The buffet breakfast is fine - choice of fruit juice, cereals, yoghurts, bacon, scrambled eggs etc. and an excellent coffee choice from the machine.
The hotel is located 5 minutes walk - uphill- to the town centre where there are several places to eat and also a good pedestrianized shopping centre, but there is a KFC and a Macdonalds on site, as well as a Costa.
As a base to visit the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan, plus other Cornish resorts
this is a good choice - but be aware that this is not a beach holiday place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsAholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here as Premier Inn (which we favour) room was too high for an overnite stay. However, the bed was hard, and broken... it creaked when anyone breathed... my partner discovered that there was a crack underneath and tried to support it by wedging a pillow and towel underneath. There was no air conditioning and it was a humid night, so with the window open we endured traffic noise most of the night as it is a busy bypass. Otherwise it was clean and cheap.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank CornwallDancer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.3 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge St Austell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge St Austell Hotel

Property: Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Address: Pentewan Road, St Austell PL25 5BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge St Austell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge St Austell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn St Austell
Travel Lodge St Austell
Travelodge St Austell Hotel Cornwall
St Austell Travel Lodge
St Austell Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing