We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too hot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too hot!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Good value, easy to find, well-located and free car parking. Friendly & welcoming staff. Breakfast was good but overpriced, as usual. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable, but no bath mat or soap. The big problem with the room was the HEAT. Downstairs in reception it is fine, but when you enter the 2nd floor to get to the rooms, the wall of heat hits you. There is something seriously wrong with the temperature control in this building. I usually prefer a but of warmth, but this was suffocating. There is no air con and the windows only open 5cm of course (because if they opened more, you couldn't resist throwing yourself out, right?!). Obviously they are aware of the issue as we had a small electric fan in the room, which Travelodge don't normally provide. Without it, we would have had to have left; as it was, we had to leave it on at full speed all night. We deliberately spent as little time as physically possible in the room. Good for 1 or 2 nights only!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshire_Cat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    161
    135
    88
    71
See reviews for
241
226
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel has no cooling so do not consider staying here unless you like it unbearably hot in summer. Rooms are clean, but our extractor fan in the bathroom did not work, impossible ! Staff are sympathetic, but clearly our problem has been reported to them many times, no solution yet. The only help was an additional, making 2, fan which we had on all night, but was no help really. If I kept my dog in these conditions I would be prosecuted.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank tutisltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge St Austell Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are sorry to learn you were unable to get a good night sleep during your stay due to the temperature in the room tutisltf. Unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel however in an attempt to ensure our customers have a comfortable stay we do offer fans which are available at reception on a first come first serve basis. We are currently in the process of ensuring all of our hotels are fully equipped with extra fans during the summer months. We are truly sorry for your disappointment and will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel management team regarding the problems with the extractor fan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Austell hotels

west sussex
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We arrived this week for one night having booked 2 rooms a long while ago, only £30 per room , such good value, so clean and everything you needed , the girl on the front desk was really nice and helpful, thanks, we decided to have breakfast which was really good except for the very rude and miserable staff, not nice at all !!!! Nice chambermaid , well done

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back away from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie3WestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Arrived here, with no booking, at 1am Sunday morning after travelling overnight from Beaulieu. On the way in to St Austell we had tried the other large chain of this type of hotel, but they wanted silly money for a few hours sleep.
The man on reception here dealt with us promptly and efficiently and soon we were in our room. The room looked as if it had recently been refurbished and we could not fault it. Yes it was a bit hot but we opened the window which made it cooler. We did not sample the breakfast as we had to be up and away by 8am. Would stay in a Travelodge again if this was the standard.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorbertSandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Travelodge St Austell, Cornwall. Good enough location, free parking, breakfast (overpriced) available in hotel and clean and tidy enough. However don't expect to get any sleep if you coming when the sun is north of the equator. It wasn't that warm a day, around 21 degrees but the room (timber outside on our top floor) was like a sauna. No air-con, just a fan that moved the super heated air around. Made no difference window open or closed other than to increase the already loud sound of cars screeching around the town at night and the refuge lorries emptying the dozens of bins at McDonalds down below at 5am the next morning. If we had have got any sleep it wouldn't have lasted beyond that. All in all avoid this hotel if you actually want to get some sleep or a reasonably priced breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The carpet in the room looked tired with several stain marks, some loose fluff.The room was noisy due to proximity to main road, and from upstairs.No shower gel supplied after 1st night. Windows dirty. Expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jonty52012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Paid in advance, to get a good price with zero cancellation available. This was a mistake as after reading reports on trip advisor would have paid more for better hotel with air - con. Room was uncomfortably hot day & night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
370 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,559 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
498 reviews
2.3 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
7.3 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge St Austell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge St Austell Hotel

Property: Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Address: Pentewan Road, St Austell PL25 5BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge St Austell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge St Austell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn St Austell
Travel Lodge St Austell
Travelodge St Austell Hotel Cornwall
St Austell Travel Lodge
St Austell Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing