We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way!”
Review of Griggs Restaurant

Griggs Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 154 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Griggs' Restaurant is set in the heart of Cornish countryside and is adjacent to our Country Store. Offering a large dining area and cosy sofa's for a relaxed feel as well as the option to dine al fresco on our balcony while you enjoy some stunning rural views of the surrounding farmland. With ample free parking and good public transport links, access to the restaurant is via a short flight of stairs or by lift.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Had a light lunch, fish and chips but it was presented in restaurant style with delicate touches. Light batter and crisp chips with homemade tartare sauce, lemon wedge and garnish.

Service was friendly, professional and on time.

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone and you can also have a look around the shop afterwards!

There is also an airy, comfortable conference room with all the facilities expected for a meeting, team building, board-room etc. I am going to recommend this to my business contacts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SueBunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your lunch time review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your fish and chips and our service, I will pass your comments on to our team. Thank you again, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 391 of 479 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

We visited for lunch on a warm day in August. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the service was fantastic. It was great to be able to take the lift upstairs and the views were lovely. The only complaint I have is that the room was really hot and this made the experience unnecessarily uncomfortable. Such a shame as it spoilt what could have been a perfect lunchtime and it meant that we left earlier than we planned.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elsa1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your review of your lunchtime visit with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed both our food and service. However i am sorry to hear that due to the heat you felt you had to cut your lunch short by not having desserts. We are aware that the restaurant was warm and have tried our best to cool it down using several large fans. We will be looking into installing some form of air con in the near future. Thank you again for your review, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The food is impeccable and the service is great too. Local produce? you may ask. The meat, eggs ect. are from the farm just around the corner! This is in my opinion the Cornwall dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We feel it is so important to keep all our produce as local as possible and as we have such a good choice available in Cornwall it would be a shame not to use it and support local businesses. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Yet again, another fantastic meal at Griggs Restaurant. I dropped in for a business lunch with a colleague. The food was excellent - local quality ingredients! You must stop off here and sample the menu and take a look around the well stocked shop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Karen54_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review of your business lunch with us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Keith and I came in for lunch today at 3pm, and that's the first thing - an ALL-DAY restaurant serving good food! With their ample parking, handy lift, well-spaced and good-sized tables, smiling and considerate staff, pleasant decor (there are enlarged photos of lovely farm and field scenes), comfy sofas, light, airy ambience and spotlessly clean toilets, we were already happy before the food came. I had the butternut squash and ricotta lasagne - the best vegetarian meal I have ever sampled outside of an exclusively veggie restaurant - and Keith's spicy chicken wings were excellent too. The prices were reasonable and the portions generous. Another word about the staff - they all seemed to really care about the restaurant itself, and to be happy and proud to work there. We will definitely be back, and we plan to bring friends and relatives too. PS I have marked it average for romance, because the atmosphere is not intimate, at least not at 3pm, and that's not what we went for: I'd say it's a vibrant place to eat with friends or anyone you know well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you very much for leaving such a lovely review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us! I will pass your comments on to our kitchen team who work very hard to home make every menu item themselves and I will also pass on your comments to Michael Griggs regarding the photos as there are his own fields and animals! Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griggs Restaurant also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
Sticker, Cornwall
 
Charlestown, St Austell
 

Been to Griggs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing