We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY FAB FOOD!!”
Review of Griggs Restaurant

Griggs Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 152 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Griggs' Restaurant is set in the heart of Cornish countryside and is adjacent to our Country Store. Offering a large dining area and cosy sofa's for a relaxed feel as well as the option to dine al fresco on our balcony while you enjoy some stunning rural views of the surrounding farmland. With ample free parking and good public transport links, access to the restaurant is via a short flight of stairs or by lift.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stumbled upon Griggs purely by accident. Noticed the signage on the road and as It was lunch time we decided to check it out. So glad we did, the food was excellent we had Sunday lunch. Was so impressed with the food and the staff that we returned mid week to find it extremely popular. I had a wonderful crab sandwich, another had the fish and chips which I was told was beautiful and the third person had the homemade beefburger ... again first class. Pop in and see for yourself because this gem of a find is now on our radar!! Thank you all at Griggs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank anthony j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments for your visits to us. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your first so much that you decided to come again. I will pass your comments onto our kitchen team regarding the food, they work very hard to make all items themselves and will appreciate your feedback. Thank you again, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 314 of 463 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We have visited Griggs for breakfast on many occasions it's always great just wish it could be a bit more consistent. I always have the full cornish depending on the chef sometimes it comes with 2 sausages and 3 bacon and other times 1 sausage and 2 bacon I prefer the mushrooms separate from the sautéed potatoes sometimes they are mixed together despite that we shall return many times in the future for the best breakfast in the area many thanks to all the staff.

2  Thank jgtamblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your breakfast visit with us. We always strive for consistency as we do believe this is important, however sometimes when we receive stock of our home reared sausages and bacon, they can be smaller in size compared to our regular suppliers, in these cases we offer two smaller sausages to compensate. With regards to the mushrooms we will be more than happy to serve them separately, simply let your waitress know when ordering your breakfasts. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Went today for a family meal, eight of us in total. Service lovely and food arrived all together , couldn't fault it , childrens meals great. Clotted cream rice pudding with butterscotch sauce out of the top drawer!!! See you soon .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for your review of your lunchtime visit to us. I am glad to hear that you and your family all enjoyed your experience with us, and our Rice Pudding (its always a popular one!). Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Have been in for a coffee before, was working Saturday and arranged to meet my wife and daughter for lunch. It was busy but we were seated quickly, the attention and service was excellent, prompt and friendly. There was a good variety of food and options on the menu. We had a mixture of options, all served promptly. Both the quality, portions, value and taste was super. The location and restaurant are excellent, as I have said, will be back and will both recommend to and bring others.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RBL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our restaurant! We all work very hard to give as best service as we can and our team will appreciate your comments. I am glad to hear that your all enjoyed your food also. Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

A wonderful restaurant, great food, though service was a little slow. Late nights at weekends.Serving food all day !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Merchantnavyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for your comments of a recent visit to us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us. Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griggs Restaurant also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
Polgooth, St Austell
 
Charlestown, St Austell
 

Been to Griggs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing