We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected good food!”
Review of Griggs Restaurant

Griggs Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 147 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Griggs' Restaurant is set in the heart of Cornish countryside and is adjacent to our Country Store. Offering a large dining area and cosy sofa's for a relaxed feel as well as the option to dine al fresco on our balcony while you enjoy some stunning rural views of the surrounding farmland. With ample free parking and good public transport links, access to the restaurant is via a short flight of stairs or by lift.
manchester
Level Contributor
111 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Unexpected good food!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We have been a few times now and it's very good.
The food is always super fresh and homemade with good quality produce.
Slightly pricey for kids food I would suggest.
Very clean and a great choice for lunch.
If I had a large function I would definitely book the place as the views are lovely and the room would lend itself well to a party or christening.

Helpful?
3 Thank marlyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. The kitchen team always try there best and ensure everything is locally sourced.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    108
    29
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great for lunch.”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

First time visit. Had the nicest fish and chips I've had for a while. Watched the other meals coming out and was impresses by what I saw. Lovely spot, with great panoramic view. All was "properly" home made, including the tartare sauce.........absolutely recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lynn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your review of a lunchtime visit to us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals, our cod and chips are very popular! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch with Mum”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I've been here 4 times now, and I can safely say it is my favourite restaurant in the entire St Austell/Truro Area, I've sampled the Lamb Ribs, Main/Starter Burger (Equally superb), Cornish Crab Salad, Cheese Souffles, Eton Mess, Pavlova amongst others, and every time it has been perfectly cooked and presented. Combine this with a stunning balcony, and a spacious and airy interior restaurant, and rather lovely staff, it's certainly a top recommendation! Only drawback is the slightly inconvenient opening times, I want it to be open 24/7!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am so glad to hear that you have enjoyed many visits to us. Our chefs work very hard to produce the best tasting quality food they can and I will gladly pass your comments along. Thank you again, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Off the 391!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My friend took me to this resturant which I had seen sign posted on the main road 391 from St. Aurtell to Truro, Cornwall. There is a brightly lit area that serves hot tasty meals. There were many people there enjoying their meals. There is plenty of parking as the shop on the same area caters to the farming industry and Equestrian "gear" I found something for my grandsons' birthday. I'll go there again and take family as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ezatrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your visit to us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals and I will pass your comments on to our neighbours, the store. Thank you, we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice place to eat”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Visited Griggs on a lunch time (2nd visit). Lovely home cooked food using local produce....Well done for that. Had to wait a while for the meal but at least you know the food is being cooked fresh. My only small complaint.... too noisy. Wooden floor and high ceilings makes the sound of lots of chatting and coffee machines carry around the room. Not sure how this can be solved, but very off putting, for me anyway. Difficult to hear the person opposite you talking. Service very friendly. Would return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnie_263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments of your lunchtime visit to us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals. I will pass your comments regarding noise onto our owner, unfortunately when the restaurant gets busy it can get noisy in here. Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griggs Restaurant also viewed

Sticker, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Griggs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing