We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of The Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grange
Ranked #18 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Bham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Lovely service and a lovely clean room. Felt very homely thanks to owner Sally's service. The bed was very comfy and the roll top bath a real luxury. Great brekkie too and nice to sit down with the other guests and have a natter. Sally was also good at recommending places to visit and eat and also sorted our Eden Project tixs for us. All in all a lovely place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bal_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjiecornwall, Owner at The Grange, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so very much for being so positive about The Grange can not thank you enough.
hope to see you back sometime in the future.
kind regards
sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    10
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
66
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Room allocated was quite small and felt claustrophobic when our luggage was brought in. It had a small fridge, coffee maker, a little bag of Thorntons chocolates on arrival and usual tea and coffee facilities. It was clean and nicely decorated, the shower room was ensuite (only gripe there was the towel rail was right next to the toilet and if you forgot to put the seat down, the towels almost dangled in the bowl!) and clean.
It was situated on a busy road and parking was a little tight but ok. Charlestown is walkable where there are several restaurants to chose from, and that's very pretty in itself.
Breakfast was round a communal table and the room was decorated boutique style with relaxing music playing. Choice of cereals to help yourself, plus yoghurt and fruit, and a little smoothy was made for you every morning by Sally, which was a nice touch. Choice of breakfast was good with full English, plus locally sourced fish available too on request. Wasn't too keen on busy road and would have liked a more spacious room, but apart from that, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fishpond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjiecornwall, Owner at The Grange, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review so sorry you felt the room was a little small we do call it The Boot room. However we normally receive good feedback on this room but we are all different and have our own personal needs.
Just to let you know we are looking to extend this room next year.
But overall really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
kind regards
Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Have stayed in this lovely B&B for 2 nights over the weekend, the house is beautifully decorated and welcoming. The rooms are decorated to a very high standard with everything you could wish for including a Tassimo coffee machine, refreshments and biscuits, toiletries and a small fridge. The bed was very comfortable and had lovely quality linen making for an excellent night's sleep. The breakfast around the large dining table was a very sociable affair and it was great to talk to the other guests while enjoying the fantastic array of breakfast fare. Cereals, yoghurt, jams, toast, croissants, teas and coffees, smoothies and juices, a full cooked breakfasts available with really tasty local bacon and sausage or a delicious vegetarian sausage option was cooked to perfection by Sally to order. Nothing seemed like too much trouble and the location is just a perfect base for exploring the delights of Eden Project, the Lost Gardens of Heligan, 10 minutes to Mevagissy, Pentewan and a few minutes drive to the wonderful galleries and restaurants at Charlestown. Additonal free wifi made this a very enjoyable and relaxing stay, I would highly recommend this B&B. Thanks for the hospitality, this is how it should be done :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joolsybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjiecornwall, Owner at The Grange, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review can not thank you enough for your lovely words.
reviews like this make us feel it is all worthwhile.
Best wishes
Sally & James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

have just had three nights in this place and i feel really chilled out with wonderful places to visit and the people are great and make you feel special as soon as you arrive room was lovely and Sally and James make you so welcome nothing is too much trouble

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjiecornwall, Owner at The Grange, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind review so nice of you top take the time and being so positive.
hope to see you return to The Grange soon.
kind regards
Sally & James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Beautiful modern spacious rooms, as described on their website. Breakfast was excellent too. 15 minutes walk to the bay and 20 minute drive to the Eden Project. Would definitely stay again. Sally and James were excellent hosts. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheema123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjiecornwall, Owner at The Grange, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind review so nice of you top take the time and being so positive.
hope to see you return to The Grange soon.
kind regards
Sally & James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I found the overall experience really enjoyable! the service was the highlight! other than a bit of bad rain i had a great time! Great Sausages!

The surrounding area too was a big positive with lots to do. The Eden project being the obvious big highlight! it's not too expensive too and takes up a day nicely.

The coastal pubs were another highlight of mine with all of the quality seafood on offer! mmmmm Scampi!

Room Tip: the four poster was perfect for a couples weekend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjiecornwall, Owner at The Grange, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind review so nice of you top take the time and being so positive.
hope to see you return to The Grange soon.
kind regards
Sally & James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

First review written as I was really happy with my weekend getaway! I had a lovely 4 poster room which was absolutely stunning. I was impressed but more importantly my girlfriend LOVED it. Owner Sally was really welcoming, bubbly and cooked a great breakfast. 5 minute drive to the coast, I'd highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjiecornwall, Owner at The Grange, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind review very much appreciate you giving time to write one and being so kindly positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
2.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,517 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.2 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
0.4 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
0.4 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange

Property: The Grange
Address: 19 Southbourne Road, St Austell PL25 4RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing