We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful place, terrible service!”
Review of Bulldogs Diner - CLOSED

Bulldogs Diner
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awful place, terrible service!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The girl working behind the bar on 1st aug was in much need of customer service training! The fridge behind the bar had all of 6 bottles of Pepsi. Never a good sign in a food place on a road where services are few! We only called in as our son was hungry an wanted hot food. As he ate the surely waitress proceeded to Hoover the dirty floor - this was at 3.30pm, we were the only people in there. Food was average, no presentation. I would avoid going here, unless you like a side of attitude with your meal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Cally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shughes08, Owner at Bulldogs Diner, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
What exactly is your complaint? The floor was being hoovered as we had a busy lunchtime and that was the only time to do it before the evening trade. You only had a kids meal what presentation did you expect, parsley or lemon wedges?. The reason for the few pepsi bottles, as if i need to give you a reason, is that they were there for customers who choose to use our toilets and buy them to take away instead of a soft drink from our drinks machine.
Seems to me you have no realistic complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    4
    0
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mouldy Toast!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stopped to eat on the 17th July 2013. The place was empty at lunch time, not a good sign? However, we were hungry and don't prejudge. Young waitress with virtually zero customer service skills when we sat down told us to come and order at the counter. We chose 2 All day veggie breakfasts which looked carefully measured and unappetising, the veggie burger tasteless, a handful of chips (anaemic) and cheap tasting small portion of dried beans. 2 Rounds of thin toast, thinly scraped with some sort of margarine. We only ate this meal because we were hungry and visiting the area, did not know where else to go. Half way through one of us noticed mould on the toast, this put us both off the whole meal. We decided to wait until the waitress came to collect the plates (this took ages) to mention the mouldy toast, to which she replied 'oh you should have said' NO OFFER OF AN APOLOGY OR PARTIAL REFUND. We then just left in disgust, saying goodbye as we left, did not even get a reply. We did not make a fuss because in our opinion an empty diner at lunch time on a busy Road is not a good sign and this was borne out by our experience. Now looking at the recent comment on this site 'mould toast' by another unsatisfied customer it seems this business has a Customer Service problem, since in the space of days the same issue with mould was repeated. This may even be a concern for a Food Hygiene inspection. We both felt sick carrying on our journey. We also note that the proprietors of this business, instead of offering apologies and solutions, offer argument. Hardly a way to secure a repeat customer base.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cloisonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shughes08, Owner at Bulldogs Diner, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Firstly let me deal with your complaint about the bad manners of the staff........we had several complaints about the same member of staff and she has now been removed from our employment...............Now to your complaints about the food..........WE DONT SERVE CHIPS WITH ANY OF OUR BREAKFASTS.......WE ONLY SERVE 2 ROUNDS OF TOAST WITH OUR GIANT BREAKFAST AND BY YOUR OWN ADMISSION YOU HAD VEGGIE BREAKFASTS...............SOME BEANS HAVE LOTS OF JUICE SOME HAVE VERY LITTLE WE CANT PLEASE EVERYBODY BY PROVIDING BEANS WHICH MATCH THEIR PARTICULAR TASTE........... TELLING THE TRUTH WOULD IN MY OPINION ADD CREDIBILITY TO YOUR COMPLAINT........... veggie burgers you refer to are made by birds eye........i fail to see how we can be held responsible for the fact that you didnt like the particular burger that we stock WHICH JUST HAPPENS TO BE THE BRAND LEADER!!!!!!!! It is our policy that we dont disturb our customers to clear tables,we wait until the customers have left and then clear tables.It is our policy to fully refund customers for any plausible complaint and to provide the meal freshly cooked minus the article which caused complaint.After reviewing the cctv footage for the date concerned it is blatantly obvious that you made no complaint whatsoever and left the building without comment...............COULD YOU BE A COMPETITOR???????????????
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mouldy.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Come here often. Won't come again. Mouldy toast. Went to politely tell waitress and she walked away, bought over a plate to remove the toast and didn't say a single word - as you will be able to see on your CCTV which you mention below. Never got an apology, or a refund, or even a new slice of toast!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma_j2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mouldy.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Come here often. Won't come again. Mouldy toast. Went to politely tell waitress and she walked away, bought over a plate to remove the toast and didn't say a single word - as you will be able to see on your CCTV which you mention below. Never got an apology, or a refund, or even a new slice of toast!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma_j2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very welcoming, polite and helpful staff! Great food and good prices! Plenty of seating, clean and tidy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nazzal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bulldogs Diner also viewed

 
St Stephen, St Austell
 
Stenalees, St Austell
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing