We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cafe”
Review of Griggs Restaurant

Griggs Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 158 Restaurants in St Austell
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Griggs' Restaurant is set in the heart of Cornish countryside and is adjacent to our Country Store. Offering a large dining area and cosy sofa's for a relaxed feel as well as the option to dine al fresco on our balcony while you enjoy some stunning rural views of the surrounding farmland. With ample free parking and good public transport links, access to the restaurant is via a short flight of stairs or by lift.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Now has a excellent cafe, just a bit noisy but excellent food. The main country store offers excellent value and a great selection of goods.

Thank russelld928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 430 of 480 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a lunch at Griggs during a day long business meeting it was a very pleasant lunch with a relaxed atmosphere and excellent fresh cooked food . Good sized portions we all had fish and chips and all enjoyed them

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank lordtrigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we really appreciate your comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your business lunch with us and we hope that you will visit us again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have sampled all elements of the menu here from light lunch to breakfast as well as Sunday lunch and a Saturday night out. The steak I had on the night out was I think the best I have ever had when on a meal out, it was absolutely delicious. Sunday lunch was great with a lovely busy hum about the place and again great food. The service has always been excellent with friendly staff and quick service too.
We have taken our little boy who is 16 months old several times and its great for him too, they have good, clean high chairs and when he has finished there is plenty of room to walk round with him or move to the sofa's so we were out of the way.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Bumblingbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you your lovely review of our restaurant. We are glad to hear to have enjoyed a number of different occasions with us and hope you will visit us again soon. We are very child friendly, and as you have said, there is plenty of room for kids to run around (and when they are older, they love to play in the lift!). Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have returned to this restaurant many times in the last few months and never been disappointed. The food is freshly cooked, locally sourced, well presented with a wide range of choices and ever changing daily specials. A great place for families. Its now become our local !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michelle2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of our restaurant. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed multiple visits to us! Our chefs try their best to keep their food items locally sourced and homemade and will be glad to hear of your feedback. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Went here for evening meal with family. Had some fussy eaters with us so wanted food cooked just how everyone wanted it. Boy, we weren't disappointed. From burger to steaks all cooked just right. Only problem was didn't have enough room to eat a dessert. A lot of the meat etc was produced on the farm there too so all top quality. Will go back again on our next visit 'home' to Cornwall.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cornishexile47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us when you were last in Cornwall. We are very proud to be able to serve our own home bred and reared meat as we believe this sets us apart from other restaurants and we are glad our customers enjoy our offerings. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griggs Restaurant also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
Sticker, Cornwall
 

Been to Griggs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing