We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lookout Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 96 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous B&B”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Chose The Lookout after reading excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and can see why it is rated so highly. Luxury rooms, soft fluffy towels, amazing breakfast, spectacular views (when the mist cleared!) and Steve and Jackie made us feel so welcome. Perfect place to stay in St Austell

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaggiePS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Great to have your Mother and yourself with us at ‘The Lookout ‘ Jackie and I are pleased you both enjoyed your room and found it so comfortable. It was good that your Mother could retrace her Cornish roots and meet up with old friends.
Hope to see you and your husband sometime in the future (The suite awaits!).

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
216
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We had the most amazing one night stay in The Lookout Guesthouse and we were only sorry we couldn't stay for longer as originally planned. Steve and Jackie are the perfect hosts, friendly, warm and generous - Steve even drove us to the wonderful Austell's restaurant. We had the Sea room which is beautifully decorated, amazingly comfortable and spectacular views. Lovely bed linen, soft fluffy bath sheets, great shower, yummy breakfast and the best nights sleep in a long time! We really can't say enough about this place, about Jackie and Steve and just how wonderful our experience was! We definitely plan to return and stay for longer. It's a great base for exploring Cornwall and is very close to the Eden Project, Charlestown and Fowey. You really won't go wrong if you book here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1980traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Yes we agree it was a shame your stay with us had to be reduced but Jackie and I are pleased that you felt you managed to unwind here at ‘The Lookout’. We think sampling both the culinary and wine delights of the fabulous ‘Austell’s ‘may have helped! Hope you enjoyed the unspoilt charm of Charlestown harbour on your way home…such a great place for an amble prior to your return to ‘the smoke’! Next time we will point you to some of the other local Cornish gems.
Thank you for the review and your kind words.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We only stayed one night at The Lookout Guesthouse in St Austell, but would of happily spent more nights there. We had a nice welcome from Jackie and Steve who showed us to our room- We were in "The Cove" room. It was spotlessly clean. The room was beautifully decorated, the beds very very comfy and the bathroom was spacious, clean and tidy with little bottles of shampoo, conditioner etc... There was a TV in our room and we were told we were welcome to watch any of the dvds they had in the bookcase in the hall- There was a good selection!

Breakfast was served in the lovely breakfast room which was bright and sunny and had a fantastic view. The food itself was great, my partner had a full English and said it was one of the best he had ever had and I went for croissants and coffee. There was a selection of cereals, fruit and fruit juices on the sideboard which was nicely presented. We both enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend this guesthouse to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellieczy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review… and such a positive one at that! Jackie and I agree it would have been great to have had you with us longer. Really glad the ‘Cove’ was so to your liking and from reading your review that you felt it very comfortable and well equipped. Also pleased you both enjoyed our breakfast options as we do strive to source good Cornish ingredients where possible. Excellent also that you managed to sample the ‘ produce’ Of the St Austell Brewery….has to be said they do brew a good pint there!!

It certainly would be good to see you both again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expat in Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were at a loss to fill 3 days between a week in Dartmoor and a week down in Portreath. By chance a quick Internet search had The Lookout available for 3 days. How fortunate we were to have found this place by accident. Turned out to be the best accommodation of the whole holiday! We had booked the Garden suite and we can only describe this as well above the 5 stars it has been awarded. Jackie and Steve have a fantastic place to share with guests and our stay was extremely relaxing and the service was tip top! Beautiful, room, fantastic breakfast and wonderful views from the decks across the Cornish coast, awesome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nedkelly2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Wonderful review from wonderful guests. Jackie and I cannot believe how fortunate we have been with all our fantastic guests in this our first year. You continued that fortune. It was a pleasure having you with us at The Lookout. So pleased you managed to return to your old ‘stomping ground ‘at St Mawgan. What a coincidence that whilst you were here you found that one of our other guests had served there as well. Hope the trip brought back great memories.

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a uplifting review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Jackie and Steve were the perfect hosts, the best guest house we've ever stayed in! I would recommend this to anyone! Rooms immaculate attention to detail was amazing bedrooms beautiful made and the breakfast was superb would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophieW1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Likewise you were fantastic guests to have with us. Thank you so much for the kind words. Jackie and I really get a buz when guests take the time to post their thoughts on thier expirences of ' The Lookout '. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the Future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewarton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

From the welcome (home baked choc chip muffins and tea),to the food and the accommodation, we could not rate it highly enough. Beautiful room with quality linen and towels.

This was a great base for travelling We hadn't realised how easy it was to reach Port Isaac, Fowe, Polperro and Looe. Great coastal walks. Great cycling track from Wadebridge to Padstow along the estuary - brilliant.

Room Tip: If you cant decide between the twin (which is less expensive) and the double room (Sea Room) go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Many thanks for your review. Jackie and I really appreciate your positive comments. We are very happy that you found The Sea room so comfortable and are pleased that you found the location of ‘The Lookout’ so convenient for seeing many of the beautiful areas of Cornwall. It has to be said you certainly made very good use of your time here both on foot and with public transport.

We were also very impressed by your admirable artistic talents (both of you).

It would be great to see you sometime in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Having just returned from a quick tour of Devon and Cornwall we just wanted to say a huge "Thank you" to Steve and Jackie for making us feel so welcome and at home in their lovely B&B. Fabulous views which ever way you look. Really warm welcome and they really do go that extra mile to make sure that your stay is as hassle free as possible. The bedroom was lovely and comfortable with the softest, fluffiest towels ever in the very stylish en-suite bathroom. Well done Jackie and Steve. We hope it won't be too long before we can make a longer stay with you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acronPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
As always Jackie and I are so proud when our guests take the time to give us such a great review as you have. Pleased you enjoyed the views from the ' Sea ' room...they are quite spectacular particularly during sunrise. As said before we have been so fortunate to have had such fantastic guests as yourselves. We look forward to seeing you here again at The Lookout.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
2.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,548 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
1.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
366 reviews
1.9 mi away
Porth Avallen Hotel
Porth Avallen Hotel
#9 of 9 in St Austell
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lookout Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout Guesthouse

Property: The Lookout Guesthouse
Address: Coed-Duon Carclaze Road | Carclaze Road, St Austell PL25 3TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lookout Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jackie and Steve hope you will find all the information you require to inspire you to join them for a memorable stay in their welcoming luxury guesthouse in St Austell. The Lookout Guesthouse is a bespoke architect designed house with spectacular panoramic views over St Austell Bay. We offer a boutique Garden Suite and two beautifully appointed luxury guest bedrooms (The Sea and The Cove). All rooms complete with superb large en-suites. We are situated 5 minutes from the Eden Project and close to many of Cornwall's major attractions. Breakfast is served in our unique octagonal breakfast room or during the summer months on our decking overlooking St Austell Bay. Begin your day with a choice of fruit juices, cereals, muesli, fruit compote and yoghurt whilst you await your freshly cooked English breakfast. Alternatively, you can always try one of our specials, for example; scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, or poached eggs on a toasted muffin. With a pot of freshly brewed tea or a cafetiere of ground coffee you will be set up for a full day exploring the delights of Cornwall! Our produce is locally sourced from quality suppliers. Where possible, we strive to use Fairtrade products. As Jackie is a coeliac, a gluten free menu is always available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lookout Guesthouse St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing